We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It actually stinks”

Roswell P. Flower Memorial Library
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It actually stinks”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The smell of old smacks you in the face when you walk in. Please allow me to qualify my remark with the fact that I grew up on a farm and am pretty tolerant of, well-smells. The smell (and the noise) made it difficult for me to work or study there. The place presents a run down appearance, with antiquated technology and old books. A public library could be a source of pride in a city. Watertown has got a lot of work to do to get there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MohicanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Flower Memorial Library”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The library was built by money donated by Roswell P. Flower, a governor of New York State. Beautifully redone in the past 5 years. Special place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superior Library”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Flower Memorial Library is a must stop visit when in Watertown NY. The marble, architecture, furnishings and paintings are awesome. The library also has a great genealogy department plus any other department you would expect in a library. If help is needed, all employees and volunteers are very helpful and friendly. I visit on a regular basis.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great place to research local Genealogy”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I traveled to Jefferson County with 2 other distant cousins to research our family history. The Flower Library has a large room with many books on local and regional families, as well as quite a few books on other areas as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“small town library”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not a bad little library. It was a good place to plop down with my laptop and catch some wifi while trying to find a house up this way. People were kind of loud and some were obnoxious, but it wasn't terrible

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roswell P. Flower Memorial Library also viewed

 

Been to Roswell P. Flower Memorial Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing