We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hampton consistency.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Watertown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Watertown
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Hampton consistency.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for ourselves and visitors from the UK night of September 14th. Always stay at Hampton when we can, as we can usually count on its consistency and good value. Watertown was no exception. Staff were friendly and efficient; rooms were large, clean and well equipped; breakfast was included and had a good variety of both cold and hot items. Will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankerboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    159
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
212
209
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for a "back to school girls getaway" to do some shopping and it was excellent! Very clean, nice spacious rooms, excellent complimentary breakfast (couldn't believe the variety of items!!) Close to all shopping and restaurants. Fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel offers a good place to stay for the price and is centrally located with-in walking distance to shopping and eating. The staff is helpful a friendly. The complimentary free breakfast suffered from a lack of utensils and I found if you go towards the end of the allotted time the food quality suffered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Earlier in our trip we had a less than stellar experience at an old Mom and Pop motel in Lewiston, NY. Faced with the same uncertainty in Clayton, NY we decided to drive somewhat out of our way to stay here and were not disappointed with the consistent quality of a Hampton Inn. Great place to stay and the included breakfast is always welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I hate to be so obviously shallow but we stayed at the Hampton Inn because of tripadvisor putting them first in Watertown...and the breakfast buffet...we are suckers for breakfast gluttony that doesn't involve "continental" cop outs (a limp croissant and a juice box? no thanks).

The breakfast buffet was just fine. It wasn't blow-yer-socks-off-and-tweet-about-it amazing but it was just fine. It may have even merited a close up of the waffle maker overflowing with an instagram "#oopsie #toofull #getinmybelly #yumyumyum but then I would have to kill myself.

We were there for cross border Back to School shopping and we got that. We were in a Target that was roughly the size of 17 football pitches and they had everything. The Salmon Run Mall was cool too.

I mean cool in that it had a Hollister (because we like to look at tiny clothes in the dark with club music pumping) and an independent skater type store (where we were shamed into buying those socks that don't show over Vans by a man with "1938 Circus Freak level 8" tattoos)....So a good mix.

The Hampton Inn was a nice hotel located among many other nice hotels but with incredibly comfortable beds and a coffee maker in the bathroom. I don't know where else it should go but it is weird that it's in the bathroom.

But that is not their schtick. The thing that they chose to tout to guests, the thing that puts them higher than every other highway sign on a spindle is that they WASH THEIR BEDDING.

This is their thing.

I am glad this is their thing. I worked in a hotel before and I can actually vouch for the fact that most/all hotels and motels do not regularly wash that mottled multicoloured threadbare bedspread and those weird plastic fuzzy blankets you suspect one flame would reduce to a hockey puck. Washing sheets is commonplace but bedspreads not so much. The Hampton Inn has taken the duvet leap and along with it they have made a commitment to blessed hygiene.

However I am a bit weirded out by the fake post-it notes saying they cleaned your sheets and the toddler on the poster in the elevator urging you to sleep naked.

I am sure this was a marketing meeting gone awry. I think the ad agency team sat around a polished mahogany effect boardroom table and couldn't come up with a different age of a child to urge to sleep commando in order to prove the sheets were all lovely and clean without raising eyebrows let alone alarm bells. Obviously you don't want a picture of a naked man or woman because that would make an already uncomfortable elevator ride really weird for their business clientele. But how do you prove that point? A giggling toddler! Yay!

So the thing is most toddlers are not toilet trained and I think sleeping naked without even a Buzz Lightyear Pull-up is at least ill-advised...Also I do not want to be the next person in that bed. Especially if they have been enjoying the Salmon Run Mall food court.

Apart from that arbitrary oddness it was all very good and I especially liked the cleaners and front desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W00na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel staff at the Hampton Watertown. They were all very helpful and friendly. They made every effort to make me feel at home during my long stay. There was one lady who worked on the 4th floor, had dark hair and looked to be in her 30's who did a fantastic job cleaning the rooms. The hotel is centrally located with a mall, movies, and plenty of restaurants less than 5 minute drive or 10 minute walk. It is also located approximately 17 minutes from Fort Drum. Overall I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay there again. I would rate it 4 3/4 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent two nights at the Hampton Inn Watertown in room 425 and was very happy with the hotel. I found the hotel to be surprisingly quiet; I never heard other guests from my room! Our room was very clean (though I did think their campaign to brag about how every guest got clean sheets was a little odd - signs in the elevator and even a post it on our headboard!) and it was nice to get shampoo *and* conditioner for a change! There is a few breakfast - fresh fruit, oatmeal, toast, waffle iron, something hot (such as a container of scrambled eggs and a container of sausage patties), and some other standard continental breakfast fare. Staff was all very nice and I'd happily stay here again.

If you enjoy chain restaurants (Denny's, Bob Evans, Texas Roadhouse, Olive Garden), you're in luck - the hotel is surrounded by these and is close to a mall if you are interested in a movie or some shopping.

My absolute only complaint is that the hotel uses one of those "green" air conditioning systems - I'm convinced they don't work. We missed the white noise and didn't feel that it ever got down to the temperature we set it to (settling at a much higher number to be "energy efficient"). I'd definitely stay here again, I just may bring a fan with me if we were driving (or, if it were a longer stay, I would've bought one from Walmart/Target).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshin3daydr3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.1 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Watertown

Property: Hampton Inn Watertown
Address: 155 Commerce Park Dr, Watertown, NY 13601-2245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#3 Business Hotel in Watertown
#3 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Watertown Hotel Watertown
Watertown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing