We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated and extra clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at 81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at 81
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Saint Georges, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well situated and extra clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is close to the I 81 in Watertown and at walking distance from most of the restaurants; attendant was very helpful and informative. Rooms are very clean and we had a very pleasant stay. Price is also acceptable for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 846Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Happy to know you had a decent stay and we thank you for your review. we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
37
89
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here last week on our way back from Florida. We had previously stayed here last July when it was under the Americas Best Value Inn banner. It seemed to be the same as then...Quality Inn only took over mid February...the only thing changed was the sign. We had a nice non smoking room near the middle entrance. It was clean and the bed comfy but yes there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke. Breakfast was good, we were the only ones eating at that time..it was much busier when we went to check out. Would recommend it if you want value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mas151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
we apologize for the odor as we are a non smoking hotel. the hotel is glad to know you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Let me just say, this might be our first review but we have stayed in many hotels across the country. Former Air Force, traveling with pets - we know what we are talking about! We were traveling with our dog - in the area visiting family, mid-week. We picked this location because they were only 1 out 4 Watertown area hotels that were pet friendly and they had the most reasonable pet fee ($15.00) The lobby area was impressive and the desk clerk was very polite and friendly - we had great hopes for our first stay. The hotel was not at all full but they placed all of the guests in the same area towards the backside of the hotel - which we found odd. The walls are paper thin. You can hear people coughing, sound from the tv's, dogs barking etc. Our room was clean and we were pleased to find a microfridge and microwave. However, we were appalled to find the non-smoking room we requested reeked of cigarette smoke. We are non-smokers. It was a chilly night and when the heater would blow the nasty smoke smell would too. We called the front desk clerk straight away to remedy the situation. She came to our room and verified it did smell like cigarette smoke and she apologized for the smell, that maintenance had supposedly cleaned the carpet and had authorized her to put the room back in service and she offered to switch our room. BUT, out of ALL those empty rooms, she said their was only 1 other room available for us...but that room STUNK just as badly! We opted to stay were we were and she kindly brought us a bottle of the hotel's "febreeze" to use. We ended up shutting off our heater around midnight to keep the odor down. We had a pretty restless night of sleep and when we went to check out with the Assistant Manager the next morning, she could have cared less about the issue and was only willing to comp us 10% off our stay which doesn't even cover the pet fee. Our dog smells better than that room and for a hundred bucks a night, I expect a non-smoking room when I ask for one. I'm pretty certain the Quality Inn only invested in a revamped lobby and completely neglected updating the former America's Best Value rooms! Our suggestion, when you pull into the hotel lobby, look over the treetops, put your car in reverse and head over to the competitor behind them (they are also pet friendly, just a bit more!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
we apologize for the experience you had with us and hope your next stay in Watertown would be satisfactory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nobody seems to have mentioned this now operates as a Quality Inn & Suites.

Was just OK. Expected more from the reviews.

Room was small and worn but clean. Bed comfortable but a blanket would have been nice. TV was 1980’s vintage but worked OK.

Breakfast was just OK. Standard waffle good, eggs and sausage, not so much.

Hotel seemed near empty but we were shunted to a room way in the back., where it seems they're smaller and lacking any ‘newly renovated’ feel. Not sure why. Maybe I should have remembered to give them my Choice Privileges card number.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
we apologize for the inconvenience and hope your next stay in Watertown would be better. thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff are friendly & courteous. The breakfast is good. The rooms are pretty clean and its quiet. We stay twice a year and would recommend it. It was recommended to us as well.
If you're going cross border shopping in Watertown this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are very pleased to hear how great your stay was and look forward to seeing you during your future travels. thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent one night at the Inn and enjoyed it, The room was very comfortable and the continental was delicious. The staff were very accommodating. Thank You, would definitely stay again.We had a wonderful sleep the bed was very comfortably.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The hotel is glad you were happy with your visit with us and look forward to your return in the future. thank you for the nice feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa, ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Staff service, rooms, location and price were all excellent. When in Watertown, we will be staying here for sure.
Well appointed rooms, decor and comfy bed. The continental breakfast was also one of the better ones we've seen for selection of food as well as a nice open dining area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank te834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 16 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 16 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 81

Property: The Inn at 81
Address: 1190 Arsenal Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at 81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at 81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing