We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A South African oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladybrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Life Station House
Ranked #2 of 15 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The beauty is in the detail. Living Life maintains a high-end atmosphere amidst comfortable rustic amenities, not far from the Lesotho border.

The rooms are spacious and airy and everything is very clean, but what stands out is the presentation of everything from the plates of delicious and beautiful food down to the small treats under a glass bell jar in our room.

The staff members are all incredibly friendly and welcoming, attentive to our every need. We parted with hugs and a promise to return as soon as possible!

I cannot praise Living Life highly enough.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Read all the previous reviews and believe them. This place is a gem! Slightly quirky but truly wonderful - Africa at its best. Great rooms, good food and the most charming, gracious and lovely staff. We only stayed one night as we were working in Maseru (over the nearby border in Lesotho) and wanted to stop over somewhere before booking into the weary hotel on the other side of the bridge. If it wasn't for the tedious border crossing twice a day we'd have stayed at this guest house for the week and travelled in each day...... It may just be worth it !!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffG123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Authenticity at its best. If your want to experience South Africa, and in particular the Eastern Free State in its original form, you will make a mistake to pass an opportunity to stay with Nicol and Klaradyn. They are excellent hosts, the accommodation is 5 star and the food is unmatched. The atmosphere here is unique and exudes 'real' hospitality. Well done you guys!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lerotholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in many guest houses over the years. Our experience as a family definitely places The Station House as number one. The accomodation is fantastic. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms extravagant, the complimentary refreshments in the rooms are fantastic. The bathrooms are extravagant in their space and appointment. This is truly the gem of Ladybrand. Meals were served in the Station house restaurant. Every meal is served is home made, and the generous portions are absolutely delicious. The whole retaurant is an experience in itself, authentic, creative and beautiful. We sat in the retaurant for hours, enjoying the company of the hosts Nicol and Klaradyn. Our waitress, Veronica,was aglow with fun and seemed to love serving not only us, but all of the patrons. Our teenage choldren really enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for the family room which sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can only join in on the previous reviews, especially the one from "Pieter M". Stayed at the Station House in Ladybrand 3rd October 2013 during a bicycle trip in the Free State. The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms decorated very nice, huge shower room and a bathtub with star-view. In the Station Cafe, on the same premises as the Guesthouse, excellent food is served by real fun staff! The owners of the Station House and Cafe, Nicol and Klaradyn definitely have a keen sense of how people feel welcome and ensure that you have a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Station House in Ladybrand on 21 July 2013. Wow, what a place! In the heart of South Africa, surrounded by tranquile nature, is the best kept secret of the Freestate. We often stay in Guesthouses and Station House definitely are under the best we have stayed in. It is 5 star service and comfort. Nicole and Klaradyn made our stay comfortable, yet still private. It is a country experience with added luxury. A must stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Living Life Station House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Judy. Thank you very much for the positive review. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you and your family back soon. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Station House at Living Life is the true heart of South Africa. Nowhere else will you find the hospitality and true South African charisma as you will find here. You will feel right at home the moment you walk into this unique guesthouse. From a log fireplace in your room to the goose feather duvets, this is the place to go. Then the food from the restaurant is absolutely to die for. Big portions of absolute delight. Extend your trip and make a stop here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Living Life Station House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive comments and good review. We truly appreciate it and hope to you again soon. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladybrand hotels
0.5 mi away
Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Ladybrand
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa on Joubert
Villa on Joubert
#2 of 6 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#11 of 15 in Ladybrand
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#5 of 15 in Ladybrand
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge
Oak Tree Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ladybrand
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Life Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Life Station House

Address: 1 Station House, Princess Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range: $66 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House at Living Life offers sophisticated accommodation in a country setting for the gentry. Our crisp bohemian bourgeois styled guest rooms flow onto tranquil private gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing