We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and cosy room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Station House at Living Life
Ranked #2 of 13 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service and cosy room.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't normally use B&Bs, but just wasn't keen on a hotel this time. I had fantastic service from my enquiry to check out. Claradyn promised to send me directions and even offered to make dinner bookings at a restaurant in town as my sister and I were going to check in after their kitchen had closed. What a kind gesture. Our room was cosy with a huge open plan en-suite bathroom (ball and claw bath and massive shower) and a fireplace which we didn't use as the temp. dropped to just 10degrees that evening. Yummy smelling handwash and lotion just added to the 5 star accomodation. The duvet was so snuggly I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning.

At breakfast, we were seated at a table in front of the fire and served the most delicious fruit juice I had ever tasted. Eggs were perfectly cooked, mini boerewors skewered with lavender or thyme stems, cooked tomato and onion served in shot glasses, the most delicious smoky bacon and all served with homemade toasted bread. Thank you Claradyn and compliments to your waiter - he is a gem indeed. What a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaWebbstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ladybrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As we live in Ladybrand going to living life makes you feel somewhere else.. You could sit there all day with your book, no one makes you feel unwanted, the staff pass you by asked you for a top up of your coffee or tea. The food outstanding and just being snug out of town hidden away makes it special... With the midnight markets once a month think first Friday of the month brings everyone together.. Sitting around fires with your wine and sung in your blankets having a good old chat with friends you don't often see is wonderful.. Now I see they have opened the day spa that's going to make you more wanting to visit.. Along with there hand made gifts and lovely hospitality you'll come Back to visit:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The beauty is in the detail. Living Life maintains a high-end atmosphere amidst comfortable rustic amenities, not far from the Lesotho border.

The rooms are spacious and airy and everything is very clean, but what stands out is the presentation of everything from the plates of delicious and beautiful food down to the small treats under a glass bell jar in our room.

The staff members are all incredibly friendly and welcoming, attentive to our every need. We parted with hugs and a promise to return as soon as possible!

I cannot praise Living Life highly enough.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Read all the previous reviews and believe them. This place is a gem! Slightly quirky but truly wonderful - Africa at its best. Great rooms, good food and the most charming, gracious and lovely staff. We only stayed one night as we were working in Maseru (over the nearby border in Lesotho) and wanted to stop over somewhere before booking into the weary hotel on the other side of the bridge. If it wasn't for the tedious border crossing twice a day we'd have stayed at this guest house for the week and travelled in each day...... It may just be worth it !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffG123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Authenticity at its best. If your want to experience South Africa, and in particular the Eastern Free State in its original form, you will make a mistake to pass an opportunity to stay with Nicol and Klaradyn. They are excellent hosts, the accommodation is 5 star and the food is unmatched. The atmosphere here is unique and exudes 'real' hospitality. Well done you guys!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lerotholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in many guest houses over the years. Our experience as a family definitely places The Station House as number one. The accomodation is fantastic. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms extravagant, the complimentary refreshments in the rooms are fantastic. The bathrooms are extravagant in their space and appointment. This is truly the gem of Ladybrand. Meals were served in the Station house restaurant. Every meal is served is home made, and the generous portions are absolutely delicious. The whole retaurant is an experience in itself, authentic, creative and beautiful. We sat in the retaurant for hours, enjoying the company of the hosts Nicol and Klaradyn. Our waitress, Veronica,was aglow with fun and seemed to love serving not only us, but all of the patrons. Our teenage choldren really enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for the family room which sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can only join in on the previous reviews, especially the one from "Pieter M". Stayed at the Station House in Ladybrand 3rd October 2013 during a bicycle trip in the Free State. The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms decorated very nice, huge shower room and a bathtub with star-view. In the Station Cafe, on the same premises as the Guesthouse, excellent food is served by real fun staff! The owners of the Station House and Cafe, Nicol and Klaradyn definitely have a keen sense of how people feel welcome and ensure that you have a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladybrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Cranberry Cottage
Cranberry Cottage
#1 of 13 in Ladybrand
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Ladybrand
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 13 in Ladybrand
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 13 in Ladybrand
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
17 on Beeton
17 on Beeton
#8 of 13 in Ladybrand
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa on Joubert
Villa on Joubert
#2 of 4 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House at Living Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House at Living Life

Property: Station House at Living Life
Address: 1 Princess Street | Free State, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House at Living Life offers sophisticated accommodation in a country setting for the gentry. Our crisp bohemian bourgeois styled guest rooms flow onto tranquil private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Station House at Living Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing