We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay on the Seychelles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first stay on the Seychelles”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed from Oct 26 till Nov 2. and it was our first time on the Seychelles.
Baie Lazare is a very nice tranquil cove imbedded in a superb mountainous vegetation with nature-based kept style of beach, bearing of course the charm of lots of corals and sea urchins. Hence “classical” running from shore into water, at least during low tide is not really recommended.
The whole resort is very much built to preserve the natural character of the island. Thanks also to the gardener team.
Exception however is the concrete alley towards the reception which is certainly not an architectural masterpiece and the lights around the trees remind me the x-mas decoration we will soon encounter again in our regions. Indirect lighting would certainly give a more luxury touch to the venue than this redlight district illumination.
Difficult to say which of the room courts are nicer, those close to the beach with obviously sea view or those where we stayed and close to the small lake with a lovely view into the wooded mountain slopes, appearing especially mysteriously in the dark when sitting at the terrace, having a last drink and finishing a good cigar after returning from dinner.
Kempinski got also a lovely recreation team capable to spread sooooo much security especially when you are out fishing in a small kayak…”lot of plankton today Sir, good for sharks”….you might hear from one of them and then you look into the nasty smile on his face. Really good guys in that team, offering lots of leisure activities with on top obviously great possibilities to explore the waters of the Baie Lazare; thanks Pepe (however you slightly have to improve your Tennis - it’s not too late mate).
Staff very friendly and helpful even if not always the fastest and not all complying with the expected 5-star standards. But maybe this is also due to our European-style of looking at things even being in holidays and maybe we should also consider that a 5 star resort is not comparable to a 5 star hotel in a city; nevertheless…….
Breakfast buffet as well as quality and variety of dishes in general in the various restaurants very nice. Compliments to the new “patissier” and many thanks to your “Bavarian” Daniel who preserved all his extremely positive attitude we already had the chance to experience in Munichs 4 Jahreszeiten. A really good asset to the company.
Prices in Restaurant and bars as expected when considering the category of resort and the location, i.e. an island. By the way I don’t know where the gentleman in one of the comments on tripadvisor had to spend USD 80 for 2 Gin&Tonic’s. I found the same with best quality Gin from the menu for half the price…think he might got screwed when he exchanged his bucks into SCR somewhere on the island.
The small shop however is far too expensive, (e.g. you have to pay almost double the price for a Vilebrequin short as normally); reckon they are probably unfairly exploiting their monopoly position. Bad of course for the guests missing at arrival their luggage for a while as there is not much to be found outside the resort.
As a general comment, a very nice place with a couple of small “retouches” as you say in French in order to raise the services to an even higher level.
For sure a place to go back…..but don’t be in a hurry, which is true by the way for the whole island.

Jacques and Family

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacques b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Jacques,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and pleasant review on TripAdvisor. Reading that you enjoyed your stay with us greatly is a testimony of the warm and personalized service provided by our Kempinski Seychelles Resort Team Member’s.

Reading your review reminded me of how beautiful the resort is and how many family friendly leisure activity and facilities we do offer. I agree with you, the entire setting of our rooms makes for the most restful and pleasant sleep! I have passed on your kind comments to the culinary team who were delighted to learn how much you enjoy our restaurants.

I had already shared with the rest of Team Member’s your kind comments that we were successful in turning moments into memories for you and your family , is a true inspiration to all of us. There is nothing more rewarding to read that we have surpassed your expectations and mostly, we look forward to welcoming you back here again and again.

With sunshine regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    370
    136
    49
    22
See reviews for
300
791
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel claim itself be a paradise, and actually, it is.... located in a nice bay, where nothing but the hotel is and the surrounding is very natural and untouched. If you listen to the sound of waves and animals outside rather than loud music and enjoy the fact that if you want, just few metres from your hotel you can find yourself in a jungle, then you're at the right place.
The hotel has everything you want a 5* star Kempinski to have - beautiful and comfortable rooms, great breakfast, cleanliness and very nice and welcoming staff!
Extraordinary makes it the choice of sport activities on site. You can borrow water sports equipment (kayaks, snorkeling sets etc.) for free! Also there are plenty of guided activities both free of charge or for few euros, which are gonna take you see another places than the hotel beach. Thus I want to thank the recreation team Pepe, Ricky, Phil, Kenny and others for being professional, entertaining and making it my best resort holidays!:)
Shorty before our stay, we've read a lot of complaints about the food and the prices there. So we went to eat outside (there are 2 restaurants in the wide neighbourhood) and realised, that the price level stays the same, whether you choose a restaurant with few plastic chairs on a beach (40 eur for two meals) or one of those in Kempinski. The fine-dining restaurant of the hotel, L'Indochine, offers f.e. a delicious 3-course menu for 30 euros. I don't have to comment the difference in service and food experience, do I? We experienced that the prices, which all of you comment and which is very high, is a matter of whole Seychelles and not of this particular hotel.
I'd come back to the relaxed atmosphere immediately...
With these words we also wanna greet Gaetano, the resindence manager, whom you see running around and making sure the guest's stay is all perfect! :)
Regards from Natalia & Jarmila (Slovakia)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Natalia,

I trust that you have a safe trip back to home and that you had shared your unforgettable memories, about your one week in paradise especially at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

I was delighted to read about your moments and to know that overall you had one of your best stays ever and have enjoy the facilities and service we offer. We take particular pride on our service delivery, it is the motto of our Team Members who care so much for each of our guests and create those exceptional experiences. I have already passed your compliments to them, especially Gaetano, Pepe, Ricky, Phil and Kenny.

I am pleased to read that you had a gastronomic experience unlike any other, in the L’Indochine Restaurant.
Our fine dining restaurant always offers exceptional experiences that resonate with indulgence.
Both you and Jarmila, have now your Seychelles home and we look forward to your next visit to our little paradise, hoping it repeats again and again!

Sunny regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamla Bjärred, Skåne Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our family had an unusual experience when our youngest son had to get his appendix removed. This a perfekt test what hospitalaty menas and all staff at Kempinski fullfilled that. Thank you all.
The hotell is verk nice and the suite we had were perfect. The food at Windsong were to limited and expensive. We were pleased with everything Else.

Room Tip: We had a hill suite which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Anders,

Thank you for your kind comment about your recent stay with the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.
Your youngest son health was our top priority and we are happy that everything went so well for him. I have surely shared your nice review to the rest of the Team Members, about how a professional, yet personal service can make such a difference.

We also offer guests an experience that sits within a context and a culture with our private dinner delivered by dedicated Team Members who are inspired by the beauty of the Seychelles and its surroundings.

We will be delighted to pamper you and your lovely family again and again in our little paradise!

Sunny regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great rooms, wonderful beach and pool area, fantastic seaside activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, turtle feeding. Unusually helpful and friendly staff at the activity center at the beach. They really wanted us to have a great experience.
The minus is the food. One buffet restaurant with some inspiring courses but after a couple of days it gets boring. The a la carte restaurant had a nice international menu and great service. The seaside restaurant offered nice dishes but after a week the menu felt a bit limited. The area is wonderful but a bit remote.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to reserve a room toward the hillside. Since you spend the whole day at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Cecilia,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time at our Resort. Our devoutness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn that our Team Members had been able to exceed your expectations in order to make your stay unforgettable.

I am sorry to hear that your find the menu after a week a bit limited. We also provided private diner, with a selection of set menu, which becomes a soupcon of adventure, during your stay with us.

We hope this is the first of many more times we will have the pleasure to host you at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Warmest Regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful set on a very pretty cove. But........ It is close to one of the hottest places on earth with high humidity and breezes blocked by the mountain behind. The reception and bar areas have no airconditioning and the fans are in effective. Flowing perspiration is the order of the day.
If you think a cooling drink would help the service is so slow it is unbelievable. Just as well as the drink prices will blow you away. I got a bill for $80us for two G&T's.
One of the two restaurants is so expensive you need to be a sheik to eat there. It is a paradise spoilt by poor service and exorbitant prices.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Ehouse,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the location of Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Like you, I believe the Seychelles is blessed with a tropical weather, where you can enjoy the cool sea breeze and the warm sunshine on your skin. This is the desire of most of our guest. And I’m sorry to read that this was not your expectation.

I find it strange that you receive a bill for $80 for 2 G&T’s, as the highest price for this drink is not exceeding 18$. I would be very happy to investigate, if you could please provided me with the billing date and restaurant, in which you pay for the drinks. In regards to our restaurant, rest assure that our prices are in line with the rest of the 5 stars Resort‘s restaurant in the Seychelles.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff and hotel are excellent for a relaxing beach holiday.
HOWEVER....be aware that after 20 hours travel don't arrive before 1400 as you will not get access to your room, which arriving at 0800 on a very rainy wet day is not a good experience.
The only negative we would raise is the cost of anything liquid - coffee x 3 = £11.00 75cl Wine = £40.00 minimum average circa £90.00.

Room Tip: Beach view from raised bed area is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Ian

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We appreciate your kind comments about the Resort and the excellence service that the Team Members delivered.

I’m sorry to read that we were not being able to offer an early check-in. Our usual check-in time is 14:00 H and our check-out is 12:00 noon. Early check-in or late check-out is subject to availability on the day of arrival. Guaranteed early check-in or late check-out is subject to extra charge. Referring of our food and beverage cost, are in line with the 5 Star Resort on the island.

Please rest assured that all the issues you have raised have been addressed, in order to provide to all of our customer unforgettable experiences and a good the reason to come back.

We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Digue Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

actually we haven't been eating there yet but we have been spending mostly our whole after noon and it was fantastic with the sea front view and a nice cocktail and enjoying the nice breeze of the beach with the whole hotel, bar and swimming pool atmosphere that felt so good... however we have been there 4 times and the last one is now in october...wooow and i hope sooner or later when we'll think about having there food lunch or dinner it will feel great as much as a cocktail and the time spending there.... i want to wish them good luck and continue with the good services and kindness...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shania simone c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Shania,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review with our readers.
We feel truly honored to know you had a fantastic time at our Resort, and mostly, enjoying our cocktail and our leisure service. We are happy to read that the atmosphere of Kempinski Seychelles Resort has been such a highlight for you!

Thank you for the good wishes and we hope that your next visit you will try our delicious food in one of our restaurant.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing