We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights at last minute, having stayed in a friend's villa for the first few days of our holiday. Our room (no. 22) was gorgeous - not sure what a previous reviewer was going on about regarding tired fixtures. Ours looked like it had just been done. Our room was right on the edge of the ocean with a verandah and very comfortable wicker sofa to admire the view from. The beach bar is fantastic, the private beach is stunning, and you're a short drive away from Beau Vallon beach with the fabulous Le Plage restaurant right on the beach and Beau Vallon dive centre in the Berjaya hotel - highly recommended for whale shark trips and friendly dive masters.

Room Tip: Room 22 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    101
    42
    53
    30
See reviews for
38
223
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located on it's own private beach and is a great place to stay when visiting Mahe Island. Just 26 rooms. Friendly staff, and although the rooms are getting a little run down everything worked, and the location made up for any shortcomings in the room.
I turned up without prior booking, and was promised an upgrade after two days to a Junior Suite if I had stayed on. What I liked was the fact that the bar prices were very fair in comparison to other hotels on the island, something which is quite unusual in the Seychelles. Breakfast was OK, not fantastic, but adequate. Beau Vellon is just minutes away by car, although the beach there does get busy, especially at the weekends, so the seclusion of the hotel was a welcome respite.
Overall, a great experience, and value for money, given the Seychelles high cost of living.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodation overlooking the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelliey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just left yesterday the hotel and we enjoyed very much our staying there.
The staff was very helpful and friendly (specially Peggy)
The Junior Suite was wonderful facing the ocean (must seat in the terrace every sunset)
The beach is paradise and very good for snorkeling.
Breakfast buffet was very nice.
We will recommend this place and will try to come again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAIM Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was the last three days of a 4 week trip in the Seychelles. We had no reason to complain about the other 6 hotels that we used. The main communal areas of this hotel are pleasant. However, when we got our room it was a very different story! There was no hot water in the evening of our first night - the hotel did rectify this but it took 2 hours! The fan in the room didn't work -believe us, even in August you need this. In the end, after 2 days, it worked by re-routing a light switch! When we arrived, we noticed that the key panel on our safe was hanging off. The very friendly girl who showed us to our room assured us that this would be fixed immediately. The day we left we needed someone to break into this safe as there was no way of opening it. The safe was finally taken away and not replaced. Throughout our stay we found it difficult to use our key card. Eventually a man showed us a technique -you need to insert the card and then thump the door extremely hard to gain access. We were not the only guests who had this problem on a daily basis.
Behind our room was an alleyway. Hotel debris had been left which encouraged the local lizards and wildlife to set up home. We knew we were in a tropical country, but encouraging animals to nest against our bedroom wall was not appreciated at 4 am!!
After numerous discussions with Reception staff and promises that took many days to fulfil, we asked to see the Manager. She agreed that the problems we had incirred were unsatisfactory and gave us a voucher for lunch.
When we came to pay our bill we noticed that the lunch voucher we had used had not been deducted from our food bill. Because we spent an age sorting this error out ,whilst our taxi driver was waiting for us to go to the airport, we did not study the bill in great detail. As we drove to the airport we realised that we had been charged for three days of mini bar drinks (water and beer). Not only had we not consumed anything, there was never any water in our room. When we phoned the hotel from the airport to say we had been overcharged by £25 mini bar charges they told us to e mail them. We have done this 4 times over the last three weeks and we are still awiting a reply, despite them having read each message. Although this may not appear a lot of money, it was the straw that broke the camel's back. There is no way we would ever recommend this hotel to anyone. It appears that once you have booked and paid for your room that they cannot be bothered to provide the service that you have paid for.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glacis hotels

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the moment I arrived at 7am in the morning until the time I departed, I received nothing but exceptional service.

Everything about this idilic setting is perfect,from the room, deep bath to relax in,sound of the waves crashing ! excellent food, superb service from the staff- nothing too much trouble and as for the location well you have to see it to believe it, having a meal or drink overlooking the majestic blue ocean with the numerous types of coloured fish, you didn't even have to snorkel to see them, a simple piece of bread brought them in there droves. What more can one ask for!! total peace in paradise!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOEING777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just returned from five days at this lovely, small, boutique hotel. Do not expect glitz and glamour. This is a quiet hotel in the most beautiful setting. The beach is wonderful with soft sand and clear water and we saw hundreds of fish while snorkeling just off the rocks below the pub area. The food (buffet on busier weekends and set menu during the week, when we were there) was of a high standard and the wine prices a lot more reasonable than at other hotels on the island. Our room had a lovely sea-view and was neat, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is spacious with a huge bath with overhead shower. Beautiful scenery and the best sunsets in the world as the sun slowly sinks behind Silhouette Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on our last night in the Seychelles by staying here. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded - and the room was incredible! It opened out onto the most beautiful outdoor setting with gorgeous views of the sea. The room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our evening dinner was excellent (which was to be expected with the price), and breakfast was also delicious. We had a late evening departure flight and the hotel very kindly let us use the beach during the day and communal showers. The beach was lovely (snorkelled with beautiful fish) though large rocks are evident during low tide. The views from the bar are fabulous as it juts out over the sea, and the sunset with Silhouette Island in the background was stunning. Free wifi is definitely a much appreciated added bonus. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
0.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
7.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
14.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Property: Sunset Beach Hotel
Address: Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Glacis
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing