We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, hotel a bit outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, hotel a bit outdated”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Overall the hotel was nice, but a bit outdated in service, food and overall experience. However, the rooms were modern and a nice size. At least the ocean view ones, these are the only ones I have seen from the inside. Incredible expensive, from snacks to clothing or other items in shop and restaurants. When you go, book all-inclusive because drinks and activities are so expensive!!

Location and beach are gorgeous, but be aware with rainy season from Dec-March, we had rain the whole week. The staff told us it was the change of the moon that makes it rain, and that was indeed the truth... too bad for us!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Mireille,

Thank you very much for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your stay on the Island. We have read your comments about the resort and we greatly appreciated that you took the time to write them on Tripadvisor, as our guest satisfaction is one of our main priority.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Team Members has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home to Johannesburg. In regards to our F&B price, please rest assured that our price is in line with the rest of the 5 Star Resorts on the Island. But I’m happy to know that you have been able to capture the essence of our little paradise.

Therefore, the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!

Sunny regards,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    365
    133
    49
    22
See reviews for
291
780
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We got married at Kempinski Resort on Valentines day this year and everything was as we always dreamt about and even better. The hotel organised it all for our big day and we didn't have to worry about anything: photographer, videographer, Registrar, witnesses, cake, champagne, flowers. We have chosen a pearl package which included a lovely private dinner by the beach - very romantic and delicious. All the staff in the hotel are nice and very friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. We even changed our wedding venue 4 hours before and there was no problem to arrange it. We want to say a special thank you to Kerstin, Mariya, Daria, Achille, Lindo and Anis who were always there for us, ready to help. We thank also ALL the staff who made our stay so memorable. Hotel itself is a wonderful place with everything you need to enjoy your holiday: kayaks, snorkelling facilities, beautiful beach, restaurants, beach bar, spa and even their own giant tortoises. Every night there is a different band with live music in the bar upstairs. And you cannot complain about the food - it is yummy with a great choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner! We definitely want to come back to Kempinski!

Room Tip: We really recommend sea view rooms which are very private with beautiful sea and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorota-Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Dorota-Knight,

Congratulation! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort Team Members and I wish you and your husband all the very best for your just married life. We are very happy that you have chosen our property for your Valentine Wedding.

I am thrilled that we had exceeded you expectation and you could spent a wonderful time at our resort.

Our entire Team Members are committed to provide our guest with unforgettable memories, so it is lovely to know that we had accomplished the journey with you. Thank you so much for appreciating the dedicated service of our Team Members and I am thrilled to know that you are happy with the highly service they had provided. Rest assured that I had personally shared your nice comments to them all.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future in our little Paradise.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is good for the Kempinski standard and we make the following final valuating .
Positives:
- This is a nice region of good beaches including the 10min drive to Anse Intendance , considered one of the most beautiful beaches of Mahe
- Has good activities, among which stand out sports
- Structure, rooms, lobby, restaurants, pool area are of good quality

Negatives (or improve):
- Everything is very expensive in the hotel, far above the standard Seychelles. A breakfast for more than usd 55ppax, everything really is very expensive in the hotel
- No tub, something simple for the postage since the other (as Constance Lemuria itself we stayed in had Praslin and late afternoon it is very hot a bath tub/jaccuzi)
- The internet for guest use is very, very slow and requires an additional fee to have quality internet, meaning you pay a fortune on a daily a 5 star hotel to have shoddy internet , to send a photo is a century, ie totally negative point in this direction the Kempinski should rather provide quality internet to all its customers as does including the competitor in Praslin , Constance, which had an excellent internet there, play golf for free, ie , lost a lot to me Kempinski network accordingly and felt very welcome from Praslin to Mahe, the difference in quality hotels
- Does not have a bathtub in the rooms. I have stayed in 3 star hotel with a bath, then you book a 5 star, pay big bucks and do not have a bathtub in the rooms, found a serious flaw
- No in-room Nespresso/similar machine (i was in South Africa and in all hotel, had Nespresso machine in-room)

Ie , in general our final rating is disappointment with Kempinsky and not indicated by staying up with them with a view point that there are other more viable options, since left much to be desired by the points I describe above.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

I regret to hear of the disappointing aspect of your stay which did not meet your expectation .The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can make adjustment where necessary accordingly. But rest assured that our price for F&B are in line with the rest of the Five Star resort in the Seychelles and in regards to the bathtub in our room, we do have, in some room. Our Front Office Manager, would have be very much happy to assign you a room with bathtub upon your request and if there was availability. Thus we hope the explanation clarifies your concern and seek your understanding.


Despite all the minor drawbacks you have stated, we are rather glad that this did not stop you having an overall enjoyable time with us and thank you for the positive comments in regards of our structure, rooms, lobby, restaurants and pool area.

I do hope you will honor us a return to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

With our sunniest regards from Mahe,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had lunch at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort during our tour of the Seychelles. We ate in Café Lazare, and had the finest steak of our whole trip. It was so tender that a knife was almost not needed.

We didn't see a room, as the hotel was fully booked. Please note that Chinese New Year draws big crowds in the Seychelles. I did notice a huge pool table in the lobby area.

I would like to spend more time at this hotel on a future trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Hedo,

On behalf of all the Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

I am glad that you had an excellent culinary experience with us and rest assures that I have shared your positive comment to the whole of F&B Team.

Thank you very much for sharing this experience with others and I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future.

With the warmest regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent here 5 days in February without kids as a short „winter getaway“ and enjoyed out stay at the Kempinski immensely. It is quite expensive and there a still some minor flaws, but offers a great location and super staff – we would come back!

Location:
The bay is gorgeous and kayak trips are great. Also kayak surfing (taking the kayak into the surf) proved to be great fun! A drawback is that it is difficult to swim in the bay due to corals – at low tide impossible and even at high tide you have to be careful and better wear swim shoes! The Baie Lazare area is rather laid back and quiet compared to the more busy Beauvallon area.

Food:
Price level is high, but the Seychelles are an expensive holiday destination anyway. We found the Windsong Bar (Beach restaurant) reasonably priced during the day and had almost expected the prices to be higher. For dinner you have 2 options which are definitely high-priced. But you can find many possibilities to eat outside of the resort if you take a taxi or have your own rental car (which we would recommend!), such as „Chez Plume“, „Anchor Restaurant“, „Marias Rock Cafe“…

Strenghts:
• Staff – especially, reception, guest services & spa – are super service-oriented and helpful - well done!
• General location; gardens and properties very well maintained, spectacular surroundings
• Although hotel occupancy was high during our stay, it never seemed „crowded“ as premises are quite spread out
• Nice mixed clientele without any nationality being too „dominant“ (Swiss, German, French, British, American, Korean, Baltic States etc…)
• Diving school on premises. For boat dives they pool with guests from other hotels (Maia, Four Seasons etc.), but the Dutch-run diving school made a good impression

Weaknesses:
• Construction: the room doors are very light and not at all soundproof. If you neighbor closes his door, it echoes through your room. And it is difficult to close the doors without making noise. There should be some kind of rubber joints added to the door frames. If you seek utter privacy opt for a resort with single bungalows.
• Room Service: every room has dehumidifier devices, which turn off automatically when full. We had to empty it ourselves every day, although this should have been done by the room service. And: refrigerator did not work. Apparently it had not been properly checked before giving us the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunichVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time in the resort in February and appreciated your compliments about our Resort, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our Team Members. Your comments are surely an encouragement for all of us to keep delivering highest service to our guest.

We welcome the constructive criticisms in regards of the issue that you had brought to our attention. We will try the best to have some alternative, especially in regards of the dehumidifier devices.
I do hope to welcome you and your family, especially the children will return to Seychelles in the near future and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Warmest regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We came back recently from Seychelles and we chose Kempinski Resort for the great tips we meet. It was even better than we expected!
Not only the beauty of the resort environment, the nice room and the excelent breakfast and restaurants...I can recollect our great travel thanks to the great activities we did with Pepe, the Recreation Manager, and his attentive and funny team. Snorkeling on the nearby coral reef in that beach, trekking in the jungle discovering wild cinnamon and vanilla, catching the waves with the kayak...In this space Seychelles is not only a place to lie down in the hammock, but you can also do it and enjoy the weather and the paradisiac nature!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Rocio,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting Kempinski Seychelles Resort to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time at our resort and we had exceed your expectation. Your kind comments regarding our excellent breakfast buffet, the coziness of the room and the various recreation activities are encouraging. It is certainly our intention to ensure you are well cared and that our service standards exceed your expectations.

Your kind comments had surely motivated the Team Members to continue to meet and exceed the expectations that our guest wait from us.

We thank you for your loyalty and your five start rating of our resort and we looking forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort in the near future.

With sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived yesterday from our vacation in Seychelles and can't be more delighted with our stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort. From the welcome (greeted by a lady in red offering us a refreshened towel and a cold drink), the check-in, the in-room service, the dinning outlets to the resorts' activities and the hospitality of all the staff in general. The service was impecable! Special thanks to Angelique, breakfast's waitress, for her kindness during our whole stay and her detail to attention.

The resort is situated in the nicest and calmest part of the island, the West coast, right in front of the Baie Lazare beach(perfect for children since it's not very deep and the waters are very calm) and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. The facilities are all very well kept with nice decoration without disrupting the nature.

There are plenty of activities for the hotel guests organized everyday: yoga, kayaking, outings, snorkeling, diving, kick-boxing, etc. There's no way you can get bored.

Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Ferrajon,

Thank you for such an incredible testimony of your experience at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Team Members, especially Angelique, has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy Guest and that is having a happy Team!

Therefore, the entire Team Members is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little paradise for more amazing experiences!

Sunny regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#7 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing