We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wanted to stay longer”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were a group of 9 (3 families) staying for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Biggest recommendation is for the people (owners who care for visitors as individuals, will get to know you well and staff who are just incredibly friendly). Spioen Kop tour is also highly recommended - very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Biggest surprise was how much more there is to do for youngsters (mountain bikes, horse riding, swimming, visits to Drakensburg Mountains (one hour drive) with its activities). Food, drink, rooms all very good with lots of nice and practical touches (cold lemonade on arrival, home made pickles, UK adapters in rooms etc). Location and views are great. Can't comment on pricing as part of our overall tour, except to say drink reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
132
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This year was our second trip back to Three Trees and once again we had the time of our lives! It is the ultimate all rounder and the service and food are simply outstanding. Our 8 year old daughter loved every minute of it especially being able to jump on a horse and enjoy the freedom of cantering about the bush.
The food is out of this world on all levels and the wine list is outstanding.
Simon and Cheryl are fabulous hosts and we cannot wait to go back!
Three Trees is a MUST if you are travelling through Natal, and if not, I would suggest to make a detour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the ultimate lodge for the nature traveller. It has all the qualities of that you expect of a 5 star lodge and a 7 star experience. Great views, great food, excellent wines, exceptional quality!.I have never had such a superb chicken pie. The all - round veranda at the main facility would want you to stay forever. The team under the leadership of Simon and Cheryl contributed greatly to a relaxing weekend. Cheryl is the ultimate host and Simon the ultimate field guide . We did the half day tour of Spioenkop and he made history come alive. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenkNelspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We absolutely loved this lodge. It was perfect for us traveling from Johannesburg with our two children (1.5yrs and 3.5yrs) and our nanny. We stayed at the family suite that was ideal with its two separate rooms (one room with three beds for the children and our nanny and one master bedroom), its two bathrooms, a kitchenette and its beautiful terrace and the sandpit just in front of the terrace. The suite was equipped with a microwave, baby shampoo, kids bathrobes and two baby carriers for longer walks. Really it had everything we possibly needed. The food was very good and we loved the fact that lunch for our kids was served together with the owners' own children. Also our kids loved the chickens, the three dogs and especially the horses. Pony rides for the little ones were not charged for. The management and staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful weekend. I can only recommend Three Trees for a long weekend!

Room Tip: Family suite for families is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Susanne - apologies for our rather belated reply. We loved having you guys here, and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks you so much for your kind words! I hope we will be able to welcome you back here one of these days!

kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On a whistle stop fly drive tour of the east of South Africa, Three Trees Lodge was the highlight. We only wished we could have had more time. Simon, Cheryl and Rainer do a great job in making you feel welcome and relaxed. The food and wines were to die for, the views from almost every part of our lodge were breath taking, even from the bath in Churchill's! We all enjoyed the pony trekking and Simon's history tour of the battle of Spioenkop is a must do/hear. If visiting the Drakenberg's this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Churchill's was claimed and probably is the best accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I brought a small group of people here in September 2012 as part of a tour of Kwa-Zulu Natal and we all loved it. Simon, Cheryl and Fiona were the perfect hosts and made our stay particularly memorable. At first, when I saw the green corrugated accommodation I was a bit nervous but there was absolutely no need as the rooms were huge and really comfortable. We were really lucky with the weather and there was no need to use the heaters but I am sure it would have been very cosy even in the middle of winter. The bathroom was enormous and I loved the fact that the bath was right next to the window with uninterrupted views of the spioenkop hill, which features so heavily in Simon's Boer War battlefield tours.

The food was amazing, all home-cooked and the atmosphere created by Cheryl and her mum, Fiona, was just lovely. A real home from home as all the guests sat around a huge table, always joined by a family member. We were on full board but the drinks were not included. However, we all had plenty to drink and when we checked out we could not believe how ridiculously cheap the alcohol was. I am used to travelling in Africa but this surprised even me.

Cheryl took us on a walking tour in the Spioenkop National Park and we saw loads of animals, such as zebra, giraffe, eland, warthog, wildebeest and best of all eight white rhinos, one of which was a calf. An afternoon "stroll" - Simon's word, not ours - on Three Tree Hill's own land took about three hours and we were accompanied by the family's two Great Danes (sorry, I can't remember their names) and Charlie, the Chesapeake Bay Retriever. What a dog he is, I could have brought him home with me. At the end of this monumental hike Fiona had set up a white linen-covered table in the bush full of wonderful delicacies and, wonder of wonders, gin & tonic with ice! It was like a mirage to nine very weary walkers.

The following day Simon and Cheryl took us on a guided tour of the area, visiting the town of Colenso where Winston Churchill was captured during the Boer War, and Simon spoke so eloquently about the era that when the tour came to an end by the mass grave of British soldiers on top of spioenkop hill there was not a dry eye to be seen.

I would recommend TTH to anybody that has an interest in history or who wants to experience traditional African hospitality in a beautiful setting. Thank you Simon, Cheryl and Fiona for looking after us so well and I apologise for the length of time it has taken me to write this review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadwaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Our apologies for the belated response to your wonderful review and your kind words. We're pleased that you had such a good time here, and would love to welcome you back here again! Sadly Charlie is no longer with us - he developed a health issue and couldn't move about any more. We are still all upset by his passing!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here during our honeymoon. We loved loved loved the food and found the staff very friendly and helpful and provide great service. There are plenty of activities around, but everything feels very relaxed. We enjoyed some great game walks, horse rides and hikes in Drakensberg. Would have loved to stay a little bit longer! (Should say that we booked this through a travel agent so we don't know exactly what we paid for our stay - cannot really comment on value for money)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B84L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
32.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
237 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
284 reviews
27.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.1 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Property: Three Trees at Spioenkop
Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing