We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Mont-Aux-Sources”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at Mont-Aux-Sources”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My family and I spent a wonderful weekend at Orion Mont-Aux-Sources! Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, good food. Not that far to travel. Caters for families and think their conference facilities will also be good. Our room was recently renovated, modern and stunning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate to hear that you have enjoyed your visit at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    55
    28
    25
See reviews for
71
79
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is situated ideally giving spectacular views of the Drakensberg mountain range from your room! The rooms are in the process of being renovated and I stayed in the upgraded rooms which have a modern feel and has everything that a good hotel should have. Just a few check-boxes more to earn their 5-star rating but for a 3-star hotel, definitely worth it!.

Room Tip: The newly upgraded hotel rooms are really good-especially if you're on the ground floor-to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lockhaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for uor posistive feedback, we appreciate to hear that our team's hardwork is paying off, and gives us more spirit to going stronger forward and insure our guest recieves a quality holiday/breakaway at Mont Aux Sources Hotel.

We hope to see you soon again in the Northern Drakensberg.

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We weren't sure because of many negative comments here on tripadvisor, but went anyway for the long weekend in September and we loved it.
Probably because the place has undergone a massive renovation.
Beautiful location and spacious and clean rooms.
Buffet with a wide choice of good food for breakfast and supper.
And the staff is very helpful, prompt and attentive.
We'll go there again!

Room Tip: We were in room 411. Beautiful. Although probably rooms around 405 have an even better view of the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneGianlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences which you received at Orion Mont Aux Sources hotel, we are a team here commited to increase our guest overall experience, we use all the feedback to insure that we correct or stay on course to provide a quality and value for money holiday or break to you.
We hope that we will see you soon again at Orion Mont Aux Sources Hotel !

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Peace, Tranquility and Beauty - thats what you will find here. Only 3 hours driving from Durban and you are at this Hotel in the middle of the Mountains with beautiful views. The snow was still on the mountains. (early September). The accommodation was very good (obviously the new section) - our kingsize bed was very comfortable and the linen was lovely. The room had everything you need - Flat Screen TV, Central Heating and beautifully furnished with a lovely bathroom. The Lounge, Reception and Diningroom and Bar were well positiioned and great area to socialise in. Food was good but presentation could have been better..a bit over priced. Staff were friendly but could have been more efficient and better trained. Most Resorts in the Drakensberg Mountains cater well for children and this hotel is no exception - the outdoors, fresh air, bowls, swiming pool etc etc.. are all there to keep them busy. We missed the large log fire which we believe was gas and was broken. The atmosphere in the evening was lacking... 1 km away is a 19 hole golf course at Hlalanathi Resort. You can also eat there for cheaper if need be.

Room Tip: Front facing and renovated wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsonDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at Orion Mont Aux Sources, we value feedback from our guest very highly as this is the tool we use to improve our service and experience levels to you. We will adress these points showed out by youand better the overall value to you and other guest.

We are working hard upgrading facilities at this moment in time and the hotel will be surely one of the great hotels in the Drakensberg.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Unfortunately I wrote my review in the space below, so please refer 'add a tip' space below.

Room Tip: What was supposed to be a beautiful weekend n the Berg, ended up as a nightmare! We ( two couples) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your experience at Orion Mont Aux Sources, I firstly would like to appoligise for the problem in regards to the room which was not availible, we are working with a company which deals with our online bookings, on this specific weekend we did not receive the confirmations of 6 bookings, which then created the non availibility. I have taken it up with this company to insure future comunication gaps does not happen again. We are in the planning of upgrading our chalets which is in need of this.

I will discuss the food comment with my management to rectify this.

Thank you once again for the valued feedback, this helps us to iprove our services to our guest.

Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergville hotels

Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed overnight at Orion Mont-Aux-Sources. The room was clean and sterile, like staying in any hotel anywhere. We had a nice meal, but nothing to write home about. The location is excellent: right outside the Royal Natal park. We enjoyed playing miniature golf, although the golf course needs some repair work. I would have been satisfied overall, but paid way too much money for what the services and amenities that we received.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from reception face away from the mountains. Try to get a room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianbesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your Tripadvisor feedback, we currently working very hard to upgrade our facilities and this will be a huge drawcard for our guest in the near future, we have refurbed 42 of our rooms to 4 star status, we are building a new Entertainment Centre, we also upgraded our public areas in the main hotel aswell, Orion is commited to provide quality and value for money holiday option to our guest. We hope to see you very soon to come and enjoy our hotel again.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A very nice location close to the Natal park.

We stayed in the old (not renovated part). The beds were good but the rest of the accommodation really needs a refurbishment. Bathroom was really outdated.
Also staff knowledge on things to do is very poor. They told us our booking was cancelled when checking in even though my cc was charged. Food is okay but beware of the smell in your clothes when coming from the dining room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the renovated part
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your experience at Orion Mont aux Sources Hotel, we use these feedback to increase our service level to you and I will adress the matters showed out by you, we have refurbed 42 Deluxe Rooms which have all mountain views. When visiting us again please contact us so that we can allocate you one of them. We are planning to upgrade the other rooms mentioned very soon, they are not at all in a bad state and is also a cost efective option for budget travellers.

Kind Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
21.3 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.4 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.5 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Aux Sources Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Property: Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing