We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingelela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingelela Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Greytown, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always Good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

In short, I will be returning to Bingelela. The Food is suburb, the wine list has something for everyone, the service is professional and the setting relaxing. I have visited Bingelela probably 5 or 6 times now and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you Aherin!

It's always a pleasure hosting guests who appreciate great food and a good wine, it definitely creates a bubbly atmosphere.

We look forward to your next visit and will keep the wine flowing and the food coming!

From the management and the team we say THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had a really enjoyable stay. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and a very well-stocked bar. The accommodation was basic but one does not spend all day in the room. I found the stairs a bit difficult to start with but soon got the hang of them. We found Joss and Paula and Jessica very pleasant and helpful if we needed to ask anything. We also enjoyed having the lovely dogs around and were very tempted to take Vino home with us but resisted the temptation!! We would definitely visit again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill_nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our unique rustic rondavels.

It's a pity you didn't use the bath! We'll have to organize you a bottle of wine next time, light the fire and allow you to relax and indulge a little!

We look forward to your next visit :)

Thank you once again form Joss, Paula and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant. Accommodation, different. A rondarvel with a difference! The sitting room has a Jacuzzi in it!!! Didn't have time to try it out!!! The bedroom is up some scary stairs. Not recommended for the aged. It certainly is the local pub. Family orientated wonderful. Food was very good. We were there for one night and the owners were amazing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi Rose,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Bingelela and hope that we'll see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Bingelela Management and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergville, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Bingelela. The rooms are exquisite, with a warm and comforting feeling. I highly recommend it above any other B&B in the berg!!. With some of the best food I have tasted . The Steaks are excellent , especially the Bingelela Steak and the Gorgonzola Steak . A must visit in the Berg.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josua5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and although we liked the cottage, there was less hospitality by the owners and the staff. The place was very quiet at the time we stayed and there and the staff showed little attention for their guests, which was a pity.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joost1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good day,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about Bingelela.
We do take any suggestions very seriously because we know there is always room for improvement.
We greatly appreciate you kind word towards our restaurant and will pass it on to the relevant kitchen staff, as for the rest of the staff that was a disappointment while you were visiting, Improvements will be made
Kind regards
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We wanted a relaxing weekend away as a family, and that's what we got! We opted for the self catering accommodation and they put us in a 4 sleeper and gave us the B&B rate so we enjoyed a tasty breakfast each morning. Our 2 year old just loved the 4 "child friendly" dogs that roam around the facilities and just wanted to ride one of the many kids push bikes they provide and play on the jungle gym every morning.
If its hospitalty that you are looking for and you just want to unwind from the city life, I strongly suggest Bingelela.
Less than an hour to Royal Natal National Park. Take the Woodstock Mountain Drive for a more scenic trip around Woodstock dam.
Just over half an hour to Spioenkop Nature Reserve.
Plenty of other places of interest in and around the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Nell family, it was such a privilege hosting for you, we enjoyed your visit and getting to know the family.We are very glad to hear that even our younger guest's have a great time at Bingelela and hope to see you soon again.
We will make sure to pass on your gratitude to all staff at Bingelela
Happy future travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thank you Jessica, Carmen & Staff for an excellent venue for a birthday celebration. Accommodation clean & comfy, staff friendly, bar well stocked, and food ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. Really great dining experience! All of our requirements were met and we had an absolutely amazing stay with you. Would recommend you to everybody! Thank You!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and appreciation for all staff that has played a roll in making your stay and birthday celebration memorable . It was a great pleasure hosting your family and friends and do hope to have you all back here at Bingelela in the near future. Safe traveling to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
4.7 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
21.7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
24.6 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.5 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingelela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingelela Lodge

Property: Bingelela Lodge
Address: on the R74, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant - On Premises.No need to drive.We Offer tantalizing recipes,Whether it's something traditional or something new and exciting that you're after, the varied and creative menu offers something suitable to every palette.Every choice is a favorite and all dishes are prepared from the freshest,best quality produce from local suppliers.In addition to the regular menu's that boast a scrumptious selection of starters,mains and desserts including delights for three continents around the Med with adventurous combinations of ingredients and seasonings,there's the daily specialty menu that caters to every mood,wallet and appetite.Pizzeria our wood fired oven delivers only the finest gourmet pizzas.Our Menu ensures you'll find a new divine pizza to try every time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing