We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for dining, but not much else”
Review of Bingelela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingelela Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Himeville, South Africa
1 review
“Great place for dining, but not much else”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A group of us stayed at Bingelela for a long weekend. It is a great place to spend an afternoon – great food, well stocked bar and very friendly staff. However the accommodation is very basic and not comfortable for a long stay. Apart the restaurant on site, there is not much to do on the premises apart from talking a stroll around the cottages – no great views, or even picnic spots or communal braai areas or anything. I definitely recommend the restaurant, but give the accommodation a miss if you plan on a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review,we do take your opinion and advise of our
accommodation very serious and we are always looking at ways to improve.
Thank you for the opportunity to host such a fine family and do hope to have a visit again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Bingelela is a home away from home where we could sit back, relax and take in the tranquillity of Northern Drakensberg. The restaurant is undeniably world class. Do not pass through Bergville without stopping over at Bingelela for one of their mouth-watering pizza's or melt-in-mouth steaks! The friendly staff truly went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable at all times, no request was too big or too small. Wish we were still there!

Room Tip: If you have allergies to Thatch grass, I would suggest the self-catering accommodation which is Zinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurielP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Rception at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
What a wonderful review to start our day off.
It was such a pleasure being your host, we do hope to meet up with you again in the near future.
Should you make a new booking in the future, please mention that you would prefer the self-catering, Allergies can be very nasty with thatching and we would like to keep you as comfortable as possible for a very unforgettable stay.
Have a super day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travel the Country on a daily basis and when time comes to hit the Drakensberg there is no other option but to go to Bingelela... I love the people, the sites, the rooms, the food and the Island Feeling as well... If I was appointed to rate the lodge I would rate it 10 out of 5! Just love it!!!

Room Tip: Room #12 is fully booked when I'm here! And the room with the bubble bath is best for the ladies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you kindly, we enjoyed reading your comments and appreciate the kind words and are very glad that we could have been your host for your stay in the Drakensberg.
We do hope to see you soon and hopefully the next stay will be for a longer period.
Travel safe we are you may go next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ive been in many countries all over the world during my lifetime and really have to say this humble fascinating lodge really competes with ease against the worlds best and gives a warm island feeling in between the drakensburg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawiebez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you at Bingelela and thank you for your positive comments,
It is much appreciated by all staff.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a last minute stopover in May and were given what I would describe as the worst accommodation I have stayed in for a traveller. We were given a rondavel that upon first opening the door gave off the foulest odour I have ever smelt. we discovered the plug hole in the shower is higher than the rest of the floor so the dirty water does not run out but lies there until it is mopped giving the place a dank odour. The small lounge has a tv and fireplace but no wood and the brochure states clearly if you want a fire you need to "basically get back into your car and travel into Bergville and buy wood as they do not supply.
There was no milk with the coffee and tea in the room and no hairdryer for a traveller. The place is so basic the curtain rails were skew. Curtains completely see through. If you closed the one in the toilet it was so long that it hung in the toilet. There was a very primitive rickety staircase up to a mezzanine level with a bed. If you were a tall person you would need to stoop.
No thought has been put into the accommodation. It was freezing cold and we wanted to go and sit in the bar and have a warm drink next to the fire but hey! Guess what patrons were merrily smoking in there AGAINST THE NO SMOKING LAWS so we sat in the cold on the open veranda next to the pool until it started to rain and the smokers had started to leave. The only good thing was the food.
Sorry guys we will definitely not be back. Did contact owners but have had no feedback. Not important to them I suppose one traveller's opinion doesn’t make a difference.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in the area on business and was booked into the Bingelela Lodge, was met by the owner Joss who kindly showed me the bungalow. Not expecting much, I was pleasantly suprised by the bungalow with a great shower, relaxing couch (with a nice TV!) and a comfortable bed on the mezzanine level. Just what's needed after a long day!

I also made use of the restaurant that evening and the menu was bold and had difficulties in choosing what to try. The decision was made (after recommendations) by the manageress and the food was amazing. The helpfulness of the staff is also exemplary and they were always happy to help.

I even got a puncture, but not a problem, the local staff were there and ready to assist me on my way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind and pleasant words,
It was a pleasure hosting for you and your mutual respect towards members of the kitchen staff,floor staff and Management we very much appreciated.
We are glad to hear that you rested well and hope to see you in the near future again.
Once again, THANK YOU !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindley, Free State, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Me and my wife like to break away on weekends and travel with our motorcycle and spent a night or two some nice place. Two years ago i discoverd bingelela and wow what a nice place it was!!! The people are friendly and the food is heavenly!!! We decided on our last trip to take along some friends{ 4 couples} and what a lovely time we have. Bingelela caters for everyone!
WOW WHAT A LOVELY PLACE THIS IS CAN RECOMEND IT HIGHLY!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 10 have a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Public Relations Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you kindly , we do appreciate your comments and looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
0.7 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
18.6 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
21.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.1 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
21.1 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingelela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingelela Lodge

Property: Bingelela Lodge
Address: on the R74, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant - On Premises.No need to drive.We Offer tantalizing recipes,Whether it's something traditional or something new and exciting that you're after, the varied and creative menu offers something suitable to every palette.Every choice is a favorite and all dishes are prepared from the freshest,best quality produce from local suppliers.In addition to the regular menu's that boast a scrumptious selection of starters,mains and desserts including delights for three continents around the Med with adventurous combinations of ingredients and seasonings,there's the daily specialty menu that caters to every mood,wallet and appetite.Pizzeria our wood fired oven delivers only the finest gourmet pizzas.Our Menu ensures you'll find a new divine pizza to try every time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing