We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but don't waste your money on the Ian Fleming Suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Hilton Northolme is gorgeous. Lovely views, nice food, beautiful beaches. We were there for the second part of our honeymoon, stayed one night in an oceanfront room and then 5 nights in the Ian Fleming suite. Do not bother spending the extra money. The room is EXACTLY the same except you get a round bed, a posh looking coffee table and the Bond dvd back catalogue. It is not worth the extra £100 a night. I actually asked at reception what the difference was and after stumbling on his words the chap said you were paying for the 'concept!' In fact I have to say the views are probably best from the hilltop rooms which are the cheapest!

The ladies in the spa are the best. We had 2 divine massages which were out of this world.

All in all we had a lovely time. Special thanks go to Victor who when we mentioned feeling slightly cheated by the extra cost he did halve it for us!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank leonieparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

This place is truely amazing. Probably the best hotel I will ever stay in. The villas are very luxurious, complete with all the amenities you can imagine. The spa is wonderful. The food is delish! The pool and beach were perfect. My only complaint is the the drinks at the bar are stupidly expensive. However, there is a store just outside the resort where you can stock your villa with booze and snacks.

We ate off the resort 3 nights and the food was much more affordable and very good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank might2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is one incredible hotel. Absolutely beautiful, spacious villas with all the amenities. The staff are incredible and do everything to ensure that each guest feels special. The beaches are small, but when there are only 40 some villas, there was never a crowd. The snorkeling was incredible, the food superb. The infinity edge pool quite refreshing and the spa treatments the best.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveloversw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We have just returned from a truly amazing time at the Hilton Seychelles. The hotel was beautiful and blended into its natural surroundings perfectly.

We arrived very early on a Sunday morning and were greeted by three pleasant staff in the arrival pavilion. We were taken on a tour of the property and then to our villa for check-in. Our luggage was already in our villa and we were greeted with two perfectly chilled glasses of champagne at the door to our villa.

The villa was breathtaking in every sense of the word. Amazing views of the sea and complex, room amenities which even had an amazing coffee machine that served up cappuccinos, lattes, expressos to ristrettos right down to the surround sound music system.

We ate in all three restaurants. Breakfast in Hilltop had a very wide selection of choice but my favourite was the daily local speciality dish which is a must try. I ate a different dish every day including grilled chicken with mixed vegetable rice to fish curry. Every one as delicious as the next. Certainly made a change to bacon and eggs! The breakfast being made extra special by being washed down with a lovely chilled glass of champagne – all part of the buffet.

Hilltop Restaurant also does a varied buffet with a different theme every night. The best is the seafood buffet on the Friday night where they serve prawns the size of small plates, lobsters, scallops and a large array of different types of fish.

We also ate in the Ocean View Bar at lunchtime and it has a good and varied menu from the usual Hilton Classics to some local specialities and their delicious fish fingers are a must try and very addictive!

Best of all is Les Cocotiers, definitely fine dining at its best with the definition on ‘fine’! You can even discuss a personalised menu with Tim, the executive chef and Pamela, the F&B manager, which we did and it exceeded all our expectations. Nothing was a problem to them and they even made a different main course for each of us as I prefer seafood to meat. However, the a la carte menu in Les Cocotiers will leave you spoilt for choice anyway and it will be a tough decision deciding where to dine each night.

If cocktails are your thing then I would recommend asking the bar staff to make something ‘off menu’ as they come up with some really delicious cocktails but if you are ordering from the menu then I would recommend the Seychelles Sangria, it is a sharing cocktail for two and is served in a beautiful shell. It’s a ‘must-try’! You will not be disappointed!

The service was excellent in every area and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and in the restaurants they always told us that if we didn’t see anything we liked that they would be happy to make us anything we wanted.

There was also a strong management presence all day and they made it a point to speak to as many guests as possible and get to know them individually and took an interest in how we were spending our time on the island, what we had planned and even making little suggestions for us to get more out of our time on the island which I found very helpful.

We also had a couple of Spa treatments while we were there and my advice is to book all your treatments as soon as you arrive as I wanted to book a few more treatments but unfortunately they were already fully booked towards the end of our stay. Perhaps it might have been the fact that the hotel was fully booked and therefore more people requiring the use of the Spa.

A treatment here is also another ‘must-try’ as it is purely indulgent with the sound of soothing waves lapping beneath you as you get your massage and not to give any surprises away but their before and after hospitality in the Spa is a treat.

Overall, I would say that if you want a holiday in the lap of luxury, pampered thoroughly with your every whim catered for then you have to go to the Hilton Seychelles. It is definitely something that has to be experienced for yourself as words really can’t do the place and the service justice. I certainly plan on returning – soon!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FastidiousF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I will recommend this to any couple wanting to have a comfortable Villa
whilst exploring the Seychelles.

The staff where professional and genuinely friendly (not in your face) and for the duration of our 8 night stay we did not once experience unfriendliness, from the gardeners right through to the room service staff, all staff that we encountered where helpful and friendly – and I can really say it is not often you experience this.

The accommodation was decorated in a stylish way and every afternoon when we returned from the beach or our “daily adventure” we would find our room cleaned and a fresh carved fruit platter set out ready for us to enjoy. The only suggestion I would make is that little ice machines are placed in the villas as there is nothing better than enjoying ones favourite drink or sundowner from the mini bar with a couple of ice cubes.

The food was spectacular and compliments to all the chefs that have contributed in me gaining a couple of pounds whilst we where there:)
I can also recommend the duck liver pate (OUT OF THIS WORLD)

Having been to the Seychelles over 20 years ago I was pleased to see that it has not been built up with high rise hotels, the only thing that was a little distressing was the sea life that once existed all around Mahe although I can say the reef surrounding the Hilton Hotel is still full of sea life and it was wonderful having ones breakfast and watching all see activity from the Hill Top Restaurant.

Many thanks to everyone we will return:)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smileytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week on a bed & breakfast deal. When going for dinner on the first night we were amazed at the prices being charged, 9 euros plus 10% service and 10% tax for a bowl of tomato soup. The wine list was incredible every bottle on the list was 10 times the price we would pay in a british supermarket, we expected to pay hotel prices perhaps 25-30 euros for an average bottle of Merlot but not 74 euros plus 20%. Having got a bill for 78 euros for dinner on the second night, I had two courses from the buffet and my wife one course, this without any wine or water we complained to the management and they did agree to put us on a half board basis for 25 euros each with a glass of wine and water which was fair enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided cold towels and fruit around the pool and beach. Unfortunately the beach is very small and is not good for swimming, the sunbeds are not on the beach but set up a level higher. This resort would not suit elderly people or anyone with a disability as it is very hilly, many inclines or steps to walk up to reach your chalet. We have stayed in many Hiltons around the world but this one does not live up to the usual Hilton standard. We spent our second week in Mauritius at Le Touessrok Hotel, it was chalk and cheese , if the Hilton is classed as a five star hotel then Le Touessrok would be at least seven stars and without excessive charges for wine.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gliderken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Go there for the rooms, the food and the views. The villas are absolutely amazing, all have sea views. The walk-in showers are fabulous. We keep drinking chilled white wine under the shower (once we even ate some wonderfully yummy mango panacotta delivered via room service) every evening before dinner. All while listening to our ipod (you can connect it to the flat screen TV audio)
The Cocotiers restaurant serves excellent gourmet food (I was weary about trying the fois gras but it was yummy). I organised the candlelight dinner on the beach for my partner's 30th birthday. I was able to email the chef direct and discuss a customised menu at length before we arrived. This way, it was a full surprise until the day itself! The dinner was great, with the right amount of intimacy but perfect service.
We dined one evening at the Hilltop buffet restaurant. That was good too with lots of fresh grilled seafood. There was Nicolas Feuillante champagne for breakfast, fresh orange juice. Altogether nice touches.
The spa is first class and the masseuse super friendly and skilled. The restaurants/spa all face the sea with superb views).
Now on the downside, there is hardly any beach at Glacis. So you cannot go for a romantic sunset walk from the hotel. The Bayan tree has a very large beach area and so has Lemuria on Praslin, but we did not stay there so we cannot comment on the other facilities. If you have a car, Beau Vallon beach is 5 mins drive away. It's a long, sugary sandy beach that is perfect for romantic strolls or swims.
There are also hardly any water sports facilities, only some canoes which no one seem to be using. But that seems to be the case for other hotels in the Seychelles. That must be because the surf is too strong everywhere. Compare this to Mauritius where large lagoons enable you to enjoy a wide rande of free water activities.
Also, I thought the reception staff lacked expertise. All of them (apart from a trainee from Seychelles) are foreign staff who are on a short term employment (I believe). They are mostly useless at making restaurant bookings or confirming them, getting you information about flight departures (our flight was delayed and they did not notify us even if the airline told us they called the hotel) or giving you any relevant information about check-in time information, ferry departures etc. And they never ever come back to you on any questions you asked.
But they are friendly... All other hospitality staff apart from the reception were first class.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicureanpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,319 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range: $380 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing