We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place for a break away!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingelela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bingelela Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Lindley, Free State, South Africa
1 review
“Very nice place for a break away!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Me and my wife like to break away on weekends and travel with our motorcycle and spent a night or two some nice place. Two years ago i discoverd bingelela and wow what a nice place it was!!! The people are friendly and the food is heavenly!!! We decided on our last trip to take along some friends{ 4 couples} and what a lovely time we have. Bingelela caters for everyone!
WOW WHAT A LOVELY PLACE THIS IS CAN RECOMEND IT HIGHLY!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 10 have a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingelela Lodge b, Public Relations Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you kindly , we do appreciate your comments and looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had to spend 6 nights in Bergville on business. A colleague of mine who had stayed at Bingelela twice before recommended me in this direction. He raved about the menu. Upon my arrival I was treated like I was their only guest, and received this same treatment for the duration of my stay (trust me I wasn't the only guest). I stayed very comfortably in one of several thatched cottages built within a Bluegum Tree grove. The seclusion I sought was wonderful, and I went for an early morning run on the farmroads in the maize fields. The food was totally amazing and one would have to stay at Bingelela for a very long time to become used to or even bored with the menu. I had Bingelela garlic snails as a starter almost every night and enjoyed their excellent steaks, curries, pizzas and salads.

I would relish the opportunity to return here anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was referred by the place we had stayed in ladysmith last week.We went there for lunch ,had pasta. Good food. Just that we were rushed to place our orders by the waitress. My husband had ordered Tunasian Chicken.nice and spicy they had good selection of cocktails .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
943 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the area, not at the lodge, but heard positive comments from several sources in the area on the food quality at this restaurant. We were here on a rainy day and decided to arrive early to spend some time at the bar before the dinner. The restaurant and bar wrap around the swimming pool in the center, both were quite cozy considering the weather, with a rustic long bar and the restaurant warmed by a fireplace stoked with big logs.

We started our dinner with 2 appetizers: an excellent olive packet with olives, sun-dried tomatoes and feta in a phyllo wrap and a good smoked trout with avocado and salad. For the main courses, we selected the Tunisian half peri chicken with basmati rice and a fillet steak with pepper sauce, both were done to our entire satisfaction.

Highly recommended for the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I found the Bingelela lodge to be a very good place to stay when visiting Bergville. The accommodations are individual huts that feature good beds and showers. It is a short drive from town, which offers a respit from all the bustle. The restaurant has very good food and the staff is more than accommodating. It could be better as internet access is limited to the restaurant area, but they were more than happy to meet my needs in regards to additional services including laundary service. I've not stayed in other places in the area, but they more than met my expectations. The short drive out of town offers a nice respit at the end of the day. I'll be staying again.

Room Tip: Cottages 7 and 9 have a shower and a loft bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent one night here on the way to hike in the Drakensberg. The restaurant and bar was great. The food was excellent. The accommodation, however, did not match up to the food.

Our party was spread over two cottages. Cottage 11 had two rooms and a bathroom which only had a bath (that took hours to run and a tap that dripped continuously). It was cold and impersonal and not very comfortable.

Cottage 10 was better. It had a jaccuzi in the middle of the lounge in addition to a shower in the bathroom. Bed was in a loft upstairs. Better than cottage 11, but strange arragement.

Room Tip: Room 11 is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had made a short term reservation at Bingelela for a Saturday night stay during low-season, which is also the "cold" season. This lodge is completely misrepresented on their website and not worth your consideration. After arriving we decided to first eat lunch and relax in their courtyard. A pleasant young man served attended us and after a short while served us various fine dishes - so far so so good! Then when it was time to check into our rooms, the surprise was big when we saw what was advertised as "the perfect spot to kick up your feet, relax and enjoy the splendor of our country retreat". We were presented below standard, run-down and cold rooms that were totally unacceptable for a price tag of $100. We then asked for the manager and were eventually led to meet with the owner himself. A rude, insistent man which was everything else but the friendly people we have met in South Africa until then. We do not recommend anyone to stay at Bingelela because the quality of accommodation does not pare with the price.

Room Tip: I would not stay there at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ecapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
4.7 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
21.7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
24.6 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.5 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingelela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingelela Lodge

Property: Bingelela Lodge
Address: on the R74, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant - On Premises.No need to drive.We Offer tantalizing recipes,Whether it's something traditional or something new and exciting that you're after, the varied and creative menu offers something suitable to every palette.Every choice is a favorite and all dishes are prepared from the freshest,best quality produce from local suppliers.In addition to the regular menu's that boast a scrumptious selection of starters,mains and desserts including delights for three continents around the Med with adventurous combinations of ingredients and seasonings,there's the daily specialty menu that caters to every mood,wallet and appetite.Pizzeria our wood fired oven delivers only the finest gourmet pizzas.Our Menu ensures you'll find a new divine pizza to try every time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing