We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is more than enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Room we booked was in a mess not cleaned with a horrible view in the backyard, so they proposed à chalet with two bedrooms it could havé Been a nice switch but what à déception ! we were back in thé eightees or thé seventies : very old furniture, bathrooms out of âge . Let s talk about thé food : just bad, very bad , we stayed Three nights and this hotel is very disapointing

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank goodPaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your your valued feedback. I would have liked if you could perhaps have asked for me during your stay to discuss your room allocation, I will surely discuss the food feedback with my Executive Chef. The Chalets are in a Maintenance program and we will be completed wit the outsides in due time.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a great week awa in the Berg. Great rooms, food and service. Staff were always willing to assist, and manager (Francois) was never too far away, and listened to all suggestions.
Had a brilliant restful time, and even hig rain fall didn't dampen the spirits. The receptionists were helpful in locating places for zip line flying, horse riding and hiking trails - All were within a short travelling distance.
Special Valentine's day supper was awesome, and even power failures could not spoil the atmosphere..

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet.. Will add photos later..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your recent stay at my hotel. I will surely insure my staff gets to see your feedback, we would love to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The chalet we were booked into was not clean, with stains on the bed linen and furniture and smelt odd. The alternative chalet offered was a little better but still unacceptable (the fridge was broken and the lounge covered in spiders webs). We complained again and were offered two rooms in the hotel, which were of a good standard.

The hotel's saving grace was its staff - they dealt with our complaints politely and effectively and were always pleasant and helpful.

Overall a lovely location with fantastic staff but let down by poor attention to detail, under-investment and a general shoddiness. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your recent stay at my hotel. I appoligise for the state you have recieved your chalet, we are currently working on fixing these units and already did repainted 12 Chalets on the outside. We will bring these units back to it's former glory.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great time, really had enough rest and the scenery is absolutely beautiful!! If you and your family want to get away from the busy life Mont-aux-Source in Drakensberg is the best place to come and relax!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juanitaliebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources Hotel. I hope that you will use us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I recently spent 6 days at the Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel from Dec 21,2012 to Dec 27, 2012 and postives were: the views; newly renovated hotel rooms, dinning room and bar area; good buffett food in the dining room; DRAK Entertainment who were absolutely brilliant; staff in the bar area, dining room and at security were very friendly, professional and got the job done.

However despite these positives, there were a number of negatives which made the visit disappointing and did not live up to the expectation:

• Facilities on the premises are very run down and guests should be informed of the state of the facilities e.g.
o 18 hole putt-putt course, whilst an excellent layout is falling apart, the tennis court is in appalling condition, Games room was under construction yet no mention was made of this when we made our reservation; swimming pool apparently turned brown the day before we arrived and after 6 days still remained green.
• Chalet number 2 (502) – It appeared as those this chalet had not been cleaned in a while – drinking and wine glasses were dirty; kitchen shelves had not been properly wiped down, Bathrooms were not clean and in fact, the shower in the one bathroom did not have any shower doors.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay despite some of the negatives mentioned above, but the central reservations teams should be inform guests of the status of the facilities in order to manage expectations.

This hotel has so much potential to be a real top class tourist attraction in the berg. If you do plan on going - I suggest that you stay in the hotel and not in the chalets.

Room Tip: Stay in the newly renovated hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your valued feedback, we appreciate your positive feedback in regards to your stay at Mont Aux Sources. Thank you for bringing the issues raised in your email dated 02 January 2013 to my attention, rest assured these will be dealt with appropriately.

1. We are planning to relocate the Putt Putt to a more suitable area, as it was build on a surface and area that collects a lot of water and damages the framework and in turn the playing surfaces. Our Putters are sufficient up to a certain amount of people, but I will purchase more of them, as clearly we do not have sufficent stock.
2. The Tennis court - I really do agree that is not in a suitable standard for playing, and I will definatley take this up with my superiors so that we can prioritize an action plan to address the problem.
3. The Entertainment Centre was due to be ready by December holiday break, unfortunately we could not finish with all the equipment to be placed in the inside due to factors beyond our control. My aim is to get back into the project now that the holidays are coming to an end and have it in working order by the very latest Easter .
4. Just before your check in we had a severe storm pouring down 130mm in a few minutes, as the swimming pool is build just long side a downhill, a stream of mud, sand flowed directly in my swimming pool, leaving 4 – 5cm of mud and sand in the bottom, we did struggle to get it clean and sparkling with chemicals and as per the instructions. We may have to drain this pool and create a drainage dtch or runaway to stop water and mud intrusion form downpours into the pool.
5. I have addressed the cleaning and hygiene issues with the chalets with my housekeeper, we will sort this problem out. I understand the chalets are not in a good order due to age and neglect, I am working hard to get this chalets in a better state, I have painted 12 chalets on the outside and will continue in this new year with my chalet renovation project that is already making good progress.
6. I will have a meeting with my Head of Department in Front Office to insure training to be done on certain Customer Service aspects with my front office staff, as this is our
contact point for all of our valuable customers.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. I will use this valuable feedback to enhnace our service and increase the qaulity of our guest experience...

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our company treated their staff and families to a wonderful weekend at Mont-aux-Sources in August 2012. Given the size of our group, we enjoyed exclusivity of the entire hotel! Wow! The overall service, menus selection and quality of food (there were many dietary requirements!) and room requests (families with babies, in particular) were all done to our requirements and done very well. August was a very dry and windy period and as such, the rooms became fairly dusty quite quickly - but nothing a very efficient housekeeping team were not able to sort out on a daily basis :) Unfortunately we just missed the completion of the new games room but there were enough onsite activities and many more in the area to keep our large group very busy.
Hats off to an very well rounded, professional team at Mont-aux-Sources and thank you :)
Angie Redman

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you and your team have enjoyed your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources. I will pass your feedback to my staff aswell.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a beautiful secluded area in the Northern Drakensberg! The staff go out of their way to ensure a happy stay. Their breakfast spread is delicious. It is around the corner of the Royal National Park, a favourite visiting place.

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs and were surprised at how the sound echoed (through closed doors and closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Tahnk you for your valued feedback in regards to your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources, I will pass your message to my staff as well.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Francois van Wyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.9 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
23.4 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
495 reviews
1.9 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.5 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Aux Sources Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: $77 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing