We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Clef des Iles(Mahe Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romance Bungalows(Beau Vallon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savoy Resort & Spa(Beau Vallon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CaranaBeach Hotel(Mahe Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sun Resort(Mahe Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
127
112
51
59
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
112
51
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeau vallonjunior suiteopen to the publichotel guestslunch menuprivate covebreakfast buffet was very nicecoral fishprovided freesuperb locationour honeymoonbig bathroomhotel barhalf boardtaxi rideindian oceanseychelles holiday
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 385 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I guess that if you book this hotel as a three star hotel, as a nice ending of your back pack holiday and for a great price then you would probably be very happy.

The problem for us is that we came in with the wrong expectations and most probably we paid the wrong price for this hotel. We cannot blame ourselves 100% either, we booked through Kouni, a travel agency with luxury resorts and not the cheapest rate and we trusted their judgement.

So first of all, this hotel has been a 5-star, they are today ranked as a 4-star by Kouni, and 3,5 by hotels.com but in reality they are no more than a 3-star hotel today unfortunately. You start in the lobby, apart from the plastic flower decorations you will notice that the awards and nomination miraculously seem to have stopped after 2009.

Secondly, the rooms. Broken sinks, torn curtains, only 50% of the lamps working and motel standard on bed and bathroom articles (forget conditioner, a all-in-one product is offered) to mention a few things. The beds have no upper mattress so you will feel the springs, mould around the edgers in the sink and showers shows that this old lady is in need of a general brush-up.
No extras such as bathrobes, slippers or mattresses for the sunbeds existed either.

Thirdly, and for us the most important part, the food. Most of what they serve comes either from a box or a can. The hotel tells that they have two restaurants but in reality it is only one. The breakfast buffet is a simple American one, similar to an ordinary best western hotel. No hint about that you are on a paradise island, forget about fresh fruit juices.

The bar, or as they call it the a la carte restaurant, serves road restaurant food from a plastic wrapped menu. Soggy chips, a spaghetti "fruits deal mer" with crabsticks and rubbery-like canned prawns drenched in three cm of oil at prices higher than the nearby 5-star Hilton (to which we fled after two days)

For the evening you are stuck to a set menu. Two pictures enclosed. Guess your self what is meat and what is fish. No further comments.

The hotel was really surprised that we complained and referred to old glorious days but it takes a very short time for a star to fall.

The staff was very kind and did what they could to make us stay, included an upgrade to their superior suite but our general impressions,the food and what we had been told from the travel agent Kuoni could not make our holiday the precious week we would have looked forward to. We are not sure if Kouni over sold this hotel to us or if the hotel over sold themselves to Kuoni but the hotel finally accepted to give us some of our money back and we checked in at the nearby Hilton Northolme Resort. That saved our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An absolutely stunning location with an adjacent beach. As one might expect, the service and cuisine was outstanding. The views from the Ocean view and junior suite rooms were wonderful and I will be happy to return.

The only downside to the hotel is that the Ocean view rooms are smaller than one might expect for a hotel of this standard. But, if you accept that the room is solely for sleeping, one can put up with a little inconvenience simply to experience the fact that the room literally does open out directly onto the beach. The junior suite and the Villa rooms, on the other hand, are quite roomy and have a small garden area in front of their more elevated position.

The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. It would be wrong to single out any individual, but Peggy on Customer Relations is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: If you are able to upgrade to junior suite, do so. The villa room for larger parties is really good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-Kenya-Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had booked a week's holiday at the Sunset Beach in early May 2013.

Airport pick-up (EUR 50) worked well, and arrived at reception where welcome drinks and room key awaited. We had booked a Junior Suite and were not disappointed. The room was spacious with a balcony facing a lovely ocean view.

The hotel beach had a distinctly private feel, albeit being open to the public. Free wifi access was available in the reception area, and could be purchased for use in the room. Hotel also administered a car rental service and we rented a car for three days at a reasonable EUR 40 per day (regrettably, the car broke down on day three, but was replaced by a different car after a short wait).

The beach is perfect for snorkeling and the hotel bar/restaurant area (built on stilts over the water) looks down on a multitude of fish (who are occasionally fed by hotel guests/staff and thus "hang around"...).

Live music in the evenings add to the atmosphere, as does the wide selection of cocktails and mocktails at the bar.

Generous breakfast hours from 07:30 to 10:30 make a for a comfortable lie-in.

We couldn't help but noticing that the hotel seemed somewhat understaffed, with the same staff performing several types of duties. This occasionally lead to some delays. Our room was normally made up early afternoon.

We also felt the menu of the restaurant offered a somewhat limited choice for dinner - regularly with a set menu of two starters and two main courses to chose from (and no vegetarian options). The menu offered for lunch had a wider choice of options.

Hotel location is such that other restaurants or commercial areas can only be accessed by car, which may leave you feeling a little isolated and restricted in your movements.

All in all, however, a very pleasant stay, made all the better by cheerful members of staff like Peggy and Maynard.

On day four, we enquired at reception about possibilities to visit one of the other islands and were informed that the hotel had a sister hotel in Praslin, Village du Pecheur, and that we would be free to spend a few nights there without additional charge. We opted for this and ended up spending the remainder of our holiday there. Only returned to Sunset Beach on last day when the hotel provided day-use of a room whilst we were waiting for our flight.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant area may catch some noise from live music in the evenings.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the sunset beach hotel for our honeymoon in Apr 2013. We asked for a room with a view and some privacy and this was provided. We had a wonderful sunset view every evening from our terrace. The rooms were of a high standard and very clean, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and I was delighted to find a birthday cake in my room after a day out on my birthday. The food was very good, lots of variety and of a high standard. The best part however is the beach, it has pristine white sands, in a beautiful secluded location, we never failed to find a nice spot to enjoy it. Just a short swim from the beach is a small spot of coral, just under the restaurant where you could see a variety of fish, either with a snorkel or by sitting in the restaurant looking down. We enjoyed my birthday dinner watching 6 sting rays waiting for us to throw scraps into the water below us. A truly magical holiday, we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claires467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

More than a hotel and amazingly friendly staff, Sunset offers an miraculous and dreamy journey into relaxation and exotic romance. The amazingly blue sea in which indeed the sun sets those many beautiful nights, the wonderful and fresh food, the marvellous and unrushed service and finally the whole setting of a little paradise on earth that is called Seychelles. During my short stay I learned a little bit about the main island and its people and it tastes like more. A recommendation to all spoiled travellers. Service was sublime, the hotel staff and management most accomodating, friendly and relaxed. I will certainly go back!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with a room overlooking the ocean!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews