We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of The Inn at 81

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at 81
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights over the Labour Day weekend and found this non-smoking, pet friendly hotel to be clean, reasonably priced, and had a good free breakfast and high speed internet. This location was convenient as we could walk to many restaurants and stores within a quarter of a mile. Only negative was the smokers standing or sitting right outside the door so you had to walk through them and pickup the smell on your clothes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
we are glad you had a good stay and are very sorry for that inconvenient experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
51
98
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

reasonable rates, friendly staff,clean rooms, it's right in the middle of the shopping hub. They have a very nice pool. There free breakfast is good. When your there you have to try the Texas Steak House it's very good. I would return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butchlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Formerly America's Best Value, the "$79 special" was the incentive to try out this "newer" Quality Inn. Great room, well equipped. Front desk attendant was super nice. Lots of shopping available close by. About 2 miles from downtown. Donuts, juice, coffee available 24 hours. Breakfast featured scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi sycha,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. The hotel staff is happy to hear that your visit was convenient to you. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I just finished a series of flights from Kodiak, AK to Watertown, NY, arriving late in the evening. We decided to forgo the drive to our home in Kingston and just spend the night in Watertown. Chose the hotel for its price and proximity to 81 and shopping. We booked a king suite with the whirlpool tub. For an extra $20 ($107+ tax with AAA on Choice's site), why not? The room was clean and newly refinished. I expected a regular sized bathtub in the bathroom, just with some jets. Instead, we enjoyed a sizable heart-shaped (but not tacky red or anything) whirlpool tub in the main part of the room. After our flights, the tub was a relaxing and romantic way to unwind.

But the most notable part of the visit was the service. Priscilla was very welcoming, explaining to us about the timing for the breakfast and about the all day coffee, juice and donuts. We had a special requests that required Priscilla and Anne to go out of their way to satisfy. They both were quick to decide that they would help us out and took the time to make sure that we were looked after. They could have simply said no, as it would have been easier for them and we would have understood, but they went above and beyond. Thanks to Priscilla and Anne!

We will be sure to recommend this hotel to our friends who often come to Watertown from Kingston for flights and shopping.

Room Tip: If traveling with your romantic partner, be sure to spend the extra little bit and get the whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretenderfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi,

We appreciate you recognizing our wonderful staff. Thank you for your great review. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

What more can be said:

Rooms great, staff fantastic nothing is too much trouble, great value (phone them direct !!), breakfast great.

This hotel has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

I thought the hotel was even better than last year and that takes some doing - well done to the desk staff, management and everyone....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Daveh001,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! The staff at Quality Inn & Suites is very happy to hear how much a pleasure your stay was. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We reserved our room via the Choice Hotels website and got a good rate (Around $90, I think.) When we arrived we noticed their sign advertised a $79 special and the desk clerk informed us that she would be able to give us that rate since we had booked via Choice Hotels. Nice! This is an older facility, but well maintained and clean. The staff was very helpful and efficient and the guest laundry facilities were adequate and not too expensive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St0neAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi St0neAge,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear our staff was accommodating and comfortable to you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I felt safe. I loved that the hotel has kept some nostalgic items in the rooms like the old Kleenex dispenser from the 1970s and the shower faucet handles (they look clean and work perfectly fine). The best part was the retro noise-free phone booth in the lobby. I used it and it works so well! Free breakfast. Amazingly helpful and super friendly staff. Even though, the hotel was a little dated, that did not bother me a bit. It had everything I needed with spacious rooms and FREE WIFI. I will stay here again. The hospitality was superb.

Room Tip: Enjoy the nostalgia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiffygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Jiffygal,

Thank you for your review, We are so pleased to read how enjoyable your stay was with us. The hotel staff always appreciates wonderful feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 81

Property: The Inn at 81
Address: 1190 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2212 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at 81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at 81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing