We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. It was our starting point for Royal Natal National Park. We loved this place. It was quite, the rooms were lovely, a combination of old farmer cottages and new modern furniture. As we love dogs it was lovely as there were three of them. The breakfast was awesome and because of the coffee mashine the offered the best coffee of whole South Africa. You can also have dinner at Dalmore Farm and it was also very delicious. But next time we will stay longer at this place! I can really recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stopped over at this very pleasant guest farm in the Bergville area in South Africa.The farm is a working farm with great accommodation and food at a very competitive price.We would thoroughly recommend it for one night or even longer stays.

To nit pick the only slightly negative comment in the room I used was the duvet was a size too small for the bed and the shower nozzle was about three meters above the shower stall floor, meaning that the water went everywhere except where it should have.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quite different and include some self-catering options as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelDCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A wonderful, somewhat rustic, guest house on a peaceful working farm and Pippa and Andrew were the perfect hosts.
The dinner and breakfast met all expectations and were delicious.
Really a great find compared to numerous B&B's we stay in each year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 1 night at this great home.Pippa and Andrew are 2 wonderful people who went out of their way to help us after we had an small accident near the dam.(BTW our car was a write off!!!!!)The room was squeaky clean and the service 5 star.We enjoyed the calm nature of the farm and loved watching the many sheep who where just outside our window,The evening atmosphere is something to cherish as we sat around the fire and chatted to many new friends.We will definately go back again if we have an opportunity.The large bathroom was clean with nice clean towels I felt that I was in my own home.So comfortable and alive Thank you so much for everything GOD BLESS !! John and Sharan UAE

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Thanks to Pippa for the wonderful place to stay. This place is perfect for a quiet night when you are almost at the end of your trip. And a great place so close to the Drakensberg Mountains - the central and northern areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_and_Lesley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We couldn't wait to go back to Dalmore after a lovely 3 days there in late Dec '11. It didn't disappoint--this time we stayed in a beautiful stone self-catering cottage with lovely living area/kitchen (double volume) and spacious bathroom. There is a huge loft area upstairs for the bedroom which easily accommodated an extra bed for our son of 7.
The bed and linen were wonderful as was the space and beautiful outlook.
Best of all at Dalmore is the warm personal attention that is so freely and generously given by owners Pippa & Andrew Blackburn. It truly is home from home!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRACKA3762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our nicest stay during a two week tour of KwaZulu-Natal. Pippa and her husband Andrew made us very welcome on this immaculate farm and our rustic room was a delight. So was dinner, beautifully cooked and shared with Pippa and her family and friends. It was a lovely evening and we were sorry we had not booked to stay longer. They do not ask for a deposit, which is unusual in South Africa, and the whole experience of living with a family on a farm was truly memorable.

Room Tip: Talk to Pippa on the phone and ask for Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAJDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
23.4 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
27.7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
18.3 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
25.8 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmore Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmore Farm Guest House

Property: Dalmore Farm Guest House
Address: Dalmore Farm, Bergville, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dalmore Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing