We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Three Tree Hill
Nearby Hotels
$80
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
$241
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$147
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$238
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
260
23
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
23
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbattlefield tourgame walkgame reserveboer warother gueststhe main lodgenature reservecommunal tablehorse ridingspion kopbattle fieldgin and toniccommunal diningsouth african historypre dinner drinkssubject matterrhino walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 285 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Over Christmas 2011 I travelled with my family (4 children aged 4-14) and another family to South Africa. While I was born in SA it was the first trip for everyone to Africa other than for myself and my wife who visited with me in 2003. We enjoyed a fabulous trip and enjoyed safari, diving off the kwaZulu coast, Cape Town and the 'Berg. Three Tree Hill was a true treat as part of our trip. Don't expect 5 star service but do expect a lot of attention, a lot of warmth, fantastic food, great views and fabulous surroundings. Simon and Cheryl you have an absolute gem here! Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheadventure23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Tree Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thanks so much for your fabulous review - inspiring and motivating for us and our staff here - much appreciated and I hope we will be able to welcome you all back here one day!

Kind regards,

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I seem to be in the minority here but for me & my husband this lodge did not live up to the glossy images we'd seen at the time we made a booking. Accommodation is in a hut type structure with corrugated iron roof, the bed mattress was uncomfortable where the springs had started to come through, the bathroom towels were so stained they looked as though they'd been used to mop up tea and the pool was so neglected (lots of detritus and battered loungers) and desolate that we were disinclined to spend any time there. Despite the high costs of £160 pp there is no refrigerator in your room either - this proves highly frustrating in sweltering temperatures when your only option is to walk all the way up to the main lodge to ask for some bottled, refridgerated water (the only other option to attract attention from your room is to blow a whistle in case of emergency). Drinks are not included in the over-inflated 'all inclusive' prices either so you get billed for these too when you leave.
For this money we also expected a certain level of service akin to what you receive at Fugitive's Drift. However, while the hosts are amiable and friendly, you are expected to muck in with their family at most meal times. We found this disconcerting and awkward at times. On occasion you want to have a quiet meal with your partner but instead we were often left feeling we'd gatecrashed their family time with a mixture of small toddlers and older relatives joining guests on a long table. We would have been happy with this if we were paying lower prices but at these costs it seemed at odds with the 'luxury' label attached to the description of the lodge. The food was very good and we have no complaints there but this is really a 2 star establishment masquerading as a 4 star luxury lodge and as a result we left feeling as though we'd been mislead and ripped off. Had we known the reality of this experience we wouldn't have booked a stay here.
We also stayed at Fugitive's Drift during our holiday and thought this was a much better option if you're looking for a mix of game reserve and Zulu war history. The standards were much more in line with what you'd expect of a luxury lodge and we were made to feel more of a guest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Candy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Tree Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear Christine,

We were devastated to hear that you had such an unsatisfying time during your stay at Three Trees and must say that we have never had such a bad review before.  We pride ourselves on our hospitality and standards and although we have the odd hiccup from time-to-time as much as anyone does, when someone isn’t happy we try to address their issues immediately so as to ensure that they enjoy their visit with us. 
 
The construction of the lodge is in keeping with the Anglo-Boer war period, which is one of the main attractions for visitors to the lodge.  A key part of this architecture is the corrugated iron roofs.
 
We were concerned to hear that there were springs coming through the mattresses.  I can assure you that following this feedback we have inspected all our mattresses thoroughly, and have found them all to be in very good condition, with no springs coming through.  In fact, many of our guests compliment us on the comfort of the beds.
 
We do acknowledge that our hand towels are not of the standard that we would like and these are being replaced shortly.  However, all the other towels we use in our rooms are as good as new.
 
The position of the pool deck is very private, intentionally so, in order for guests to take in the spectacular scenery and also afford them some tranquility in which to unwind.  The pool deck was refurbished in December and although twigs and leaves from the overhanging acacia tree do sometimes drop in, the pool is cleared of this every morning first thing.
 
Refreshments are readily available at any time of day and chilled fresh water is topped up in your flask in your room each morning.  Lowering as much as possible our Environmental Impact is one our key philosophies here and the installation of fridges in each of our rooms would be contrary to what we are trying to achieve, and would affect both our Green Leaf as well as our Fair Trade Accredidation status.  At any time however, we do deliver chilled beverages to guest rooms, and would have done this with pleasure if you had requested this as we do for any guest.
 
In terms of the cost and expectations of what is included,  Fugitives Drift is a wonderful establishment owned and run by a dear friend of ours, and we wholeheartedly recommend it.  However, what they offer is very different to Three Trees and the difference in our rates and theirs does reflect this. (Their rate is 50% higher than ours)
 
Three Trees is a family-owned and run lodge, and many guests appreciate the family and homely feel they experience when they are here.  This is in fact what we sell, and nowhere in our literature do we say it that we have a formal environment.  During your stay here, there was family visiting and we do have 4 children, whom you will see around the lodge from time-to-time.

On your first night here Cheryl hosted dinner, with a full paying Scottish couple, as well as a travel agent who was here on a site inspection, and on your second night you requested an early meal, so we provided you with your own private dinner.  If you had expressed your discomfort we would have been more than happy to provide you with private dining throughout your stay. We have done this often for other guests in the past and it carries no extra charge.
 
We only wish that your views had been raised with us at the time, so that we could have at least addressed your concerns.  The standard at Three Trees is 4-star and we are regularly inspected to ensure that we maintain these standards, by which we stand and are proud.  However, we are not a formal, luxury hotel, and are so sorry if this is what you were expecting and were disappointed by.

Kind regards,
Simon Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are resident in the UK but travel in SA on a regular basis with our 3 young children (2,5,7) and Three Tree Lodge is one of the best places we have come across. Fantastic scenery, fantastic location, really well set up for adults and children, great food and a good wine list what more could you want. Simon and Cheryl are consummate professionals who know exactly how to help you and the family enjoy the best of South Africa, from Cheryl organising a sand castle competitions to Simon explaining the history of the area. They and their family real make your visit something special. The first thing the kids asked as we drove away was "can we come back next year" to which I replied "I hope so".

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Tree Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Gavin - thanks so much for your review! Inspiring and Motivating to us and Staff alike, and I hope we will get to welcome you all back here soon! Kind Regards Simon and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We were at the lodge with Christmas and it was awesome. Great hospitality, very friendly people, food excellent, wines superb, etc. Great to unwind from the city and work. The game tour with Simon was exciting and made some great pictures. Cheryl has the hospitality in her blood: you feel immediately "at home". Not to forget the mother of Cheryl who is very friendly and adds to the charm of the lodge. Definitely can recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Tree Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Hi Guys - thanks for your review which is highly appreciated from our side, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back at Three Trees when you're next in SA!
kind regards - Simon & Cheryl Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Three Tree Hill Lodge for just one night on our way back from the coast but wish we had been able to stay longer. We did a half day tour of the battlefields with Simon, which was extremely informative. The best thing about the lodge is that it has such a relaxed atmosphere, and yet the service and everything else was so professionally delivered. The food was excellent - we'd go back just for that. The view from the rooms was superb. We couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sozzie_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Tree Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Thanks so much for your great review - we do really appreciate the feedback, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back here one of these days.

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews