We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gyro's”

The Apollo Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 148 Restaurants in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Gyro's”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have eaten here a few times now and the food is consistantly great. I usually get the traditional gyro but just tried the 100% lamb gyro and I was quite impressed with the flavor. The food always taste fresh and is promptly served after it was prepared. I usually get the sweet potato fries as well and have not been disappointed. I just tried the falafel and it was quite tasty. I am surprised this place is not ranked higher in the Watertown area and my only guess is that the location at the end of a strip mall diminises the real quality of this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewJPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wade, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good food...I had the moussaka for my dinner and baklava for dessert. Pretty tasty. Small eating area and fills up fast. The staff was attentive and everyone seemed satisfied with their selection. I am not a connoisseur of Greek food, but I would eat there again. You should give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank RJ_Zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have never been to an authentic Greek Restaurant before and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food tasted! Not that I think Greek food would be bad, but I don't like feta cheese and unfortunately that is almost on all their dishes. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone! My husband and I will definitely be back :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenn45785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great value”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My first visit back to the Apollo after moving back into town. The menu has been Improved, offering a range of choices for gyros and platters. Prices are excellent; the night we went, they offered an all-you-can eat gyro special for $10.95. They offer a IDE range do desserts, have beer and wine, and there's always great and quick service. Dinner for two came to $20 for us. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not so much.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Came here because it's the only Greek restaurant around. Ordered traditional gyro w/fries, chicken gyro w/feta fries, chicken tenders w/fries, Greek burger w/fries and 4 drinks. Spent about $50. Food was bland. Tzatziki sauce was as well. I may come again for the all u can eat pancakes. Guess I'll have to stick to homemade gyros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMDubII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apollo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Apollo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing