We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Watertown
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Watertown)
$54
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Watertown)
$57
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Watertown)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
67
97
43
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
97
43
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleandoughnutsaverage stayfree wifisausageyogurtoutdoor poolking size bedflat screenone night staygreat roomthe breakfast areachecking inhot breakfastlots of restaurantsnew yorklobby
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 233 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Read the reviews and some were a bit critical so asked to look at the room first, this was offered straight away, the room was large enough and very clean and I also asked for a room on the top floor and this was sorted.

The guy on the desk, Tim?, was great and a pleasure to deal with nothing was too much trouble.

Well worth a stay

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, yes some people are quite critical, forgetting that I am a value minded hotel and not charging over $130 per night, or that a Continental breakfast can be nothing more then a plate of muffins and a cup of coffee, we proudly offer over 20 items from fresh fruit, yogurt,donut, bagels, cereal along with a verity of hot items including fresh waffles. I'm very happy you read past the negative and decided to stay, I appreciate it more then you know and thank you for the review it helps other travelers make the right choice for there needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on July 1, 2012 and did so based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were very pleasantly surprised at the courteous front desk staff, clean and HUGE room and very good complimentary continental b-fast which included a perfect, make-your-own waffle station. I have to say that we WILL be back and we WILL stay here again. The only issue was a tiny bit of confusion around the check-in and going through a third-party site for reservation but it took all of 3 seconds to explain and all was clear. Congratulations on this little gem!

Room Tip: You may wish to try asking for an inner room which overlooks the back of the hotel to avoid having your window open to the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttTraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you very much for trying us out. Those 3rd party sites can be a handfull, Im sorry you had to deal with it. We look forward to your next stay. If you need a hand or some advice when your booking next time give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

getting into the city at 3:30 AM usually means trying to find a hotel with a desk clerk thats as tired and cranky as you. NOT HERE!!!!! The night clerk was upbeat, friendly and very helpful. In addition, the rooms were fantastic and the beds some of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on..............This chain really needs to showcase themselves...Great prices for great rooms and service!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for the compliments, It is funny you mention the night audit shift / graveyard it is a tough position to fill at any hotel. It was Tim that you ran into and I will make sure he sees your review, I do have a rewards system in place for guest feedback and to be honest my staff is taking full advantage, and they deserve it. We are a small crew but hands down I have the best hotel staff in the area. Thank you again for your stay



Matthew R. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We are a roller derby team and booked 9+rooms here over the weekend. Check in time is at 3pm , we arrived early at 1.30 after a 7+hour drive and thought we would see if we could do early checkin for 2 of the rooms. No was the answer, sorry come back at 3pm. We did notice the Lobby was very nice/ clean. We went and grabbed some pizza down the street and came back for 3. Checkin was SLOW and old school, with envelopes and us having to write down all our info.Its 2012, checkin should go much better than this..it took us 45 mins to checkin due to all the paperwork. Rooms...we were all spread out and that meant even my husband and childrens rooms werent together? Then i thought. maybe they did that on purpose? BUT they were specificially told our 2 rooms needed toeither be connecting or next to each other- we were a family. Nope..they had to swap rooms around to even get us on the same floor..we ended up being 10door away , but just a pain! Rooms were nice, looked clean and neat..no flat screen tvs,but everything else was newer updated. Only complaint my hubby had in his room was that he didnt even have an alarm clock. Odd? Location is great and plenty of parking....we were at an end room, near the stairs and the noise was minimal if at all. Rooms rates were great thats why we stayed there and breakfast this morning was just fine...plenty for us....

Only Complaints.....They advertise a new pool..........there is one, but no water in it..... NEED to update your info/ website with NEW POOL..OPENING XXX date.....Very misleading!! My kids were all ready to swim......

And the Hotel rooms/ location atleast of ours/ our family not even having rooms together :(


Would stay again but i would MAKE SURE they gave us 2 rooms together or would go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rredfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate it very much. I wanted to look over your situation and this is what I see. What happens is when you use a travel site/ travel agent, the hand off for the low rate that these sites offer is that they have an inventory, there "job" is to fill empty rooms, they also do not let you know that the rooms are "run of the house" or 1st come 1st serve, this is not necessarily a bad situation it just means there filling in the blanks basically. Booking.com does have the wrong info posted thanks for the heads up, I have contacted them an have asked them to update there listings they even have older pictures. Most people think that the hotel runs the sites, this is not the case and I do apologies. Check in can take a while and definitely with 9 rooms worth of paperwork, I would say next time your coming and have that many rooms, just give us a call , so we can let you know what is available and get you what you need if at all possible. As far as my clock gos, its kinda funny but not really seeing someone took it, each room should have a clock. Sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My check-in was pleasant and efficient, and I was given useful information about nearby restaurants. The hotel is single story and sprawling so it was a bit of a walk to my room. Nothing, however, to complain about.
The room itself was large, clean, nicely appointed, and comfortable. There was an adequate desk and work area, also an easy chair with reading lamp — a feature not often found in motor inns. The television set was modest in comparison to the flat screens available in so many places, but the reception was excellent with a good choice of channels.
The bathroom was small but functional, although it could have used a proper towel rod or two. Hot water was plentiful.
In brief, more than acceptable accommodation at a fair price — with one notable exception. There was a locked connecting door to the next room, and it was also occupied by guests whose conversation easily filtered into my room through the doors. I should emphasize that they weren't shouting. It wasn't a wild party or anything like that. They were conversing at a normal voice level and I could hear a good deal of what they were saying.
A sympathetic gentleman at the front desk said that he could move me to another room, but I decided to wait until 10.30 p.m. in the hopes that my neighbors would quieten down. They did settle down, so I stayed put and had a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed.
Breakfast next morning was unusually generous for a continental. I'm not sure why we all had to sit on elevated chairs to eat at elevated tables — a silly pretension, it seemed to me — but this is a minor complaint.
Reception was equally pleasant when I checked out in the morning and seemed genuinely sympathetic when I raised the problems of a feed-through of sound between the rooms. I would stay again, but would request a room which didn't face this potential situation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1traviler, Owner at Travelodge Watertown, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Hello, thank you for staying and for the info. There are actually 2 doors there one on your side and one on the other, they were there from the org. building. When we did our remodel, they were insulated and sound proofing was placed between them and sealed off, we don't really use them, that's why the desk blocks that door now. I only have a few so I will be checking to see if maybe we are missing something def. possible. But thank you once again I'm glad to have the honest feedback, I do try to keep the rates low I want to make everyone feel they are getting a good solid value and a enjoyable stay. As far as my chairs, well I will be swapping them out asap, what I do is have a guest "wish list" I save up the change from my drops and when I have enough I buy off that list, last month was out door ash trays. You are as of now number 9 on the, my breakfast chairs are too high list ;) I just do not want to raise my rates to do upgrades like that I rather just save my pennies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews