We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a birthday celebration..”

Hlala's Pub and Grill
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Bergville
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Owner managed and run Family Restaurant and Homely Pub serving real comfort food and Ice Cold Beer (amongst many others)!!!! If you are looking for real personalised service Hlala's is definitely the place to be..... Cosy Hot Meals in the Restaurant, Al Fresco lunches on the Terrace..... Snack Basket's in the Pub. Shooters served in REAL ICE glasses! Karaoke nights, holiday season entertainment programmes. We also do catering for conferences, wedding catering, platters , gift baskets for guests checking into the hotels in the area..... birthday , special occasion and wedding cakes... you name it we do it!
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for a birthday celebration..”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wanted to celebrate a birthday away from the madding crowd, so headed off to Hlalanathi Berg resort with family & close friends.... Booked Hlala's Pub & Grill as it's on site & convenient & hoped for the best - what a pleasant surprise! Charlotte & Ricardo really looked after us well, as did their staff. I'm not generally a buffet fan as the food tends to be cold & canteen-like - but wow, Charlotte put on the most delicious spread! Ricardo is a DJ, so he facilitated our 'rock star karaoke' party. He happens to be a great singer too! SO much fun, many happy memories from that weekend. Thanks guys :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limpopo Province, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unpretentious!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a round of golf this pub is the perfect 'last' stop. This is a well run spacious pub with a cheerful mix of customers and staff, good food and a good choice of drinks(+beer glasses are ALWAYS cold).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RiaanMaritz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfy”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Liked everything we tried on the menu. All good. Staff friendly and efficient, food freshly cooked. Boys loved the eisbein.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Hlala's Pub and Grill Jade's 40th, Christmas and New Year 2012”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Last year we celebrated my husband's 40th birthday at Hlalanathi Berg resort! It is our favorite place in the world! Our experience at Hlala's pub and grill was just the cherry on top! Charlotte and Ricardo ensured that we were treated like kings for our stay! Amazing vibe, service food etc! We had a private party on the Saturday night and took part in the other festivities organized over the weekend! We were back for the festive season at the end of the year and again had a fabulous experience at Hlala's for our Christmas lunch and New Year's party!
They cater for adults and kids perfectly and service always delivered with a smile!
We are returning in August to celebrate my 40th and we know that our guests and ourselves will have a fabulous time again! Thanks again from Camilla and family

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas New Year”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a surprise to have such organised entertainment and food available. Management and staff where excellent in there presentations and to make it unforgettable.
Entertainment during the day and in the evening was well organised and catered for young up to very old.

Well done guys

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hlala's Pub and Grill also viewed

 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to Hlala's Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing