We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spend 3 nights at the Cavern in June. We all enjoyed the stay very much. The kids loved the children activities. (Kids play area, horse riding and making new friends) We enjoyed the peaceful meals. The spa is fantastic, the setting is absolutely beautiful. We went on a couple of short hikes around the Cavern which were lovely. The all enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing 3 days. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Family standard room looking over the bowling green was good with the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 400 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having been here a few years ago before my children were born and prior to that when I was a child, I can say the Cavern never disappoints. The food was great, the children were entertained, the hikes were fun. You cannot go wrong with the Cavern for a family getaway. We received a free foot massage at the spa with our booking and also opted for a back and neck massage. The rates were very reasonable and the spa is in a wonderful setting.

Some of the rooms are a little dated but you can see they attempt to keep them up to date. The in room safe was welcome to store our valuables, but annoyingly, while being big enough to store our tablets, had a metal divider welded into the middle of the safe making it useless for these bigger items.

The dining room is inviting and the variety of food is great. They make sure you never go hungry. Our two girls aged 7 and 8 did however struggle a bit with the food as it is aimed at adults and there is no option for them to eat from the childrens dining room as they are deemed too old. The cave bar is fun however they would not server Dom Pedros, which is a bit odd.

We had some difficulty with the roads getting there as we were advised not to take the direct route due to the road being unmaintained and generally unpassable by anything but a 4x4. We took the second option of the sand road however this turned out to be very bumpy and not good. We took the long way around on the way back, which took more time but in the end was the better choice.

Overall a relaxing experience and definitely worth going back too again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik_de_Kok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We were utterly impressed with our whole visit to the cavern. Travelling with a 2 yr old is always a challenge but the setup at the cavern really allows for a relaxing and fun filled family getaway. The nannies were fantastic with our daughter and looked after her at all mealtimes. The accommodation was simple yet spacious and adequate. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 580madeleineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have been going to the Cavern for many years, and as usual, when we checked in to the hotel, we found only improvements. The security at the only access gate to the hotel was firm but friendly. If you are not checking into the hotel as a guest, then i don't think you'll get on to the grounds at all. Great for the guests' piece of mind. We had the most interesting weekend with the guides and experts on fauna and flora - Sally and David Johnson - every time we met with them there was just so much to learn!
As usual the room was wonderful, clean and everything in the room worked!! The meals are superb, and dining room staff quiet and friendly. The walks were just great. Even if the Drakensberg was dry and thirsty - there is a special beauty that can only been seen in the Berg.
We'll definitely be back !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

So nice going to a place that caters so well for our kids. Plenty for them to do in the resort and some great walks to take them on that don't go too far away from the resort. Kids supper time and child-minding during supper means that you can relax and enjoy your meal and still love your kids after it :) For adults, there are superb hikes with spectacular views. A great place to take the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I,ve visited Cavern since first I came to S.Africa. Our first hesitant holiday,the children were small.
Will never forget Mrs Carte that put fresh flowers all over. Her two sons Peter and Anthony,The family sitting at gheir table in the dining room. You were part of a family .in the evenings,all came togsther for drinks, one fridge where you kept yours...roaring fire in the fireplace. You were amongst friends.I remember the movie evenings and the dances.
The boys grew up, got engaged, married, the boys took over, the Cavern expanded, got bigger and more beautiful. but the friendly homely atmosphere remained.
The Cavern will forever be my no.1 destination !

Asked when last I was there, maybe two ,three years ago .? my review covers 50 years !

Room Tip: The,re all good, but the honeymoon rooms are super..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved our 3 nights' stay at the Cavern but would recommend staying longer. The room we were in (I think it was #4) was right on the edge of a river flowing down the mountain, which lulled us to sleep every night. We hiked on 2 of the days and loved both of them. Our guide was very friendly! The "Cavern Crunchies" were delicious.

The food was good but tasted and looked a bit the same every day (lots of puff pastry dishes). Their wine cellar is well stocked and the grounds are beautifully maintained.

We had massages on two separate occasions and they were very good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill2dive4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
254 reviews
24.0 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.5 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
494 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa

Address: End Of D 119 Road 3350 | Amphitheatre, Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: $164 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavern Resort & Spa welcomes you to the adventures of mountain holidays. The Cavern, named after the “Cannibal Cavern”, is situated on 3000 hectares of private mountain reserve adjacent to the Drakensberg Amphitheatre World Heritage Site.This holiday offers you daily guided hikes to bushman paintings and rock carvings. For the more energetic, walks are organised to the Tugela Gorge, the second highest waterfall in the world, and to the top of the Amphitheatre (3100m). An extensive range of recreational facilities, from a forest spa, horse trails, trout fishing and mountain bike trails are available. This stunning resort has won numerous accolades. Honeymoon suites, superior suites and standard accommodation are available with spectacular views of the surrounding valleys, indigenous forests and mountains. Honeymoon suites are complete with four-poster beds and fireplaces for cool evenings. The superior accommodation is set away from the resort, in tranquil gardens, with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. The reserve is home to abundant wildlife including leopard, baboon and eland and over 200 species of birds and 150 species of trees.The Forest Spa, set high up in the indigenous forest, is a relaxing space to unwind in whilst being treated by our therapists. Afterwards the unique Cave Bar is the ideal place to meet for a sundowner while looking over the valley below. Just over three hours from Gauteng and Durban it is the ideal area to spend some time in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavern Drakensberg Hotel Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing