We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and unkempt” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and unkempt”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The chalet we were booked into was not clean, with stains on the bed linen and furniture and smelt odd. The alternative chalet offered was a little better but still unacceptable (the fridge was broken and the lounge covered in spiders webs). We complained again and were offered two rooms in the hotel, which were of a good standard.

The hotel's saving grace was its staff - they dealt with our complaints politely and effectively and were always pleasant and helpful.

Overall a lovely location with fantastic staff but let down by poor attention to detail, under-investment and a general shoddiness. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your recent stay at my hotel. I appoligise for the state you have recieved your chalet, we are currently working on fixing these units and already did repainted 12 Chalets on the outside. We will bring these units back to it's former glory.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    53
    28
    25
See reviews for
70
78
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartbeespoort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great time, really had enough rest and the scenery is absolutely beautiful!! If you and your family want to get away from the busy life Mont-aux-Source in Drakensberg is the best place to come and relax!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juanitaliebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources Hotel. I hope that you will use us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I recently spent 6 days at the Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel from Dec 21,2012 to Dec 27, 2012 and postives were: the views; newly renovated hotel rooms, dinning room and bar area; good buffett food in the dining room; DRAK Entertainment who were absolutely brilliant; staff in the bar area, dining room and at security were very friendly, professional and got the job done.

However despite these positives, there were a number of negatives which made the visit disappointing and did not live up to the expectation:

• Facilities on the premises are very run down and guests should be informed of the state of the facilities e.g.
o 18 hole putt-putt course, whilst an excellent layout is falling apart, the tennis court is in appalling condition, Games room was under construction yet no mention was made of this when we made our reservation; swimming pool apparently turned brown the day before we arrived and after 6 days still remained green.
• Chalet number 2 (502) – It appeared as those this chalet had not been cleaned in a while – drinking and wine glasses were dirty; kitchen shelves had not been properly wiped down, Bathrooms were not clean and in fact, the shower in the one bathroom did not have any shower doors.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay despite some of the negatives mentioned above, but the central reservations teams should be inform guests of the status of the facilities in order to manage expectations.

This hotel has so much potential to be a real top class tourist attraction in the berg. If you do plan on going - I suggest that you stay in the hotel and not in the chalets.

Room Tip: Stay in the newly renovated hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your valued feedback, we appreciate your positive feedback in regards to your stay at Mont Aux Sources. Thank you for bringing the issues raised in your email dated 02 January 2013 to my attention, rest assured these will be dealt with appropriately.

1. We are planning to relocate the Putt Putt to a more suitable area, as it was build on a surface and area that collects a lot of water and damages the framework and in turn the playing surfaces. Our Putters are sufficient up to a certain amount of people, but I will purchase more of them, as clearly we do not have sufficent stock.
2. The Tennis court - I really do agree that is not in a suitable standard for playing, and I will definatley take this up with my superiors so that we can prioritize an action plan to address the problem.
3. The Entertainment Centre was due to be ready by December holiday break, unfortunately we could not finish with all the equipment to be placed in the inside due to factors beyond our control. My aim is to get back into the project now that the holidays are coming to an end and have it in working order by the very latest Easter .
4. Just before your check in we had a severe storm pouring down 130mm in a few minutes, as the swimming pool is build just long side a downhill, a stream of mud, sand flowed directly in my swimming pool, leaving 4 – 5cm of mud and sand in the bottom, we did struggle to get it clean and sparkling with chemicals and as per the instructions. We may have to drain this pool and create a drainage dtch or runaway to stop water and mud intrusion form downpours into the pool.
5. I have addressed the cleaning and hygiene issues with the chalets with my housekeeper, we will sort this problem out. I understand the chalets are not in a good order due to age and neglect, I am working hard to get this chalets in a better state, I have painted 12 chalets on the outside and will continue in this new year with my chalet renovation project that is already making good progress.
6. I will have a meeting with my Head of Department in Front Office to insure training to be done on certain Customer Service aspects with my front office staff, as this is our
contact point for all of our valuable customers.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. I will use this valuable feedback to enhnace our service and increase the qaulity of our guest experience...

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our company treated their staff and families to a wonderful weekend at Mont-aux-Sources in August 2012. Given the size of our group, we enjoyed exclusivity of the entire hotel! Wow! The overall service, menus selection and quality of food (there were many dietary requirements!) and room requests (families with babies, in particular) were all done to our requirements and done very well. August was a very dry and windy period and as such, the rooms became fairly dusty quite quickly - but nothing a very efficient housekeeping team were not able to sort out on a daily basis :) Unfortunately we just missed the completion of the new games room but there were enough onsite activities and many more in the area to keep our large group very busy.
Hats off to an very well rounded, professional team at Mont-aux-Sources and thank you :)
Angie Redman

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you and your team have enjoyed your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources. I will pass your feedback to my staff aswell.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a beautiful secluded area in the Northern Drakensberg! The staff go out of their way to ensure a happy stay. Their breakfast spread is delicious. It is around the corner of the Royal National Park, a favourite visiting place.

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs and were surprised at how the sound echoed (through closed doors and closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Tahnk you for your valued feedback in regards to your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources, I will pass your message to my staff as well.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Francois van Wyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. It is especially nice if you had a long walk in the Royal Natal Park to get back to such a welcoming place just around the corner of the park (so no long drives involved). Loved the views, the spacious and nicely furbished rooms and the friendly staff. The food was very good.
The hotel could go the extra mile by being a bit more generous towards its guests; e.g. there was no water provided in the rooms and the drinks at dinner had to be paid extra. It might not look like a big deal but the sum of these little details make the difference in hospitality. For the rates you pay, I think those things could be expected. But overall, we enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzansi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your input in regards to the exstra's we will surely look into your suggestions.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetown, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The weekend between 02 - 04 November 2012, my family and I visisted Orion Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel. We were welcomed with friendly security and staff.

We stayed at Chalet 1, and it's beautiful inside and out. Inside it was clean, they even put an extra bed in the chalet for my daughter. The housekeeping staff brought us clean dry towels the following day without us even asking for it. The rest of the staff including management We had an amazing time with beautiful sunrises and sunsets, peace and quiet just to unwind and relax.

I will definately recommend Orion-Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel to my friends and we will go and visit again. Thanks to all the friendly staff and management for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: For families, the chalets are a good choice. There is tennis, basketball, volleyball, chess and a ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your saty with us and would like you to come and visit us soon again.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
3.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
23.3 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.3 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
21.7 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Aux Sources Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Property: Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing