We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent Staff Service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everyone on hotel staff was beyond helpful for my stay, everyone was friendly, even beyond the front desk. Angela, Gina, and Chris Hess are excellent employees at this location and they are front desk people. They went above and beyond in helping with the business needs of my stay. Patrick Kitson Robinson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Patrick, Thank you for writing such a great review about our staff. I have shared your review with them so that they know the importance of what they do and the difference that it makes to our guests. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    247
    128
    58
    51
See reviews for
225
245
39
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Convenient to everything downtown within walking distance. One may need a car if they want to visit the larger stores on Arsenal Street and see sites around the area. Ask for one of the updated rooms ... others are okay but doors have not been replaced. Room is very secure ... door just sticks. For some reason, the breakfast has not improved in the 20-plus years I have stayed here. Just Okay. For another oddity:" The Savory Restaurant located within does not handle the AM breakfast???!! The very good news that there is now a complimentary shuttle to and from the Watertown Airport. With the Fairfield Inn having just opened on Arsenal Street, this BW is going to get some competition; although with its location, brand loyalty, and its use by flight crews and the Fort Drum family, I doubt it will suffer too m uch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MikeyPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoy staying at our downtown location. I am sorry you had issues with your door sticking and that our breakfast is not to your liking. We have added and substituted items that our guests have suggested and would be happy to hear any input you have. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Watertown and thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and Best Western.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a reservation at this hotel for a wedding taking place at 4. Issue at check-in with rude attendant at the front desk. Only 30 min to get ready for the wedding since they did not get my room ready in time as promised. Room condition sparsely appointed in a suite with one warn and dirty chair. Baseboard was missing and had been taken off as if they were renovating the room but obviously had not fully renovated it. Bathroom small. Only one hand towel. What I am supposed to do with that. They promised more towels and never brought them to the room...Not surprised...

TV in poor at best condition.

No blankets and only 4 pillows for a king sized bed.

The best part of the entire trip was leaving this disaster.

The wedding rate was higher than the internet rate.

Room Tip: Not possible at this hotel stay awasy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2197050046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guest experience positive and I apologize that we let you down. We are in the process of finishing the baseboards in our guest rooms but unfortunately have not completed all rooms. I would also like to apologize that the staff did not bring the towels that your room needed. The front desk should have been able to provide towels, extra pillows, and blankets upon request. I'm sorry if they did not do so. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your experience with us so that I can offer compensation for your stay. Please contact me at 315-782-8000.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here in 2011 and camback for an over night and we got the same great service. When i got there the front desk said I hope you have a reservation because we are sold out!!! This hotel is doing something right!!

The room was clean and comfy, the breakfast on Sunday was buffet and filling!!

Chris in the morning was very nice and the checkout was quick. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_dufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you had an "Awesome" experience and found our property clean and our staff accommodating. I hope it isn't another two years before you can be our guests again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very clean and modern accommodations. Late check in due to some staff problems but offered us a complimentary drink at the bar. Also free upgrade to King bed as double room not ready. Only problem was wi fi didn't work until next morning so used the lobby computer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am glad that you found our hotel clean and that our staff was able to make the issue of waiting for your room less inconvenient with a drink and an upgrade. Thank you for your understanding with our staffing issues on the day you arrived. We hope to see you again soon.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is my second review in a few months. There were three of us on this stay, so two double beds were booked. Double beds are small when shared by two people and the bed was saggy in two places. On a positive note, the service was excellent and the room was cleaned promptly each day.

The breakfast is still only okay by my standards, and could be much better. Offer high fiber cereals, make a crock of oats vs an instant package, provide hard boiled eggs for those who don't want a fabricated egg patty; and add some fresh artisan whole grain bread.

The buffet dinner for our large family gathering was excellent. The food was delicious and service was great.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123 as it is close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am glad that you found our service excellent and that your room was well taken care of while you were with us. I apologize that the beds in your room were not up to standards. We are working on replacing any mattresses that may be past their prime. We try to offer a variety of cereals at breakfast with our raisin bran, gluten free rice chex and 2 kids cereals. Any alternatives to our bran cereal would be welcome. Please let me know if I can be of service during your fanilies next get together.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall an older hotel but very central, walking distance to the centre square. 10 minutes from highway and shopping mall. Pool was clean in door with beautiful solarium area. The kids thoroughly enjoyed it. The pool was 3-5 feet deep. The room was good with microwave and fridge. Breakfast was included, although the reviews rated it difficult to get food and ver busy, that was not our experience. The food was nice, free movie rental at the front desk. Would def come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am gald that you found our location convenient and that you were able to take advantage of and enjoy the many amenities that we offer our guests. We look forward to having you as our guests on your next trip to the States.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Watertown Fort Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Watertown Fort Drum

Property: Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Address: 300 Washington St, Watertown, NY 13601-3734 (Formerly Best Western Carriage House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Watertown Fort Drum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Watertown Fort Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carriage House Hotel Watertown
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Watertown
Watertown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing