We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb family run lodge in the heart of Kwazulu near the Boer war battlefields”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this delightful charming small resort/lodge- just 6 chalet style cabins - with dramatic views across a small game park to the imposing Spioenkop mountain which was the site of the Anglo-Boer war battle in 1899.
Run by Simon and Cheryl , charming granny Fiona with their young family, and pets in attendance we were welcomed warmly by the staff and could not have been more at home.
Meals are taken with other guests at a communal table and the food is excellent with emphasis on local , well sourced ingredients. Well chosen good value wine list too.
Activities offered are game park walks- a great experience among rhino , giraffe ,zebra etc all while on foot! , riding on a selection of trails ,and the highlight for us, Simons battlefield tour bringing the scene to life with his in depth knowledge of that period and his narrative skills. There is a small swimming pool ideal for cooling off after a hot day and the sundowner in the bush memorable

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Allan - I was sure I had responded to you review ages ago - and seems it was lost in the clutter (in my brain) somehow! Thanks you for a fabulous review - which we really appreciate - and I do hope we will get to have you visit us here again sometime in the not too distance future!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 267 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

A wonderful location, a warm friendly family atmosphere, good lodges and wonderful tours, not to mention great food, all sum this place up. But don't come here if you don't like children, extended family and dogs - they are all part of the place! Simon and Cheryl are great hosts and nothing too much trouble. This was our first visit to this part of South Africa and we would certainly come again. Simon's Battlefield tours (Spioenkop and Colenso) brought to life the awful battles that took place here between the Brits and the Boers and were very moving. We also enjoyed a great walk in the private game reserve. The emphasis of this place is on an Eco-friendly approach which is admirable apart from leaving the room towels rather grey and unappetising! Sorry about the Fitness Centre rating which is inappropriate, can't get rid of it on the web site ...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBEGocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review, and apologies for our delayed response but we have now finished building and finally moved into our own house so our family is based slightly away from the main lodge now, although our kids do come over when we have other families with kids - no worries about the fitness centre rating - if anyone asks us about it we have 6,000 Hectares of it!! Will share your review with the staff who will appreciate your positive comments!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a welcome respite after a longish drive over dirt roads. Our bungalow (#6) was private with a breathtaking view of the plains (where we watched rhino) and hills. Our hosts/owners were delightful and helpful, and the guided tour of SpienKop was well worth it thanks to our guide. The food and main lodge are exceptional, and the accommodations simple but extremely comfortable. My wife and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvsurgrc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review - we really appreciate your posiitve comments - Thankyou, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Three Trees one day!

Kind regards,

Simon & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Over Christmas 2011 I travelled with my family (4 children aged 4-14) and another family to South Africa. While I was born in SA it was the first trip for everyone to Africa other than for myself and my wife who visited with me in 2003. We enjoyed a fabulous trip and enjoyed safari, diving off the kwaZulu coast, Cape Town and the 'Berg. Three Tree Hill was a true treat as part of our trip. Don't expect 5 star service but do expect a lot of attention, a lot of warmth, fantastic food, great views and fabulous surroundings. Simon and Cheryl you have an absolute gem here! Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheadventure23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thanks so much for your fabulous review - inspiring and motivating for us and our staff here - much appreciated and I hope we will be able to welcome you all back here one day!

Kind regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I seem to be in the minority here but for me & my husband this lodge did not live up to the glossy images we'd seen at the time we made a booking. Accommodation is in a hut type structure with corrugated iron roof, the bed mattress was uncomfortable where the springs had started to come through, the bathroom towels were so stained they looked as though they'd been used to mop up tea and the pool was so neglected (lots of detritus and battered loungers) and desolate that we were disinclined to spend any time there. Despite the high costs of £160 pp there is no refrigerator in your room either - this proves highly frustrating in sweltering temperatures when your only option is to walk all the way up to the main lodge to ask for some bottled, refridgerated water (the only other option to attract attention from your room is to blow a whistle in case of emergency). Drinks are not included in the over-inflated 'all inclusive' prices either so you get billed for these too when you leave.
For this money we also expected a certain level of service akin to what you receive at Fugitive's Drift. However, while the hosts are amiable and friendly, you are expected to muck in with their family at most meal times. We found this disconcerting and awkward at times. On occasion you want to have a quiet meal with your partner but instead we were often left feeling we'd gatecrashed their family time with a mixture of small toddlers and older relatives joining guests on a long table. We would have been happy with this if we were paying lower prices but at these costs it seemed at odds with the 'luxury' label attached to the description of the lodge. The food was very good and we have no complaints there but this is really a 2 star establishment masquerading as a 4 star luxury lodge and as a result we left feeling as though we'd been mislead and ripped off. Had we known the reality of this experience we wouldn't have booked a stay here.
We also stayed at Fugitive's Drift during our holiday and thought this was a much better option if you're looking for a mix of game reserve and Zulu war history. The standards were much more in line with what you'd expect of a luxury lodge and we were made to feel more of a guest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear Christine,

We were devastated to hear that you had such an unsatisfying time during your stay at Three Trees and must say that we have never had such a bad review before.  We pride ourselves on our hospitality and standards and although we have the odd hiccup from time-to-time as much as anyone does, when someone isn’t happy we try to address their issues immediately so as to ensure that they enjoy their visit with us. 
 
The construction of the lodge is in keeping with the Anglo-Boer war period, which is one of the main attractions for visitors to the lodge.  A key part of this architecture is the corrugated iron roofs.
 
We were concerned to hear that there were springs coming through the mattresses.  I can assure you that following this feedback we have inspected all our mattresses thoroughly, and have found them all to be in very good condition, with no springs coming through.  In fact, many of our guests compliment us on the comfort of the beds.
 
We do acknowledge that our hand towels are not of the standard that we would like and these are being replaced shortly.  However, all the other towels we use in our rooms are as good as new.
 
The position of the pool deck is very private, intentionally so, in order for guests to take in the spectacular scenery and also afford them some tranquility in which to unwind.  The pool deck was refurbished in December and although twigs and leaves from the overhanging acacia tree do sometimes drop in, the pool is cleared of this every morning first thing.
 
Refreshments are readily available at any time of day and chilled fresh water is topped up in your flask in your room each morning.  Lowering as much as possible our Environmental Impact is one our key philosophies here and the installation of fridges in each of our rooms would be contrary to what we are trying to achieve, and would affect both our Green Leaf as well as our Fair Trade Accredidation status.  At any time however, we do deliver chilled beverages to guest rooms, and would have done this with pleasure if you had requested this as we do for any guest.
 
In terms of the cost and expectations of what is included,  Fugitives Drift is a wonderful establishment owned and run by a dear friend of ours, and we wholeheartedly recommend it.  However, what they offer is very different to Three Trees and the difference in our rates and theirs does reflect this. (Their rate is 50% higher than ours)
 
Three Trees is a family-owned and run lodge, and many guests appreciate the family and homely feel they experience when they are here.  This is in fact what we sell, and nowhere in our literature do we say it that we have a formal environment.  During your stay here, there was family visiting and we do have 4 children, whom you will see around the lodge from time-to-time.

On your first night here Cheryl hosted dinner, with a full paying Scottish couple, as well as a travel agent who was here on a site inspection, and on your second night you requested an early meal, so we provided you with your own private dinner.  If you had expressed your discomfort we would have been more than happy to provide you with private dining throughout your stay. We have done this often for other guests in the past and it carries no extra charge.
 
We only wish that your views had been raised with us at the time, so that we could have at least addressed your concerns.  The standard at Three Trees is 4-star and we are regularly inspected to ensure that we maintain these standards, by which we stand and are proud.  However, we are not a formal, luxury hotel, and are so sorry if this is what you were expecting and were disappointed by.

Kind regards,
Simon Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are resident in the UK but travel in SA on a regular basis with our 3 young children (2,5,7) and Three Tree Lodge is one of the best places we have come across. Fantastic scenery, fantastic location, really well set up for adults and children, great food and a good wine list what more could you want. Simon and Cheryl are consummate professionals who know exactly how to help you and the family enjoy the best of South Africa, from Cheryl organising a sand castle competitions to Simon explaining the history of the area. They and their family real make your visit something special. The first thing the kids asked as we drove away was "can we come back next year" to which I replied "I hope so".

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Gavin - thanks so much for your review! Inspiring and Motivating to us and Staff alike, and I hope we will get to welcome you all back here soon! Kind Regards Simon and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We were at the lodge with Christmas and it was awesome. Great hospitality, very friendly people, food excellent, wines superb, etc. Great to unwind from the city and work. The game tour with Simon was exciting and made some great pictures. Cheryl has the hospitality in her blood: you feel immediately "at home". Not to forget the mother of Cheryl who is very friendly and adds to the charm of the lodge. Definitely can recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Hi Guys - thanks for your review which is highly appreciated from our side, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back at Three Trees when you're next in SA!
kind regards - Simon & Cheryl Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
32.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
254 reviews
27.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
301 reviews
25.2 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 13 in Bergville
120 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range: $373 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing