We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our stay in this hotel was the lowest value for money of our entire 3-week stay in SA. The appliances in the room were not all working well (e.g. water coming out of the bath tub when used), and the overall look was of a hotel room that had seen better days. The staff in the restaurant was not friendly and highly inefficient (e.g. a waiter asking several times whether we really stayed in the hotel because he apparently did not believe us, and another waiter who could not even open a bottle of wine decently). You wonder why people pay that amount of money for such a crappy hotel. The only positive note is the view, but you don't need to stay in the hotel to enjoy that. In short: never again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois v, General Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for giving us your feedback in regards to your stay at Orion Mont Aux Sources, we are a new management team which is a couple of month's old and can asure you we are working hard in turning the hotel to become the best in the Drakensberg, we started upgrades which will continue until end of 2012, we hope that you will visit us again to come and enjoy the real hospitality and view of Orion Mont Aux Sources.

Regards

Francois van Wyk
General Manager
Orion Motn aux Sources

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 258 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Mont aux Sources self catering cottages (a timeshare exchange) and after a gap of 10 years in this region, fell in love again with the northen 'Berg. Hotel very nice and although the cottages are in need of a coat of paint outside, inside linen clean and crisp and equipment and everything more than adequate. The complex is beautiful, gardens well maintained and being spring, all the Azaleas were in full bloom. Staff friendly and helpful and position is divine. Some hotel rooms are under renovation as well.
Take walks and hikes inside the Royal Natal National Park - the route up to Tiger Falls and then back round is very well worth while but initial climb up to the contour path is hot as it is in the open with no tree cover. For the fit - try the Gorge walk and take a picnic. We were sorry to see that the old RN Hotel was closed and falling to pieces since its return to KZN Parks, with pool and wonderful gardens now a wilderness. We heard they are making plans to do something to renovate and refurbish. What a waste in the interim. I think this needs private enterprise to step in, personally. But don't be put off by this - the area is fantastic and the views of the Amphitheatre from the Tugela river valley are just amazing - just as they are from Mont aux Sources Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyndavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We ended up here by chance having left another hotel due to poor rooms and service. Pleasantly surprised by the service even thought we had just stopped to ask for ice. Checked out the rooms - some are newly refurbished- and they are well appointed. Meals were quite good for buffet food. All round good value. Disappointed to see it so quiet although it was school holidays. Hopefully picks up once refurbishment is complete.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Jacqui & I wanted to go back to Thendele in the Burg but did not want the hassle of cooking etc so we Googled the area and came up with the Orion. Sady the last review really put us off so we looked around at the other eastablishments in the area. We always use Trip Advisor so thought we would drive up and see for ourselves. After looking around we were well pleased with the Orion but were worried still worried about the quality of the meals ( due to last reviews )...we were WELL pleased with the meals presented!! This is a well positioned, good quality, family hotel with something for everyone....we never saw a bug in three days!!!

Room Tip: We had room 402 which had just been upgraded....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fundionafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Big hotel in Northern Drakensberg, approx 10-15 min driving from the entrance of the Royal Natal national Park. Previously called movenpick mont aux sources.
Lovely grounds, great view at the amphitheatre from the terrace where drinks and snacks are served. . Although rooms looked quite outdated (think eighties) they were large and looked clean. And as we thought they were not worth the 799 zar incl breakfast that was being charged per room, the location made us stay. Furthermore we liked the large pool (large enough to swim laps in), but it turned out to be quite cold (not heated).
However, in the open hallway behind the rooms and in the rooms (we had 2 rooms) were small “jumping bugs” though. In one room we had housekeeping remove some (4 or so) from the bathroom, and I killed 2 or 3 in the room myself. But later at night they were back in the bathroom. We asked whether a room in different part of hotel would help, but according to the manager -who called the jumping bugs cockroaches; not the kitchen variety but neverless.....and no, another room would not help, "this is Africa". (Well, had not encountered this in any place in Southern Africa where I had been).
When later in the evening we encountered more on the bed, and a few in the other room as well, we fled the place. The ladies at the counter were not difficult about returning the money that we had to pay upfront for the rooms.
That night we drove to Little Switzerland, 20 km away, and had a great bug-free stay, with views that were just as spectaculair.! We even extended our stay there (LS) with one more night.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlBergville, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2010

The Hotel is situated in the Nortern Drakensburg with grasslands and open corridors leading to the rooms. These jumping insects are actually small grasshoppers which are in abundance a certain time of the year. They are completely harmless, and part of our beautifull nature!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Booked with African Raninbow Tours ART
Great stay (2 nights) with breath taking view of Amphitheater.
We were in a quiet period at the beginning of May.
Great food at buffet too.

Good for children. (playground and chess play, pool is a bit cold in May)
Good hiking trails, also short ones for elder people and children.

By the way:
Dont forget to drive through Golden Gate National Highland park on your way out or in to/from Jo-burg.
(South Africa's best coffee at Valley Chats at the exit/entrance of the park)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Arnout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wopei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.9 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
23.4 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
504 reviews
6.5 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bergville
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Aux Sources Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: $67 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing