We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Shore, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We always stay.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We love staying @ the Holiday Inn Express. Never had any complaints. Located right off the thruway. Staff is always helpful. Free breakfast, nice indoor pool. Need a break after a long day, stop next door at Buffalo wild wings have a drink. Theres also a Ruby Tuesday in the same lot.
Make reservations well in advance this hotel seems to book up pretty fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    135
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
133
129
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous from the minute you walk in the door! Staff is friendly, helpful and gracious. The breakfast bar was delicious, lots to pick from and very clean. Our room was large, clean and even smelled new. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary. We traveled from GA to Canada and stayed at several locations and this was one of the nicest!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Valley
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this hotel two times in the last two years. We travel to Syracuse and Watertown for shopping trips every few months. Sometimes we stay overnight and one trip was for a Black Friday weekend. It seems to be neither old nor new, but well kept, as most Holiday Inn hotels are. The suites are well worth the few extra dollars for the extra space with a couch and a second TV. This hotel has a nice indoor pool and includes breakfast. The staff is always quite friendly and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofloridafromtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this property on the second night of our Adirondak motorcycle tour. The property is located in a newer commercial area with several other hotels, and many "chain" restaurants within an easy walk including a Ponderosa, Wild Wings, Ruby Tuesdays, etc. Very convienient if your dining expectaions aren't too high and you don't feel like driving.

When we checked in, and the call for rain overnight, they were kind enough to let us leave our motorcycles under the awning by the front door, meaning we could remain dry when we packed the bikes in the morning.

The hotel itself is what I would decribe as a "cookie cutter" newer Holiday Inn Express; clean and efficient, but nothing that sets it apart from other similar hotels (Hampton or Fairfield Inns for example). The room was fine, clean and reletively spacious; everything worked well, the beds were comfortable, etc.

The only complaints I have is how loud the AC unit was; also, our room was at the back of the hotel facing the Interstate, and there was some highway noise, but nothing too bad.

There is really nothing to put this hotel ahead of so many others, but at least you know what to expect, and there is nothing wrong with that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our location satisfactory enough for your needs and our room accommodations also suited you well . I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioning. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, many thanks for your review and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Watertown.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went for a long weekend and had an exceptional stay. For the price they went beyond minimum with extra's like make up remover pads, shoe mitt, ear plugs (helpful if you are on the highway side), refrigerator, microwave, and coffee and tea and free ice cream Sun to Thurs. The rooms were extremely clean and I complimented the staff I had Luann. Breakfast was kept well stocked the whole time. Fresh fruit as well as hot cakes and granola which is rare in a Holiday Inn Express level hotel. The rooms were very large as well as the bath. It was a little bit of a drive to Alexandria Bay but no more than 40 minutes and closer to Sackets Harbor. I highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper as for a room away from highway and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for a week to visit the 1000 Islands area. Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was clean,comfortable and bright and airy. The breakfast had something for everyone, I especially enjoyed the pancakes from the cute little pancake machine. The ice cream in the afternoons on weekdays was a good touch as it was 90 outside. They were all good quality and so nice. The staff were friendly and happy to give advice about the area. The hotel was right next to places to eat, some good and a couple did not seem so nice. I would return again to this hotel with no hesitation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are delighted that your stay was made so enjoyable by our staff and the special amenities we have decided to offer our guests such as ice cream in the summer and hot soup in the Fall, Winter and Spring. The staff loves to provide our guests with the best information possible about the area to enhance your stay. They have fun doing it! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel easily 10 times, it's always been a great experience. You're not going to get anything over the top or spectacular but you can be sure that what they do offer is done extremely well. The rooms are clean, well cared for and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Even after ten stays, we are doing things right. We are pleased that you are not only satisfied but loyal. Your choice to return time and again is the supreme compliment. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
941 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Address: 1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601-2294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Watertown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#4 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Watertown, New York is where great experiences begin at the gateway to the 1000 Islands. We are in the heart of the Watertown, NY shopping district and located near exit 45 just off of I-81. The area's finest attractions, including Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor and the St. Lawrence River, many local businesses & Fort Drum are just minutes away. Our plaza includes Ruby Tuesdays, Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Ponderosa, Chipotle, Five Guys, Moe's, Cold Stone Creamery, Planet Fitness, Dollar General and a liquor store. Stay Smart with free wireless & wired high speed internet access, free local phone calls, High Def TV & a guest business center. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast that includes hot items daily including pancakes and as always our signature cinnamon rolls. If you're on the run, pre-order a breakfast-to-go bag. Our Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee is available 24 hours in our Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-1000 Islands
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing