We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all for a wonderful stay, great food, helpful staff and a lovely comfortable colonial place to spend 5 days with family, all our need were catered for, the children loved the experience, horse riding, swimming and walks.

Simons battlefield tour is well worth doing , he is very knowledgable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank muzzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review - we certainly also had a wonderful time with you all here. We were really impressed with all the kids (both young and old) - they all had serious "Joie de vivre" and serious passion for life - Inspiring!

Kind regards,

Simon, Cheryl and Three Trees staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
133
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed with Cheryl and Simon at the Three Trees just before Easter this year. We went with family, and the children had the time of their lives. They really could not have made us feel any more welcome. The accommodation was delightful – overlooking Spioenkop, which was a very moving experience. Simon was the perfect guide, extremely knowledge about the battlefields and wildlife in the game reserve. We thought the food, the accommodation, the battlefield tour and the game reserve walk was an excellent experience and very good value for money. We most certainly would recommend a visit to the Three Trees. Cheryl and Simon are the perfect hosts – nothing was to much trouble. Thank you both so much and your lovely children. Very well done. Lots of love, Dick Morley and Trish Stundon. Xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishstundon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Dick and Trish - thanks you so much for your kind words, and we are deeply gratified that you had such a good time here. Thank you for letting us know, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back here in the near future!
Kind regards,
Simon, Cheryl and Three Trees team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Just had 3 lovely nights at Three Trees - exactly what we needed after a hectic start to the year!

The hotel only has about 6 or 7 rooms (which are actually separate cabins) but all are great with everything you need. The rooms are simple and rustic, but incredibly comfortable with stunning views. Our room had a huge king sized bed with blankets and a nice duvet should your need it, windows that open up nicely to let the breeze and admire the Spioenkop war site. Also a split stable door perfect for mornings which opens on to a small veranda with a table and chairs and a couple of reading chairs which you can sit and enjoy the view from.

The bathroom is simple and functional with separate shower and bath. You can sit in the bath which is right next to the windows and enjoy the afternoon breeze and views which we did every day.

There was a lot of little touches which really make it for me such as, as much water as you can drink, the room was serviced about 3 times a day and we never saw anyone doing it and all of the products in the rooms were locally made in Cape Town with natural ingredients so also Eco-friendly.

There are a number of different walks around the property ranging from 30 mins to 2hrs and all very manageable with great views which fortunately you can't escape! when you stop for water, the silence is deafening but great if you are having a break from the city. the game walk led by Simon is also great and you can get pretty close to the white rhino which are on the reserve with giraffe, zebra, impala, wildebeast etc also there.

The room rate also includes all meals and they catered well for us as vegetarians. They didn't have fresh orange juice in the mornings but I'm sure if I came back Cheryl and Simon would accommodate any request. Dining can be communal so don't be afraid to ask for a table for 2! The wine list was good too and all the staff were very happy, friendly and attentive.

They have a pool which is nice enough and under a nice tree but could do with a couple of extra lounges and gets busy if more than 4 people without kids are there.

We had a half day at cathedral peak which was lovely and a great 45-1hr drive away. The walk to Doreen falls and back via ashley's amble was great but the hotel looked a little tired and run down, food also looked very average so we just had a beer and were happy to be returning back to three trees.

Overall a great weekend escape and we will probably come back at some point in the future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonkeyDiagnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Guys - thanks for your amazing review, sorry you didn't have any fresh orange for brekkie, we try to stick to fruits in season, and actually today our 1st bag of fresh oranges arrived so fresh squeezed by hand tomorrow morning which is std in our winter months! We do have plans to refurb the pool area this winter too - we're aware that that needs some work - apologies but we're trying to improve steadily....

I hope we get to welcome you back here someday,
kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely stay! An absolute gem. Cheryl, Simon and the staff made our stay special -they all make you feel part of the family. The food was excellent and the peaceful atmosphere amazing. Loved the books and antique furniture. The lodge is clean and the service excellent. Will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CL9_10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your great review - glad you enjoyed the food, and we look forward to welcoming you back to spend more time looking through all our books....

kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good location for visits to Boer war sites. The facilities you need are there even in a remote site and the food was good. Game walks are a great experience and provided by Simon. Everyone is extremely friendly and happy to help This is an up market lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Julie - thank you for your great review which we really appreciate, am glad you enjoyed our food too...(it's my downfall weight-wise...)

much appreciated,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just spent three wonderful days in this rustic paradise. Simon and Cheryl and their delightful staff make you feel at home in their rural retreat overlooking the Spion Kop mountain. Each chalet is charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent - the breakfast with home made bread and muffins was the best we have had. The highlights for us was an incredible walk in the adjoining nature reserve with Simon where we encountered a white rhino and her calf at close, but safe range - a real heart beating moment! Another was the tour to Spion Kop and Simon's explanation on the Boer Wars; he is a knowledgable historian who makes it both interesting and evocative. A must if you are travelling in Kwa Zulu Natal.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Claire - thank you so much for your kind word which we really appreciate - especially the food as we try really hard to make the food simple and delicious fare realising that may of our travellers are subject to sometimes rich and heavy restaurant food for weeks! Glad you enjoyed the game walk and seeing the rhino - you WERE safe at al times I promise!

kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cheryl, Simon and their staff made our stay outstanding. The location is superb the the lodges overlooking Spioenkop hill were excellent, as was the food, Our every need was catered for.
The bush walk with Simon was fantastic, especially sighting three rhinos and their calves.
Simon's knowledge of the Boer War in addition to the wildlife made our short two day stay exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, really nice to receive such feedback, great to be told your doing a good job - we really appreciate it - THANKS!

Simon and Cheryl Blackburn
Three Trees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
32.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
244 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#2 of 13 in Bergville
103 reviews
27.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
3.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Property: Three Trees at Spioenkop
Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing