We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveler rating
896
289
109
49
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
289
109
49
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewhilltop restaurantbeau vallonour honeymoonles cocotiersinfinity poolhilton seychellesoceanfront villasmall beachsilhouette islandindian oceangrand oceanwonderful hotelhead chefbuffet restaurantcoffee machinethe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 9 days of our honeymoon here in Seychelles. We had both dreamed of Seychelles for years and could not WAIT to visit for our Honeymoon. Seychelles definitely lived up to our expectations, but we will certainly not return to this hotel on future visits.

Some of the staff here - mainly in the restaurants at dinner - are very professional and so friendly. But the majority of what we encountered was not up to our standards. For how much money we spent there we expected top of the line service.

Be very weary of planning activities with the drivers. They are very pushy about planning things.. we were badgered about going on a fishing trip before we had even arrived at our hotel. Not exactly the way we want to start our honeymoon after just traveling for 2 days! We finally signed up for a boat trip to the Marine Park with one of the drivers. He sent out a private driver to come get us on the day of the trip. It was hands down the most dangerous car ride of our lives. The driver was slurring his words and seemed intoxicated. He was driving extremely recklessly and we asked him to please slow down a couple times. Upon arriving to the boat we were asked to provide cash for the trip - which we were not informed needed to be paid to the driver as we arranged this trip through Hilton. We thought the payment went through the hotel. So again, we had to get back into the car with the intoxicated driver and ask us to return us to Hilton. Upon speaking with Hilton driver who booked our trip he admitted to smelling alcohol on the driver BEFORE he put us in the car with him. We do understand that the activities are a side business for hotel drivers to make some extra cash, but this was completely unacceptable.

This incident aside, the front desk workers and drivers did not provide the type of service we expected.

The servers in the Hilltop and Bar were excellent and some of the best.

If you're going to Seychelles and have the money to spend on a nicer hotel stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JessMarijaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the professionalism and friendliness of the Restaurant staff at dinner.

We have well noticed your experience concerning the fishing trip and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. As the fishing company is a third party the hotel is not liable for the behaviour or attitude, however we are pleased to advise you that we have stopped working with this company and your valuable feedback has been greatly appreciated.

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and rest assured that all your feedback is shared and discussed with my team to further improve on our services and facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our small paradise.

Yours Sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Northolme for three nights over New Years 2011. The hotel was spotless, great service and very comfortable. The room was very large, like your own flat all with ocean views. They provided daily snacks in our room and even a bottle of local rum. The hotel only has 41 villas, so it is small and intimate. They do not allow children so it is a couples hotel and meant for relaxing. They pool was clean and had a great ocean view with non stop waiter service for anything you needed. The morning breakfast was huge, many choices and very fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean king upgrade, we were in 225 and it was far but very private
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to read that you were very happy with your overall stay with us. You were satisfied with services provided, the ocean views, the comfort and the hotel’s cleanliness.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you back to our small paradise or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Overall, I'd say the Hilton Northolme is a great place to come for an awards stay, but a little on the disappointing side for a paid vacation spot.  We will certainly stay here again when we come back to Seychelles.

The property is without a doubt one of the loveliest we've been to out of many Hilton family resorts. The views are great from just about everywhere. The property is on a hill, and is laid out such that every villa appears to have privacy. There are two beaches accesible from the property. One is a little rocky cove with two sandy patches. The other is a rather long beach on the Beau Vallon side of the hotel. The long beach is rather well protected from the waves, while the little cove appears to not weather the sea too well if there is rough water.

The location of the property is nice. It's about 2km from Beau Vallon, where there are a few restaurant options and a couple of grocery markets (a little further up the road than the beach). Though there are buses that run from just in front of the hotel, I'd recommend renting a car if you are visiting to do more than stay at a lovely property. Many of the nicer beaches for snorkeling on the island are quite a distance (30-40 minute drive), and exploring by bus would take quite some time. 

As for the actual rooms, they are all villas. The villas are great and everything you'd expect from a tropical paradise. They are air conditioned and clean. Each villa has a private deck and a large bathroom. If you don't mind stairs, the villas at the top of the hill are nice (it's a bit of a hike to do several times a day - probably about 90-100 stairs from the reception area). We stayed in a villa at the top of the hill that has a great view out over the small rocky beach of the hotel. You can also see Silhouette in the distance. It's also worth mentioning that there is an Ethernet cable hookup in every villa, so Internet access isn't a problem. 

The facilities are quite nice, and just about the right size for the size of the property.  They pool is a bit small (and a little chilly!), but you'd never really guess that if you're looking out over the infinity pool edge onto Beau  Vallon beach. The spa offers quite a few different therapies and massages, however, there are no male masseurs. Also, if you've been to some other nice Hilton family resorts, be prepared for a more intimate spa experience. This spa fits into a villa that overlooks crashing waves - very nice and calm. It is, however, far from the likes of a Spa Grande, for example, (Waldorf=Astoria Grand Wailea on Maui). Though the beaches are part of the overall "property", I still think it is worth discussing in the context of facilities.  The small rocky cove beach has many lounge chairs and a shower to help wash off the sand. As mentioned above, this small beach seems to take a beating, but that could just be a function of the trade winds at this time of year (December). Its one true plus is that is close to the bar. The long beach does not have any beach furniture, but does have a shower. 

The few eating options on the property are unfortunately a let down, especially when one considers the cost. For about €35 p.p., you can eat a buffet style dinner in a lovely space (Hilltop Restaurant). Add another €45+ for a bottle of wine. The buffet has a different theme every evening. We ate there only two evenings, as in my opinion the quality of the food is substandard (especially for this type of property). The Oceanview Bar has a nice selection of different sandwiches, salads, and main dishes, and the quality is what one would expect from a hotel bar, but not from this type of property. We ate there a few times, and it was inconsistent. One evening the food was good, the next bad. The main restaurant is nice, and the food was markedly better than at the Hilltop Restaurant. In all three dining establishments, the wine selection is limited. As for breakfast, the Hilltop space serves a nice buffet. NOTE: long pants for men are obligatory in the evening in all three locations. It's all open air dining, so be prepared for potentially uncomfortably warm dining. In all honesty, when we visit here again, we will not dine at the hotel. 

The staff at this property are very pleasant and helpful. The only thing I think we would fault the staff/restaurant management on is the coordination of service in the restaurants. The actual demeanor of the restaurant service staff is nice, but it all seems a little disorganized. The wait staff seem to float around, which allows for a lot of balls to be dropped. At the Hilltop Restaurant buffet, it is not possible to order fresh protein and receive on the spot; it is brought to the table by a waiter. However, there seems to be no communication between the cooks and the serving staff. This results in long waits and / or completely dropped orders (at breakfast for omelettes and protein for dinner). There's also an issue with silverware getting cleared with plates and not replaced.  Other than the dining issues, the staff are attentive and appear to strive to ensure you are happy.

Room Tip: If you like views, top of the hill 222, 224, or 226 are great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to learn that our Resort is one of the loveliest Hilton properties you have visited; the view from your villa was great, you were happy with the location and cleanliness of the Spa and you were satisfied with the overall services provided by the team.

I was really concerned to read about your dissatisfaction that your overall dining experience in our restaurants did not meet with your expectations and I’m sorry you were disappointed. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay, spoiling an otherwise joyful vacation.

Although it is very disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we do believe it is the most important way to measure the quality of our service, and how best to improve on those areas in which we fail to deliver on the expectations of our guests.

I hope that you would still patronize the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and hence giving us the opportunity to prove that this was a one off incident and have the pleasure of welcoming back to our Resort.

We remain at your disposal for any future requests.

With best regards.

Yours Sincerely

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Loving the Indian Ocean Isalnds so much we tried this hotel which is a gem, a beautiful stunning locaton, lovely and quiet and relaxing.

Great accommodation with views to die for also great service top Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premier82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com.

We were very pleased to read that you were happy with the location and the quietness of our resort.

I truly hope that during your stay you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and were able to return home with many happy memories. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Having stayed at The Northolme about 5 years ago but only for one night, we promised to return and have not been disappointed.

The villas are beautiful, the terrace is large and quiet, amenities well equipped.
There is also a jacuzzi bathtub on top of that.

Did not have dinner in the restaurant but serving dinner in the privacy of the villa terrace is not a bad experience at all. Food was OK but nothing special.

The hotel is not large, all accomodations are villas.
The beach is very small and the pool area needs a little updating in my opinion.

Do not miss this Hilton if you are in Mahe. It should be a unique experience, but rent a car and travel around the island to discover its beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank volrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to read that you were happy with the villas and you had enjoyed your dining experience on your villa balcony.

With reference to your feedback about the pool, we would like to sincerely thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
Resort Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews