We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice resort”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Hilton Seychelles Northolme and are happy to recommend this hotel to anyone. The villas are modern/luxury but still with a classic touch. Staff was very helpful and the food was overall very good. Situated one some 2 km from Beau vallon you have a selection of restaurants there if you want to get out. The hotel helped us with a rental car (at a decent rate).

I would recommend guests to pick B&B (not HB). The half boarders eat at the Hilltop restaurant every day where a daily buffet is served. The buffet is very nice but quite similar despite that they change theme every day. Buy buffet vouchers at the reception and save €20.

The reefs along Mahe suffered under el Nino and a lot of the corals are dead. However, the marine life is really good. Go snorkeling before breakfast and you will see a lot of fish, especially rays. The recreational manager took us on a great (complimentary) snorkeling tour around the resort.

Room Tip: We had a Hillside villa, one of the "cheaper" options and it was great. None of the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear karindur

First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa. I am glad that during your stay you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and were able to return home with many happy memories.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your overall vacation experience and you would consider recommending us to friends or family. Please be advised that your kind feedback in regards to the villas, the service has been shared with the whole team.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton.

I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    219
    87
    37
    22
See reviews for
61
824
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very expensive but you get good quality and excellent service throughout.

Great welcome! Our room wasn't ready since we arrived very early so they gave us breakfast, champagne and an easy check-in. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Amazing room great view of the bay #102. Little gifts every day on turn down, 15 minute massage and mini desserts in room on arrival...nice touch.
Beach is a little restricted as its built into a hill and has limited sun, nice clear water with lots of marine life.
Restaurant was excellent, great service and nice touches.
We were really impressed with the quality of the rooms and great friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa.

I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles, our welcome, the villas, the personal touches with the gifts, the restaurant and service and returned home with wonderful memories.

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and rest assured that all your feedback is shared with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our small paradise.

Best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in May 2013 for 6 days. Had a superb time. Relaxing is what you do in Seychelles. I cannot understand why this Hotel has no wifi in the rooms and its grounds and common Areas. There is no excuse. Also its LAN cable rates are very expensive. The rates of stay are such that I cannot see the reason for these rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovelycyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Lovelycyprus,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your overall vacation experience

I am really concerned to read about your dissatisfaction that the Internet service did not meet with your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay, spoiling an otherwise joyful vacation.

Although it is very disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, I do believe it is the most important way to measure the quality of our service, and how best to improve on those areas in which we fail to deliver on the expectations of our guests.

Please be advised that your kind feedback has been shared with the whole team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good Vanessa at the front desk was great. William at the bar excelled at drink ideas. 1 CM micro AV cable to connect my phone to speaker system Big bath tub Beds were very comfortable Bad coral as art work is a bad bad message breakfast buffet was poorly tended and overall quite boring and seriously lacked local produce or flavors no Wifi our room (219)was right next to an engineering facility so there was a lot of fan noise Average The snorkeling in the area was pretty limited without a lot of fish or coral life. Caveat: I've snorkeled Maldives. Being near Beau Vallon might be interesting for some but not for us getting service at the beach was sometimes slow Issues: room door would sometimes NOT lock coffee out of the in room coffee machine always came out cold

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank yankabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your holiday with us at the resort.

I am pleased to read that you were happy with your overall experience, the service from Vanessa at front desk, William at the bar and the villa.

I am really concerned to read about your dissatisfaction that the breakfast buffet, no wifi in the room, the issues with the door and your coffee machine and the noise experienced during your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay, spoiling an otherwise joyful vacation. Kindly note that all issues have been addressed with the appropriate departments to improve the service provided.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is magical. The villas are spacious, private, and have amazing views. The breakfast buffet had many different items, healthy and delicious. The infinity pool has a great view of the bay. The fitness center had a good range of equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank HipAeroNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the resort.

I am delighted that during your stay you were able to experience the magic of our resort and island. I am pleased to read that you were happy with your overall experience, the villa, the breakfast experience, our iconic infinity pool as well as our fitness centre.

It certainly would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent hotel and facilities, staff very welcoming and helpful (our third visit), price fairly high but it is a 5-star establishment. Good range of food available, chef will assist with special requirements. Rooms spacious and excellent bathroom facilities. Private balcony with seating and loungers. Pleasant infinity pool and sufficient loungers with towels. For Hilton Honors members wishing to use their points, the "cost" has doubled which is very disappointing. Overall excellent and we will return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Brian D,

First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your third stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa.

I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with your experience, the resort, the villa and facilities, the team, and the food choices.

Your kind comments have been shared with the team.

We certainly look forward to welcome you once again next year to the Seychelles.

With kind regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there as a couple for a week in mid April.
Before booking our vacation we did a thorough search & reviewing of all 5* hotels in Mahe and Hilton came out on top.
And it turned out to be exactly we expected it to be.

It is almost a boutique hotel by size (only 40 suites in 20 double decked bungalows). Its design blends in perfectly with the lush & exotic nature & surroundings. It is designed & built with respect to mother nature. It's all made of rich tek & mahogany topped with all the high quality, comfort-providing fittings & gizmos.The bathroom is an work of art.
We stayed in 211, a Hillside Villa. As the hotel is spread on the face of a steep incline ending into the waves, our suite was in the 2nd row from the water's edge (where the ocean view bungalows are situated). As the 4 rows of bungalows are basically placed in amphitheatre layout, every single row gets decent sea views (some obstructions may come from the vegetation/trees). Ocean front gets quite a lot of wave splash noise to our taste. Especially as the N coast got quite windy when we were there, hence large waves pounding loudly at the footsteps of the ocean view villas.
Equally, one may not necessarily prefer the hillside villas on the highest rows. Quite a workout going up & down steep stairs, especially at night.

So basically the Hillside Villas are the best choice in my view, the closest ones to the water (just behind the Ocean Villa row).

The ample & well appointed veranda of these Villas is to die for. Enough privacy, makes for a perfect relaxation space in the evening or even sunbathing during day.

Describing the room otherwise is pointless. The pictures on the website are just accurate but just OK. They don't do justice to how nice the rooms actually are and how it feels living in it.

No problems with any of the amenities whatsoever. A/C started leaking whater one afternoon. It was swiftly fixed and the problem did not repeat.

The bed? Perfect!

There is one minor problem with the step between the bedroom floor & the living area floor. Could be dangerous. I almost broke my ankle one night walking half asleep in the dark room. They have a small blue light to warn you but it's easy to miss it.

The infinity pool is purely fantastic.

My spouse tried the spa. Just perfectt although quite expensive.

The staff does its job right and are going the extramile if needed.
Few things that we liked: you can use their snorkeling gear inside or outside the hotel. You can rent books & DvDs every day (we didn't have time for dvds, but we enjoyed reading under the palms, by the pool's side :-))
If you check out very early (we did, at 4.45!) they lay out a continental fast-breakfast at the reception which is indeed a feature which I didn't come across at other hotels.

Be aware though! Do not rely on taxis being called up at such early morning hours to drive you to the airport. Play it safe and use either your own rental or the hotel's transfer service.

The breakfast buffet is very good. Everything you'd wish for from all kinds of eggs to fresh fruit.
I fancy hearthy breakfasts but my favourites at Hilton were: vanilla & cinnamon honey on toast and the incredibly fresh & tasty pinneaple the likes of which we never get in Europe. Also, they have an assortment of juices which seemed fresh (pinneaple & mango mostly) definitely yummy.

They do themed dinners almost every night of the week. We booked ourselves for the PanAsian night we got some discount vouchers from the reception for 650 rupees per pers (otherwise 900+ rupees per pers would be very expensive for a hotel buffet dinner). To our dissapointment, despite being advertised a week in advance throughout the hotel, the PanAsian theme was discountinued as of that night, yet no one except the chef & the waiting staff on duty appeared to have been informed about this (important) change. That was the first & last chance we gave to having dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Miscommunication may be to blame, but this is no small thing. I imagine many other guests arranged their dinner that evening considering the advertised theme only to be let down on their expectations once inside the restaurant.

As rule of thumb, don't go to Creole themed dinners at hotel restaurants. Best Creole cuisine you will find at genuine creole restaurants (some just best) accross the island, some very close (La Plage, Boat House) or Le Jardin du Roi. You have plenty to choose from.
Best Indian restaurant: Mahek, a short drive down the coast from Hilton.
Best chinese: The Wok, Lucky House.
Japanese: Teppanayaki inside Berjaya Resort. Decent food but depressing ambiance, being placed amid what resembles a food court inside a decrepit hotel from the early '80s.

Hilton says it's got 2-3 beaches. Don't get fooled. Each spreads on a maximum area of 25 ft x 8 ft and most of the day are submerged at high tide. They may make a good starting point for snorkeling in front of the hotel (if waves are not so strong to prevent this activity, which was the case when we were there) but not serve the purpose of a proper beach. Nevertless there are dozens of perfect beaches aound the island, some of them still perfect irrespective of the tide. Just rent a car and chose your own beach for the day. Every day!
My best are Port Launay (NW of Mahe) and Beau Vallon 5 mins drive from Hilton. There are more great beaches on the small islands scattered around (Ile Therese, Ile Moyenne, Ille Ronde, etc).

Driving around the wild forests of Mahe is bliss. Mountanous, curvy narrow roads may be difficult at start but shortly after, the scenery you drive through makes it a bliss experience.

Pack up your wallet. Nothing there is a bargain. You won't get away with full dinners under 40 euros per pers including light drinks (drinks are very expensive). The average is around 50 euros/pers. Each boat trips/excursions will set you back anywhere between 60 and 100 euros/pers but they are must while there (Ile Therese, Ste Anne Marine Park at least, if not Silhouette - further away). I recommend Teddy Hoireau's Glass Bottom Boat, located 2 km down the road from Hilton. Excellent experience.

We've traveled all around Mahe and visited many beaches, many hotels and restaurants. The area of Glacis where Hilton is placed and the hotel itself are difficult to beat.

All in all, I would gladly return to Hilton Northolme. It's an oasis of serenity, intimacy, good taste, excellent service laid amid one of the best natural landscapes in the World.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank octavian_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear octavian_39,

First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us in April at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa.

I truly hope that during your stay you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and were able to return home with many happy memories.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your overall vacation experience, with your villa, the breakfast buffet, the spa as well as the infinity pool.

It is a concern to read about your dissatisfaction in regards to the beaches. Due to the change in the weather, at this particular time the south west monsoon is not too kind on our beaches.
I’m sorry you had a disappointment for the PanAsian theme. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay, spoiling an otherwise joyful vacation. All your concerns have well as good review have been shared with the team to ensure smooth operations.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.9 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#7 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing