We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a great front desk staff, but hotel showing age a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hotel with a great front desk staff, but hotel showing age a bit”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is an older hotel, situated ideally downtown away from the big box stores and hub bub of Interstate on and off. Having said that, being downtown here is like being in a small town ( its not) because of its proximity to the beautiful downtown square with historic statues and fountain and the refurbished downtown stores in the old building. Back to the hotel, upon arrival, I was very impressed with the front desk staff who were happy, friendly and very accommodating. The welcome package of snacks for "BW rewards members" was a nice touch. We had a room on the first floor and it was pretty much a standard BW room. Two double beds with pillow top mattresses and three small pillows on each bed. ( I have a problem with these and would prefer two standard pillows instead. Checked at front desk and they didn't have any of them to swap). The room was a good size and the bath room was small and "seating" was compact but not a problem. The room had full amenities and was clean and bright, but the curtains and wall coverings were showing age. TV was updated and large.

Didn't check out the indoor pool, but I did imbibe in the downstairs lounge and enjoyed a nice "happy hour" 4-6 I think and $5.00 appetizers (the mozzarella sticks were great)

Breakfast was complimentary and the breakfast room was very large with lots of seating (in what I believe was the hotel ballroom). The breakfast was good with a nice selection of breakfast items.

Overall, not one of the new modular hotels by the interstate, but not a bad place to stay and I would recommend it for an overnighter.

Room Tip: there are three floors here, so if you have a lot of stuff, request a first floor room. By the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnDremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are currently working with Best Western to make some renovations to our guest rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. For a bit of history, this room is the actual carriage house for the orginal home that stood where the hotel does now. Our downtown area has several quaint shops and restaurants that most people visiting our area miss because they are more interested in the mall and chain stores. It's great that you had a chance to explore out town a little. We hope to see you on your next trip to Watertown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    249
    133
    58
    55
See reviews for
229
253
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Upon arrival we were given a room on the first floor. Got to the room and saw how tiny the washroom was. I am a larger person and realized that we had an issue. Went to the front desk and mentioned about the size of the washroom, and they were very apologetic. The changed our room to a different wing, and when we went the new room we were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded to a two room suite at no extra charge.The room was very clean and comfortable and we would definitely stay when we return to Watertown. The breakfast buffet was also very good with lots to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magilla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that our staff took good care of you while you were with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiarton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were given room 140A which is very spacious but has a very tiny bathroom!The toilet seat is archaic!The breakfast was passable.I have had much better breakfasts at other places.There were flies around the food.The staff were OK.The internet is not secure.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliphant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the size of the bathroom. We are looking into ways to improve our bathrooms with out having to knock down walls. Our third floor rooms have a better bathroom set up if you happen to stay with us in the future. We are also working on the issues you mentioned with our breakfast. Again I apologize that we were not able to make your stay exceptional, but hope that we can make it up to you on a future visit.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As a couple we stayed at this hotel...They give us Lower level room which has dogs stay there and they have elevator door is open making huge noise, couldnt able sleep well.. I tryed to book from different hotel or change my room it was already booked...room is disgusting, there are dead bloody bugs on the walls..carpet is nasty and smelly, A/C make noise, Breakfast also not great there was fly in the cream that you put in the waffle...I suggest dont be sorry, book somewhere else it will be little expensive at least you wont worry about your stay.

Room Tip: First come first serve, so if you go (Which I dont recomend) check your room. Then ask another if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for letting me know about the problems that you experienced during your recent stay with us. I'm sure our breakfast attendants would have changed out the whipped cream on the buffet if they were aware of the fly. I also apologize that you were put in our pet section and we were not able to move you right away. I was here on Sunday and recall our front desk agent moving you to the first available room we had on an upper floor as well as a $25 Best Western gift card. My understanding was that this was acceptable at the time. I certainly apologize if it was not because we would have done whatever was needed to make sure you were comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were looking for a hotel for one night and this hotel was the first we saw. I am glade that we stayed here. The stafff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean but the bathroom was very small, but clean. Delicious hot breakfast including eggs, sausage, bacon, whaffles, toast, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 731mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review you wrote about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly. This is exactly the impression we want to leave our guests with. We hope to see you on your next visit to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really like coming to this hotel. This is our 3rd visit.
Staff is friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to be of great service.
Breakfast room is superb, a ballroom-type room with high ceilings and lots of atmosphere. Delicious hot breakfast including eggs, sausage, pancakes. Place was very clean. Pets are welcome here. Free movies at the front desk (CDs). Will come again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbirdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased that you consider us one of the best hotel in Watertown. I'm glad that you are able to enjoy all of the amenities that we offer and that our staff always makes your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed here over the weekend as we were in town for a wedding. The only problem we had was there wasn't a clean room available when we checked in at 7pm but the front desk clerk did everything he could to get us one quickly, other than that we had no problems. The reception was held in one of the rooms downstairs and everything went great, the food was excellent that was provided by the hotel. The bar attached to the hotel (Savory Downtown) was terrific, Aaron the bartender was great fun and they had live music both Friday and Saturday night. Would definitely stay here again if in town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HopeSelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at Best Western Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent reveiw for our property. I do apologize for us not having a room ready when you arrived, but am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a timely manner. I am glad that you enjoyed the reception and our bar. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
924 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
1.5 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Watertown Fort Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Watertown Fort Drum

Property: Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Address: 300 Washington St, Watertown, NY 13601-3734 (Formerly Best Western Carriage House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Watertown Fort Drum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Watertown Fort Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carriage House Hotel Watertown
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Watertown
Watertown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing