We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our expectations”

New York State Zoo at Thompson Park
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Watertown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Thompson Park Zoo prides itself as being the only zoo in the world to exhibit species native to New York State. Abundant, threatened or endangered animals, including wolverines, black bears, eagles, mountain lions, Canada lynx, grey wolves, and more make their home at our 32-acre Zoo.
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Met our expectations”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went to this zoo with low expectations from reading previous reviews & knowing it is made up of local animals. Therefore, we were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to see 99% of the animals. Couldn't see the wolves in the enclosure, but we got to see all the other animals. The Butterfly Garden needs a lot of work. They could use better signs to show you which direction to take as some areas branch off. Overall, I would say if you were bored & looking for something to do, then a nice stroll in the Zoo would be a good way to spend a couple of hours. Actually, out of the 3 attractions we decided to see in Watertown, the Zoo was the best one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    52
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby, OH
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I knew the zoo was made up of local animals, so I had low expectations. It still fell short. Many of the exhibits are empty -- as mentioned below, the bear died. Don't know what happened to the wolverine. The butterfly house was locked (no volunteer available). The highlight was the lynx with 4 cubs -- fun to watch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and lots to to see”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we went there last summer, it was nice and lots to see. my kids were so happy and had blast trip ever........

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Watertown trip!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a small zoo, but charming! It specializes in North American animals, so the highlights are such animals as black bear, wolverine, wolves, otters, moutain lion, lynx and bobcat. We really enjoyed walking around the zoo and the surroundings. The zoo is placed inside a larger park which has great picnic areas, an outdoor pool and a great playstructure. So in the summer it would be a great place to spend the entire day. We visited the park without children and in April, so we only did the zoo, and it can be easily done in 2 hours.
All of the animals seemed in excellent condition, and the cages were nicely vegetated. Though the enclosures are not on a par with some of the bigger city zoos, there were no enclosures which seemed too small or lacking in appropriate fixtures for the animals.
We asked some questions of a few zoo keepers, and we found them friendly, informative and very willing to give us their time. All in all, we felt that the zoo was the highlight of our trip to Watertown.
Note that after 4:30, some of the animals may be inside and you may not see them. However, many of the animals become very excited and active after 4:00 when feeding time is approaching, so it is worth coming just before 4:00! We were amused by the way that the wolves clearly knew the difference between zoo keeper trucks and were keeping their eye on one particular truck and zoo keeper!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Small zoo but worth the visit”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were here in March, so some of the exhibits were being fixed up or were closed but the kids enjoyed our visit anyway. It's a small zoo, only takes an hour or two to visit, but has some interesting animals including lynx, wolves, bison, etc. It's located in Thompson Park which is very beautiful, if the weather had cooperated we would have stayed longer to visit the park as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cdntravel_lovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York State Zoo at Thompson Park also viewed

 

Been to New York State Zoo at Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing