We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ficksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Franshoek Farm and Polo School
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Franshoek Farm is a truly beautiful place, set away from the rest of the world.

The rooms in the cottage are spacious and beautiful, yet cosy at the same time.

Tracey and Rod went out of their way to organise a pick up and drop from Jo'burg.

In terms of the actual polo, Rod is a fantastic coach. I really recommend him, especially if like me, you're pretty useless with a mallet.

Thanks for a memorable stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Tracey and Christian are wonderful hosts and helped to make my stay really enjoyable! The food was amazing and the tuition and ponies were quality whether your a beginner or a more experienced player. The environment was really relaxed and the extra activities available, were plentiful. The views are stunning, and all the people involved with franshoek are extremely friendly and helped to make my stay extremely fun! Would recommend it to anyone and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I could not recommend Franshoek more, Tracey, Christian, Rod and Polly are so welcoming and tailor the holiday to completely suit you. There is so much more to do than polo I went hiking, swam in the natural Wet Love pool, relaxed in the African Steam Hut, swam in a pool in the mountains under a water fall, went on horse back safari, had a go at golf, took part in a drumming circle, went fishing in the dams, watch the Polo Africa kids put on a Christmas show, had a great time at parties drinking cocktails and dancing the night away under the stars, explored the local town, went on outrides in the mountains, and probably did more I have forgotten to put. Although saying this if you just wanted to do nothing and relax I'm sure that would be just as easy!

I stayed in the Stables accommodation, 1 minutes walk from the polo field, and it couldn't be faulted. The food was 5 star, we ate fish caught in the dams, had braiis, fresh salad from the Wet Love garden, local cheeses, pasta, fillet steak, clams, the maids were great and served breakfast outdoors before polo, with eggs, bacon, fresh coffee, fruit, cereal, cheese, whatever you wanted really, my washing was taken one day and returned clean and pressed the next for a small fee. The views are amazing.

The polo also was fantastic, Polly runs the yard brilliantly and gives riding lessons to any less experienced rider, who are flying around the polo pitch in no time, Rod's polo tuition is second to none and I saw myself and the other guests improving in leaps and bounds. The ponies are a dream and you can play as little or as much as you like. I had never really previously played but after 3 weeks here I got home confident enough to play club chukkas at my local club which I never dreamt I'd be capable of after such a short period of time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We wanted an informal place to take a few polo lessons. We wanted a relaxing environment but also tuition matched to our beginner standard. Rod, Christian, Tracey and Polly looked after us superbly, matching our experience level with perfect horses, just the right intensity of lessons and chukkas, whilst making sure we had fun the whole time. And after some hot work on the polo field what more could we ask for than sundowners overlooking the fields where the horses grazed and the spectacular valley. During our five days we also got to try out the African steam hut (followed by a plunge into the pool, of course), did a bit of hiking, sampled the local river fish (caught by a hiker who was passing through) watched the polo africa team play (those kids are amazing!) and by the time we left we felt like part of the family. This place is great for escaping into the wild and even better if you like horses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

If you work in a major city (for me, London) then it is hard to find places for true relaxation. Even on so-called paradise islands, emails and text messages beep around your sun-lounger. Not here.
Franshoek Farm is a rare, precious gem. A number of KM from the nearest town (Ficksburg) and set in glorious mountains, the location is special but it is the people that make it extra-special and envelope you into their family.
if you love polo, you'd be mad not to visit (and take two weeks at least) and when you're not on a horse the 'Wet-Love' - a natural swimming pool - is perfect at sun-down; the cave is worth the hike (and can be hired overnight) and the braiis are legendary. Volunteer to help with PoloAfrica (English lessons and chukkas) and you will feel enriched - and are sure to learn as much from the kids as they learn from you.
I visited for three weeks and ventured off the farm only twice (!) - once to shop for provisions and once to watch the Springboks lose to the Ozzies in the World Cup :(

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OohRogerPalmer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Franshoek is the perfect escape from everything else. Your hosts, Christian and Tracey, give the farm a very relaxed atmosphere and the scenery is wonderful. The polo pitch is one of the prettiest you will ever see. If you don't play polo you can watch from either the polo coach's front garden (Roddy will almost certainly host a cottage party for you on your first night) or the natural swimming pool, both overlooking the pitch. Otherwise there are hiking and outride trails and a dam for fishing.

I'm going back in a months time. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I made two trips to Franshoek in 2010 so clearly I have voted with my feet! Tracey and Christian have built a brand new self-catering lodge over looking the valley with a beautiful views that you can enjoy from its terrace.

The Stables as they have called them are situated on their farm outside of Ficksburg in the beautiful Drakensberg Mountains. The Stables were just finished when we arrived. They are built on the site of old stables and incorporate two separate large bedrooms with en suites either side of a large kitchen / dining area. There is a large covered terrace which leads out from the kitchen area with huge glass foldaway doors separating the two, enabling true outdoor eating / cooking during the summer months. The terrace has got a dining table and chairs so if the weather is good you never really need to spend any time inside. Both bedrooms are brand new, tastefully done up with their own bathroom with a separate shower and huge bath in each. There were only two of us so there was tonnes of room. In the larger bedroom I know that they were planning to put extra beds for families and groups - there would be plenty of room. In short, everything is brand new, tastefully and carefully done and I do not think that you could want for much. The kitchen is self sufficient with cooker, fridge etc. etc.

The location is on Christian's farm which is in a beautiful valley in the Drakensberg. Testament to its beauty is the number of people that have chosen to lease plots of land on the farm to build their own house to retire or holiday in. We think it is a very special place and look forward to going back. Christian and Tracey are a very welcoming couple with their young son and Rod the polo professional lives close by.

In terms of polo, Rod is a former captain of the Springboks, still umpires Internationals regularly in the UK and is a hell of a nice bloke. I really enjoyed being taught as a novice by him as he has a wonderful ability to make everything fun but push you when needed. His polo qualifications speak for themselves and they have large herd of 70 or so ponies that wander wild through the farm so there is something for everyone. Rod is always quick to offer a beer, have a joke and will happily party anyone half his age into the ground.

For those that want to explore the Drakensberg Mountains but want a rural location to do it from then this is the place for you. For those that want to play Polo I think in terms of quality, fun and value it is unbeatable. It really is a great place in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salukionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ficksburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Oregon Cottage
Oregon Cottage
#8 of 11 in Ficksburg
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Green Acorn Guest House
The Green Acorn Guest House
#4 of 11 in Ficksburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Springwater Cottages
Springwater Cottages
#1 of 6 in Ficksburg
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Rosa Guest House
Bella Rosa Guest House
#3 of 11 in Ficksburg
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
#6 of 11 in Ficksburg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franshoek Farm and Polo School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franshoek Farm and Polo School

Property: Franshoek Farm and Polo School
Address: Franshoek Farm | Eastern Free State, Ficksburg 9370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Ficksburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ficksburg
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing