We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality lost”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Easby Guest House

Easby Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easby Guest House
Ranked #11 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality lost”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Despite its great potential in terms of location and as a historically significant site, Easby was a huge disappointment.

It didn't seem as if our hosts were prepared or interested in our stay.

Some characteristics:

- Our arrival seemed to have disturbed our hosts' evening and there was no sense of warmth, welcome or greeting,
- The balcony to our room was scattered with upturned dusty furniture,
- The hosts private room was across the corridor from ours with a tv blaring music throughout the house, with their door wide open,
- The floors and furniture throughout the house were covered in dust
- To get to the dining area we had to walk through a reception area where the host was lounging on his chair watching tv
- The dining area was cramped full of unused upturned furniture
- The breakfast was unsatisfactory

A final point was the presence of the old South African and old Transvaal flag in pride of place in the bar without any reference to a democratic South Africa. Had there been a complete series of flags of SA's history it would have been consistent with Easby's historical relevance. But without that, most people find the old flag offensive and not something to be heralded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I travelled alone to research my Great Uncle who had been killed during The Boer War. Chris and Grietjie were the perfect hosts.
The accomodation was fantastic, traditional and in the most beautiful location and the welcome was superb. I was made to feel like a member of the family. We dined together to Grietjie's marvellous cooking and talked through the day in the cellar bar where Chris would regale us with his fantastic knowledge of SA history and amusing anecdotes.
I used Chris' services for guidance around the battlefields that are on the doorstep of Easby House (in fact the house was used as an HQ during the Boer War). Chris's knowledge and enthusiasm are second to none and he had spent time researching, on my behalf, before my arrival.
I had considered a number of locations before booking Easby House but I really made the correct decision - the accomodation, the hosts and the welcome made this an experience not to be forgotten. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ablockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have stayed in my share of BnB's and hotels, but this was one of the best experiences ever for the following reasons. First, the rooms are clean and comfortable. My group of four stayed in four rooms, and each room was very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the electric blankets ensured very good sleep. My room also had direct access to the outside. Second, the food was amazing! Had a delicious braai (barbeque) dinner with eland (antelope) steaks, chicken, and sheep tails. They also have a well-stocked bar/pool room downstairs. The breakfast was also very generous and tasty. Third, the owners, especially Chris, are experts on South African history. Listening to them was educational as well as entertaining. Finally, the hospitality of Chris and Grietjie is what distinguishes the experience here from other places. They dine with you and you are treated like part of family. Recommended in the strongest terms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank song64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with a lovely room, wonderful local food and excellent company. The bar was an unexpected treat. The location was peaceful and ideal for visits to the battlefields and Drakensberg mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarelovesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

What an amazing experience.
My wife & I have travelled throuout South Africa, staying at various venues, but to come across a gem such as Easby, is a great find. They may only have three star status, but deserve ten star status. Situated 18 kilometers from Begville, overlooking the Drakensburg. We have been to Easby over 10 times as we go to the south coast quite often. Our children & their families have stayed there.
Food is out of this world, Grietjie is an excellent cook, Chris is a registered tour guide.
Rooms are clean & tidy, high ceilings, electric blanets for the cold nights. A well stocked bar down stairs
Kitchen is well kept, food great. I am lactose intollerant & Grietjie goes out of her way to accommodate me. Chris & Gritjie make you feel part of the family.
Lots to do in the surrounding areas, or stay and read a book. A great view of the Drakensburg whilst you eat breakfast on the stoep.
Chris & Grietjie< thanks again for everything you do fot us, will see you soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heymann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Easby, Chris & Grietjie were wonderful hosts, they ensured that we were well looked after, the home cooked and very tasty food was very appreciated!
The gardens were well kept and stunning, as were the views from the balcony area of this well maintained and beautifully historic house. Rooms were spacious and clean and no issues were encountered, would happily like to return again and unreservedly recommend to friends, especially being a stones throw from very interesting Battlefields. All in all, a pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkGDiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights travelling from joburg to Durban. Ideally placed for exploring the Drakensberg and the battlefields tour with Chris was outstanding. We were made to feel so welcome and part of this lovely historical setting with views to die for. Enjoy the home cooked evening meal with Chris and . Thank you both for making our 2 days with you so enjoyable.
Jan and Peter from England.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klonarijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
0.0 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
798 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
0.0 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easby Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easby Guest House

Property: Easby Guest House
Address: Bergville 3350 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing