We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality!Great views~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at DMR.Experienced great hospitality by Sean and crew!
Staff was very helpful and food was amazing!He also guided/advised us about places nearby for sightseeing.

The Sunset and other views are breathtaking from hotel,and weather was lovely.

They catered for supper for kids early evening followed by lovely candle light dinner for parents which we enjoyed the most.

Another lovable thing was fireplaces at every place/room.

Dirt Road a a bit demotivating for smaller cars but views are worthy,and more signs should be included.

Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashtasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 226 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spotted the sign and wandered off the beaten track to find this place. Travelling 12 kms on dodgy roads not even sure that there was in fact a lodge open at the end of it. When we arrived, it was breathtaking. This place is one of those "take it as you find it" places that just left us speechless. Gorgeous views, a delightful room with fire and excellent food. the breakfasts were great and dinner divine with a view that can not be captured on film.

Room Tip: Every room is different and seem to cater to everyone ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The setting of this lodge is truly superb. The building itself and decor are also impressive, and our room was well-situated, with a very effective wood-burning stove and private patio.

Unfortunately, the rest of our experience was not as delightful - it appears that guests are encouraged to mingle here, and the communal area has music playing for much of the day. A piano in the lobby was played by children on numerous occasions during our three day stay, and we found that in order to find the peace and quite we had hoped for, we ended up having to vacate the premises and go for a walk. The walks, however, were indeed special.

The lowest point of our stay was the food provided. Breakfasts were average, at best - lukewarm eggs, soggy bacon, salty mushrooms and very limited options. Dinners were also nothing special, for the meat eaters (served lukewarm, on cold plates) and vegetarians had a reheated soya product for supper on three out of three nights, with hardly any fresh vegetables - hardly 'home cooking', and we had given ample warning for dietary requirements.

It is possible that the self-catering option for a large group would be a better choice next time. This was one of the pricier options in the area - we had hoped it would provide a lot more than it was able to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRPenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed three nights in the Retreat and the whole experience has turned out to be well above what I expected.

Relaxed and friendly atmosphere was so engaging that you do not want to leave the property. An idyllic landscape around with wild houses glazing. Good hiking trails just from the property and indoor pool to cool down. Stunning views on the Drakensberg mountains. A dinner with the candles.

I did daily trips to the nationals parks and the hike up to the Amphitheater was the hike of a lifetime. The length of this hike could be adjusted but the views from any point of the route are breathtaking.

Tracy and Sean, the Retreat's managers, went well boyond their duties in responding to all my requests. When my car broke in the mountains they quickly arranged to solve the problem.

Could not imagine better African experience with the highest comfort and safety.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaDima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the kind of place you go to, to reconnect and revive yourself, we unfortunately brought kids with us and this demanded that we travel around to ensure that they are entertained! A lot of activities around including hiking trails (if you are into that hardship!), but generally the views of the Drakensberg Mountain continue to give your heart a skip every-time, especially during sun-downers. The road is a serious deterrent, but you cant really blame the establishment for that, its a government planning issue. Sean's team is really amazing and I must caution the urban rats to take things as they come, there is no need to rush here; and if you are a coffee junkie like me, a self-service facility is available in the main lounge around the clock which is next to an honesty bar, which you need to manage because there can be too much beauty to celebrate. All round an excellent experience.

Room Tip: There are two rooms upstairs that have an amazing view, try these first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Magnificent hotel, friendly owners and staff, good food, very relaxing at the fire place, gorgeous rooms and stunning view!

Every room is very nice, and you must stay there for the view and surroundings, We've booked the cheapest room and got an upgrade at arrival, because the more luxurious rooms hadn't been booked we've got one for the same rate.

We tought we were lost on the way up there, but no worry....it is just a long way up the mountain, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The road to the retreat is 12 km of very bumpy potholed road (although 4x4 not needed), but the 30 min drive is definitely well worth it. The view of the mountains is stunning and the location just so peaceful and remote. We stayed in room 4 which is on the small size but sufficient for our needs with comfortable bed, good shower and enough storage space. We had dinners and breakfast provided and the standard of food was exceptional. We also had packed lunches made for us by the chef twice, also very good. The real fires and comfortable seating areas made for very relaxing evenings and the honesty bar is a nice touch too. We stayed for 3 nights but could easily have stayed longer. The drive to Royal Natal takes just under an hour where there are lovely walks to be done. Thanks for the warm welcome and for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Room 4 was small but functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
1.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
254 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
495 reviews
5.6 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#1 of 13 in Bergville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Address: Scheepersrus Farm | Bergville District Okhahlamba, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakenberg Mountain Retreat is a stunning destination in the northern Drakensberg with breathtaking views. Accommodation at the Lodge is fully catered for breakfast and Dinner. Lunch can be ordered and can be enjoyed on the patio or a picnic basket for your walk in the mountains. The rooms range in quality and size so chat to the management if you want something specific. There are 2 luxurious rooms for romantic couples wanting a totally private retreat. Our pet friendly rooms have enclosed gardens and our large family rooms are wonderful for relaxing with the kids. There are no fixed entertainment activities for the kids. There are marked hiking trails for the fit and not so fit. Enjoy the streams, rivers and just be captured by the quiet of nature. Bring some board games for kids and some of their books from home. Useful on rainy days. The Lodge is set high on a ridge overlooking the northern Drakensberg, the Maluti mountains and most of the central Drakensberg. A wonderful base from which to experience what this part of the Drakensberg has in store for you. The BARNHOUSE is our Self Catering option on the same premises. It offers accommodation for groups and conferences. Enjoy the "homely" atmosphere and caring hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drakensberg Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing