We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay in this motel”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Reviewed July 16, 2011

terrible ,dirty ,old motel with vry old facilities

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bora_bora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

My band stayed here one night awhile back when we were on tour. All of the other motels/hotels were booked so we drove around and found this one. When we pulled in, I noticed a small tree growing in what used to be a swimming pool. As soon as I stepped into my room, the smile was wiped off my face. There was a cockroach in the tub, the TV was broken and found a pair of brown underpants in one of the beds. We did have quite a friendly welcome from the guy working at the desk though! It does beat sleeping in a car with a bunch of smelly dudes, but not by much.

Probably one of the most miserable yet most hilarious nights on the tour.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank skyfire322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The entry into the room is about 12 inches high , hard to get in, The mirror in bathroom is to high could not see oneself. Water temperature was extremely hot. Curtains are frayed and very old. stained walls in bathroom. Overpowering smell when entering room of potpourri. Windows old and not secure and hard to open and close. However , the bed was very comfortable and clean towels daily.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trinketkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

You will be very, very sorry. I do mean sorry!!!!!!!! If for some reason you do bring Bug Spray. Tape for cracks in windows and doors and noseplugs for the smell and that is just the tip of the iceburg. PLEASE DO NOT DO IT!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wrestdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Probably the grossest place I've ever stayed at - and we are budget travelers. Where to begin - The stairs going up were treacherous. The room was tiny and very, very shabby, there was an ashtray in a nonsmoking room, cigarette burns on the disgusting looking chair, old, yucky curtains that barely closed, and gross, ancient upholstery. It was filthy under the microwave (not that we dared to eat there). The sheet DID NOT EVEN COVER THE WHOLE (old, gross mattress) BED! When we went down to ask for another sheet, the proprietor didn't want to give us one, saying that "it was a full-size sheet on a king-size bed" as if that explained it! We did not see any bugs, but from what I've read about bedbugs, if they were anywhere, they'd be there. But thank goodness we only encountered flies. We didn't dare to shower, and got up early and high-tailed it out of there. I'm still recovering.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SusieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

It was stinking, old, the carpets and curtins were there since the 60's. The tiles on the ceiling were stained and leaking, towels were yellow and stained, would not dare get a shower. Got up in the morning to a large puddle of water on the bathroom floor. No security, the windows don't lock. The only thing that kept me from sleeping in the truck was I had kids with me, and just spent 2 hrs or more looking for a hotel from an 8 hour run so it was like 11pm and all the hotel in watertown were booked solid. The only thing good abour this hotel was a comfortable bed and fresh smelling sheets.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Labwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
721 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
356 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
4.2 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#9 of 14 in Watertown
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 24480 State Route 12, Watertown, NY 13601-5012
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: $51 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing