We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Certificate of Excellence
Dakar, Senegal
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a wonderful break”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

To be honest, we weren't really sure what to expect with our visit to The Cavern. A lot of the TripAdvisor reviews rave about the options for families with children, which is, of course, great, but which can also often mean noise and tantrums and seemingly deaf parents for the rest of us.

Very happily, the very excellent staff and management at The Cavern handle all their visitor groups well. There's a separate seating area and earlier meal times for young children. And there are plenty of activities for all the guests, including different level hikes depending on one's fitness and energy level.

The scenery is stunning. The food is excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And the spa was one of the nicest we have ever been to.

This is a very special place and one we would be delighted to go back to.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, ask for one of the rooms in the two blocks near the spa - 77 and 78 are quiet n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awaferthinmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Kinshasa

Thank you for your kind comments. Our Superior Suites and rooms near the Forest Spa are a 'child free' zone so you are assured of a relaxing holiday. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Hilton and Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    107
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
154
159
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an old-school, full-board family hotel with a kids' dining room and playground equipment. It is situated in the Northern Berg, supposedly 3 1/2 hours from JHB if the last stretch of road wasn't so awful. We came 2 years ago when they were working on the road so this year we really hoped the road would finally be complete. Sadly roadworks have been aborted due to lack of government funding and it has been left a stunt biker's dream. The location and ambience of The Cavern is lovely, green and very tranquil with picturesque gentle hiking trails. The food is good and chef's tea is offered at 11am and 4pm. We stayed in a family suite- rooms 27, 28 and 29 which has not been renovated since before I was born. The little concave double bed with the awful hard and lumpy pillows in room 27 is probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Luckily my sore neck and back were fixed by the talented Nobile in the serene Forest Retreat Spa. Definitely one of the prettiest spa settings with the most spectacular view! Will only return to this hotel if I can have a better room, bed and pillow... And several sessions at the Spa!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PurchaseCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Family Purchase

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at The Cavern.

Room 27/28/29 was refurbished in 2008 which included new windows, carpets, cupboards and new furniture. It was repainted 2 weeks ago. Fans and LED lights were installed in May of this year. The mattress you refer to was purchased in 2012 (the date is on the mattress) and it is made to four star standard as per Tourism Grading Council guidelines. We change our mattresses every 4 years. I am just sorry that this was not brought to our or your housekeepers attention immediately as we could have easily changed the mattress and pillows for you.

Perhaps our choice of décor and our refurbishment program is not to your liking but we do have many other guests who specifically request these interleading rooms as they are so well suited to a family holiday.

Maybe one of our superior rooms or suites would be more appealing.

Best regards, Hilton & Megan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay at the Cavern using their Tots Special
The food and service were excellent and we loved our room in the treetops
Children are entertained and make friends and the spa is a treat
So beautiful although this time we couldn't explore much with the rain
Will be back !!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LH1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent two nights at the Cavern in September. The first night one of our party had a birthday and were given a room upgrade to celebrate. At the end of the evening meal all the staff came into the dining room carrying a birthday cake and sang happy birthday zulu style - absolutely mesmerising, they are so talented. This is the perfect place to relax if you don't fancy anything more energetic, the scenery is stunning. Highly recommended, the staff made this a visit to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Superb

I glad you had a good time and will let our staff and choir know of your kind comments. Hope you had a safe trip home. Kind Regards. Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very relaxing and quite time was had, where you can go for hikes when you want to or just relax by the pool. Have a fantastic Spa at reasonable prices. The food was excellent and well worth the money, It is also a great family destination were the children eat seperately from the adults

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, KZN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had our first stay here 20 years ago, and just keep going back. What is more, it gets better every time! The timeless setting is entirely beautiful, the ambience relaxing and friendly, the walks invigorating, the rooms warm and comfortable and the food absolutely 5 star superb. Each and every member of the staff with whom we interacted was smiling and helpful. Nelson and Ephraim, the guides who accompany and shepherd those guests who opt for the daily long or short mountain hikes deserve special mention.Their patience with those unaccustomed to hiking, and their knowledge of the environment makes the effort of climbing well worth it. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenBallito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jen

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!!

Kind regards

Hilton & Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Cavern is an amazing holiday destination! All you want in one spot. You never have to leave the amazing place, as it has so much to do. The kids loved it. They have their own dining room with dedicated, trained nannies to look after them. They also have their own buffet, with kid-friendly food. The kids loved the horse riding, jungle gym, row boats, play room, entertainment and walks. We loved the beautiful area, lovely spa treatments and dedicated staff. We will return soon!

Room Tip: Interleading rooms are perfect to share with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
237 reviews
24.0 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
301 reviews
24.0 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa

Property: Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Address: End Of D 119 Road 3350 | Amphitheatre, Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavern Resort & Spa welcomes you to the adventures of mountain holidays. The Cavern, named after the “Cannibal Cavern”, is situated on 3000 hectares of private mountain reserve adjacent to the Drakensberg Amphitheatre World Heritage Site.This holiday offers you daily guided hikes to bushman paintings and rock carvings. For the more energetic, walks are organised to the Tugela Gorge, the second highest waterfall in the world, and to the top of the Amphitheatre (3100m). An extensive range of recreational facilities, from a forest spa, horse trails, trout fishing and mountain bike trails are available. This stunning resort has won numerous accolades. Honeymoon suites, superior suites and standard accommodation are available with spectacular views of the surrounding valleys, indigenous forests and mountains. Honeymoon suites are complete with four-poster beds and fireplaces for cool evenings. The superior accommodation is set away from the resort, in tranquil gardens, with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. The reserve is home to abundant wildlife including leopard, baboon and eland and over 200 species of birds and 150 species of trees.The Forest Spa, set high up in the indigenous forest, is a relaxing space to unwind in whilst being treated by our therapists. Afterwards the unique Cave Bar is the ideal place to meet for a sundowner while looking over the valley below. Just over three hours from Gauteng and Durban it is the ideal area to spend some time in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavern Drakensberg Hotel Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing