We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“America's best value Inn in Watertown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Watertown
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a very good experience The staff was very nice The rooms and the hotel were very clean And the restaurant Ricardo's Had excellent Italian food Nice place to stay right in the center of all the shopping store Great rooms and great prices I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmassey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you got the chance to try out our Restaurante de Riccardo's. We thank you for your review, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Yep thats right I stayed here again and always will whenever I am in town to visit friends. I couldn't ask for better service when I checked in and checked out. The rooms was VERY clean as usual. I will never second guess my stay here at Americas Best Value Inn and I will be back. Thank you too all the staff and managers that work so hard to make my visit as pleasent as it was.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randa23_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We do take pride in the efficiency and professionalism of our staff. We are glad that we made this experience as good as the ones you've had in the past. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Called this establishment on Friday the 28th, to book for the next day. No problems as usual. If you have the ((free membership)) card and if there are upgrades available then you can ask for one. The standard accomodations are really good but with the upgrade the rooms are dressed up a bit more. Either way you can't go wrong at this location. Check in was very fast. We were in Watertown before lunch so did a bit of shopping before the 15:00 check in time. Free Wi-Fi in rooms with also a computer in lobby that one can use. Continental breakfast has the standard fare. Coffee, tea, juices, cereal, muffins, donuts, waffles toast etc. This is our usual place of stay when in the area. The price is about 20-30 dollars cheaper than it's competitors. We have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _richardson_lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We would like to share with you our experience staying at the American Best Value Inn in Watertown, NY. We have been staying at the Inn for a number of years and have had a safe and pleasant experience each and every time. The staff are professional, friendly and always helpful. The rooms are clean with nice appointments; excellent showers and have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The Inn is equipped with all the features we need to make our stay enjoyable right down to Internet access and homemade waffles included in the contennial breakfast. We do recommend the Inn as a great place stay.

The Houlahan's
Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that everything was satisfactory for you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this motel as a quick sleep over from our travels so didn't want to spend a lot of money as we were just passing through the area. Always check 'trip advisor' reviews and have to say I disagree with most of them. Very disappointed in our choice. The room was clean, but very strong disinfectant smell the moment you walk in the halls.You had your microwave, refrigerator, TV but the room was very crowded and cheaply decorated. Towels were clean but threadbare.The rooms have paper thin walls (and ceilings) because we were not able to sleep because of TV on down the hall. The place was not busy and they put their customers all together (in a back section) obviously easier for the cleaning staff in the morning. Breakfast was just fair. But I have to say the staff was very nice. I have read other reviews about the new renovated section...and I would think that is where they would place their customers when available. I can't imagine the room we were in as being "newly renovated". Never again - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully your experience with our hotel will not influence your opinion on our chain. We did take your complaints into consideration and have since fixed said problems with our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at this hotel and were impressed. The lobby area is immaculate, and check-in was prompt and friendly. The representative who checked us in was very helpful in answering our questions about the area. He cheerfully provided us with a map of the city, and directions on how to get to the local zoo.
We were given a room on the second floor. The elevator and hallways were also very clean and bright.
Our room was spacious with 2 double beds, good size tv, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, desk with chair, and armchair provided. An air conditioner was available, but the weather was cool enough that we just opened the window which was nice, since many hotels don't have that option anymore.
The room was peaceful and we heard no extraneous noise during the night.
The continental breakfast was typical fare, and again, the eating area was very clean.
We did a good deal of shopping at the nearby plazas and shopping mall. Restaurants were also available within walking distance.
A pleasant experience overall, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: This hotel accepts Canadian money at par. We paid for our room using Canadian cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much for the review, We try very hard to offer a clean, comfortable stay at a very modest price compared to the other hotels in the area. At times I feel people forget when there booking a hotel room, that when the Holiday Inn is at 129.99 a night and you choose to book a room for $89 or less there will be some difference in those properties. We try to offer as much as possible and keep the price reasonable. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Americas Best Vaue Inn was OK. The staff was nice and curdiouse though out the stay. The room was a fair size, but the bathroom was on the small size. The room was clean with no weird smells to it. The decor was old school, as if someone was trying to make it look sophisticated (more upscale than it really is). The decor made the room look dark and uninviting. Their was plenty of draw space in the room (for 6 people), maybe more than needed . There was a microwave and a very small Refrigerator on the floor in the room, making it hard to use if you have problems getting on the floor. I would recommend the owners to take some of the furniture with draws out and put the Miro and Ref on something at a more usalbe hight. The TV was a box unit not a flat screen and it did not match the decor. The bed was clean as for as I could tell and comfort level was good. My biggest problem was the bath room, while small and usable the sink had hot water while the shower had luk-warm water at best. Maybe this was a why for the owners to conserve water, because I took very short showers and use very little water. The continental B'fast needs alot of work, I went to Bob Evans for B'fast. So my overall impression was Ok, but needs work for the price of the room ($79/night) and this was their dicount price. Their normal rate is $99/night, not worth the cost, since their are many other Inns in the area. At the dicount price I would try it one more time, but I would check the shower 1st before I except the room.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank hosrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We want all of our guests to have a nice stay, by no means do we want people to be unhappy, why would we? If you are not comfortable in your room or if something is not working, please speak to someone, we have staff here 24hrs a day. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, or find your room accommodating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Watertown

Address: 1190 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2212 (Formerly The Inn at 81)
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: $82 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing