We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We have just returned from a truly amazing time at the Hilton Seychelles. The hotel was beautiful and blended into its natural surroundings perfectly.

We arrived very early on a Sunday morning and were greeted by three pleasant staff in the arrival pavilion. We were taken on a tour of the property and then to our villa for check-in. Our luggage was already in our villa and we were greeted with two perfectly chilled glasses of champagne at the door to our villa.

The villa was breathtaking in every sense of the word. Amazing views of the sea and complex, room amenities which even had an amazing coffee machine that served up cappuccinos, lattes, expressos to ristrettos right down to the surround sound music system.

We ate in all three restaurants. Breakfast in Hilltop had a very wide selection of choice but my favourite was the daily local speciality dish which is a must try. I ate a different dish every day including grilled chicken with mixed vegetable rice to fish curry. Every one as delicious as the next. Certainly made a change to bacon and eggs! The breakfast being made extra special by being washed down with a lovely chilled glass of champagne – all part of the buffet.

Hilltop Restaurant also does a varied buffet with a different theme every night. The best is the seafood buffet on the Friday night where they serve prawns the size of small plates, lobsters, scallops and a large array of different types of fish.

We also ate in the Ocean View Bar at lunchtime and it has a good and varied menu from the usual Hilton Classics to some local specialities and their delicious fish fingers are a must try and very addictive!

Best of all is Les Cocotiers, definitely fine dining at its best with the definition on ‘fine’! You can even discuss a personalised menu with Tim, the executive chef and Pamela, the F&B manager, which we did and it exceeded all our expectations. Nothing was a problem to them and they even made a different main course for each of us as I prefer seafood to meat. However, the a la carte menu in Les Cocotiers will leave you spoilt for choice anyway and it will be a tough decision deciding where to dine each night.

If cocktails are your thing then I would recommend asking the bar staff to make something ‘off menu’ as they come up with some really delicious cocktails but if you are ordering from the menu then I would recommend the Seychelles Sangria, it is a sharing cocktail for two and is served in a beautiful shell. It’s a ‘must-try’! You will not be disappointed!

The service was excellent in every area and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and in the restaurants they always told us that if we didn’t see anything we liked that they would be happy to make us anything we wanted.

There was also a strong management presence all day and they made it a point to speak to as many guests as possible and get to know them individually and took an interest in how we were spending our time on the island, what we had planned and even making little suggestions for us to get more out of our time on the island which I found very helpful.

We also had a couple of Spa treatments while we were there and my advice is to book all your treatments as soon as you arrive as I wanted to book a few more treatments but unfortunately they were already fully booked towards the end of our stay. Perhaps it might have been the fact that the hotel was fully booked and therefore more people requiring the use of the Spa.

A treatment here is also another ‘must-try’ as it is purely indulgent with the sound of soothing waves lapping beneath you as you get your massage and not to give any surprises away but their before and after hospitality in the Spa is a treat.

Overall, I would say that if you want a holiday in the lap of luxury, pampered thoroughly with your every whim catered for then you have to go to the Hilton Seychelles. It is definitely something that has to be experienced for yourself as words really can’t do the place and the service justice. I certainly plan on returning – soon!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FastidiousF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

I will recommend this to any couple wanting to have a comfortable Villa
whilst exploring the Seychelles.

The staff where professional and genuinely friendly (not in your face) and for the duration of our 8 night stay we did not once experience unfriendliness, from the gardeners right through to the room service staff, all staff that we encountered where helpful and friendly – and I can really say it is not often you experience this.

The accommodation was decorated in a stylish way and every afternoon when we returned from the beach or our “daily adventure” we would find our room cleaned and a fresh carved fruit platter set out ready for us to enjoy. The only suggestion I would make is that little ice machines are placed in the villas as there is nothing better than enjoying ones favourite drink or sundowner from the mini bar with a couple of ice cubes.

The food was spectacular and compliments to all the chefs that have contributed in me gaining a couple of pounds whilst we where there:)
I can also recommend the duck liver pate (OUT OF THIS WORLD)

Having been to the Seychelles over 20 years ago I was pleased to see that it has not been built up with high rise hotels, the only thing that was a little distressing was the sea life that once existed all around Mahe although I can say the reef surrounding the Hilton Hotel is still full of sea life and it was wonderful having ones breakfast and watching all see activity from the Hill Top Restaurant.

Many thanks to everyone we will return:)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smileytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week on a bed & breakfast deal. When going for dinner on the first night we were amazed at the prices being charged, 9 euros plus 10% service and 10% tax for a bowl of tomato soup. The wine list was incredible every bottle on the list was 10 times the price we would pay in a british supermarket, we expected to pay hotel prices perhaps 25-30 euros for an average bottle of Merlot but not 74 euros plus 20%. Having got a bill for 78 euros for dinner on the second night, I had two courses from the buffet and my wife one course, this without any wine or water we complained to the management and they did agree to put us on a half board basis for 25 euros each with a glass of wine and water which was fair enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided cold towels and fruit around the pool and beach. Unfortunately the beach is very small and is not good for swimming, the sunbeds are not on the beach but set up a level higher. This resort would not suit elderly people or anyone with a disability as it is very hilly, many inclines or steps to walk up to reach your chalet. We have stayed in many Hiltons around the world but this one does not live up to the usual Hilton standard. We spent our second week in Mauritius at Le Touessrok Hotel, it was chalk and cheese , if the Hilton is classed as a five star hotel then Le Touessrok would be at least seven stars and without excessive charges for wine.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gliderken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Go there for the rooms, the food and the views. The villas are absolutely amazing, all have sea views. The walk-in showers are fabulous. We keep drinking chilled white wine under the shower (once we even ate some wonderfully yummy mango panacotta delivered via room service) every evening before dinner. All while listening to our ipod (you can connect it to the flat screen TV audio)
The Cocotiers restaurant serves excellent gourmet food (I was weary about trying the fois gras but it was yummy). I organised the candlelight dinner on the beach for my partner's 30th birthday. I was able to email the chef direct and discuss a customised menu at length before we arrived. This way, it was a full surprise until the day itself! The dinner was great, with the right amount of intimacy but perfect service.
We dined one evening at the Hilltop buffet restaurant. That was good too with lots of fresh grilled seafood. There was Nicolas Feuillante champagne for breakfast, fresh orange juice. Altogether nice touches.
The spa is first class and the masseuse super friendly and skilled. The restaurants/spa all face the sea with superb views).
Now on the downside, there is hardly any beach at Glacis. So you cannot go for a romantic sunset walk from the hotel. The Bayan tree has a very large beach area and so has Lemuria on Praslin, but we did not stay there so we cannot comment on the other facilities. If you have a car, Beau Vallon beach is 5 mins drive away. It's a long, sugary sandy beach that is perfect for romantic strolls or swims.
There are also hardly any water sports facilities, only some canoes which no one seem to be using. But that seems to be the case for other hotels in the Seychelles. That must be because the surf is too strong everywhere. Compare this to Mauritius where large lagoons enable you to enjoy a wide rande of free water activities.
Also, I thought the reception staff lacked expertise. All of them (apart from a trainee from Seychelles) are foreign staff who are on a short term employment (I believe). They are mostly useless at making restaurant bookings or confirming them, getting you information about flight departures (our flight was delayed and they did not notify us even if the airline told us they called the hotel) or giving you any relevant information about check-in time information, ferry departures etc. And they never ever come back to you on any questions you asked.
But they are friendly... All other hospitality staff apart from the reception were first class.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicureanpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This is the best Hilton Hotel I know as a Hilton Diamond member. Perfect location and nice staff. But we are of the trips you can book in the hotel. The trips are operated by Masons and are far below the Hilton quilty standard. For example: The transport you on oxcarts with bleeding oxes. See the pictures. I noticed this with the hotel and received after 6 months a reaction. What the said: "theoxcart is the only means of transport in La Digue and this had been approved by the Authorities". This is not the way threat animals!! But you can walk..? And also book another Good hotel for the same price. Succes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Martijn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Stayed here for a week at the end of our honeymoon, having read previous reviews i was expecting something special but was disapointed, we had just come from a safari in kenya and found the hotel and service lacking. on arrival we where left waiting in the welcome pavilion for 15 minutes before someone came to check us in. while i wasnt expecting a big deal to be made of the fact it was our honeymoon it was never mentioned. all our previous hotels and safari lodges made us feel special here we we where just another customer we did get two free coctails sent to our room the evening before we wchecked out coincidendly the same time as our bill was sent - unfourtanetly the coctails where milk based which neither of us drank

i had booked several treatments in the spa for my wife via e-mail before we arrived but on arrival these had not been passed onto the spa and we where just told to go to the spa and re-book - we ended up booking just two spa treatments instaed of the five i had originally booked. i had also via e-mail arranged to meet the head chef to decide on a menu for a candle lit dinner - this never materialised and i didnt chase

our key cards where constantly breaking and we had to change them five times i suggested to the receptionist that there was possibly a problem with the reader on the door but this was ignored and the card just replaced. whilst a small complaint it was frustating as our room was at the top of the hill and up 7 flights of stairs incidently overlooking the reception building and noisy air conditioning units

pool was great as mentioned in previous reviews but there was a horrible scum/scale build up along the tiles at the back wall that could have easily been cleaned. the grout lines in the shower in our room where also filty ang green again a five minute job to clean

whilst we where half board we still ended up spending a minimum of €100 a day on lunch and drinks €4 for a soft drink €5 for a bottle of water and €20 for a sandwich. when checking out the bill was over a €100 more than the one left in our room the previous night when queried we where told they had added an increse for a tax increase. there was also a mysterious €25 charge simply explained a a service charge which the receptionist had difficulty explaining. i also found it frustrating that there was an additional tax on the bill despite every drink at the bar having an additional 10% service charge and 7% tax

overall the resort and rooms where beautifull but the service and treatment we received was very disapointing and we felt slightly ripped off especially paying our drinks and service bill

i wont be rushing to stay in a hilton anytime soon

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank shouldersmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Check-in: for Hhonors members was very quick and efficient with a nice tour of the property

Restaurants: We ate at all three restaurants: buffet, bar and fine dining. All meals we had were very good.
Buffet – fine for breakfast but the one meal we ate was overpriced for a buffet at 43 Euros/pp. Wine list had some nice affordable alternatives.
Bar- One evening we just wanted something light (both quantity and price) so we chose to eat at the bar. Setting was very nice overlooking the water and the food was quite good. We were less than happy to find that the same wine list was not offered in the bar as in the restaurant with only French wines being offered. The least expensive bottle was around 50 euro which was ridiculous when paired with the reasonably priced entrees.
Fine Dining- We chose to eat at Le Cocotiers on our last evening as they had advertized in the lobby all week that they were featuring a lobster dinner at 75 Euros/per couple. Unfortunately when the server arrived to present the specials, the price was 75 Euros/per person. Not sure if this was a bait and switch or what, but when I pointed out that the sign said differently she didn’t seem to care. We did not order the lobster dinner. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and they didn't seem any more concerned than the server did.

Villas – Beautiful, and unlike some of the other posts, I had no problem with the shower.

Grounds – Beautiful, but very small beach, which almost disappears during high tide. Snorkeling is pretty good with some of the healthiest coral in the area. Unfortunately some of the villas have a significant amount of construction debris underneath them. This certainly ruins the appearance and our villa happened to look out onto one of the junk piles. As others have mentioned there are a significant amount of stairs to climb depending on where your villas is located.

Service – Hit or miss. Managers cocktail party for Hhonors members was cancelled with no notice – didn’t find out until we went looking for it; servers in restaurants can leave you hanging for quite some time; no confirmation of restaurant reservations, even though they stated that they would leave a voicemail; at other times requests from housekeeping or room service were amazingly quick. Got REALLY tired of the 17% add on to everything – why can’t they just build it into the prices?

General impressions – This a beautiful resort but it has some rough edges to smooth out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CindiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
15.1 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range: $377 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched paradise along the Indian Ocean Your Creole getaway awaits at this hidden treasure - also an inspiration to James Bond creator Ian Fleming. Surrounded by white-sand beaches, tropical gardens and crystal waters, the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa is a true escape. Our villas are perched on stilts, providing gorgeous views and plenty of privacy. An infinity pool, oceanfront dining, a luxurious spa, glass-bottom boat tours - it's just the beginning of your retreat in Beau Vallon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing