We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful Seychelles!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful Seychelles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Kempinsky for making our stay wonderful!

I have been in Kempinsky Seychelles from Oct 11th 2013 till Oct 16th 2013 with my wife and 2 kids).

Good things:
- very nice and spacious rooms (mine was beach front room #309)
- perfect location of the hotel
- wonderful beach water and views
- excellent kids club (I had my 2 kids with me)
- very good breakfast with diverse options
- excellent Indochine restaurant (I liked the Omani Mixed Seafood Grill)
- very nice activities (volleyball, swimming pool aerobics...)

Few bad things however:
- relatively small swimming pool
- beach was full of sharp coral reef (although you still enjoy your swim while you don't touch the ground)
- no good coffee in the breakfast
- bad Wifi quality (and I was charged SCR1200 ~= $100 for 6 days, despite that I have been told it's free while becoming a member of the hotel's loyality program)
- lot of very small ants in the room

Final word: I highly recommend Kempinsky Seychelles

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AbderraoufLakhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Abderaouf Lakhal,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.
We are delighted to read all your compliments on the facilities, the food and particularly the service provided by our resort. Our goal is to turn moment into memories for all our guests, throughout all seasons.

We also have taken very good note of your comments that we need to improve. Comments like yours make us proud and encourage us to keep on working hard and offering the best of service to our dear guests. I have already shared your experience with our rest of the Team Members and necessary measures had been taken to improve our results.

Thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to welcome you back in our resort.

Warmest Regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    322
    114
    40
    21
See reviews for
239
680
30
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a place! absoultely stunning property and with absoultely amazing staff members to compliment.

Location/ property - Hotel is set amidst acres of lush greenery, mountains on one side and a stunning white sandy beach, the famous Seychelles granite boulders, and miles of turquise blue ocean on the other side. I would point out that the seas/ ocean in Seychelles is not as calm as compared to the Carribean for instance, or could be due to the time of the year we visited Seychelles in August. The beach had a handful of people at any time of the day and was non-intrusive. Great place to relax. The property itself is new and I felt was maintained to a very high standard. We found the room and lounge area spacious even with a baby cot and had a separate walk in wardrobe area and a decent sized bathroom. Bed was very comfortable, they oven organised a bathrobe and bath slippers for our baby!

Service - We went there to celebrate our daughters 1st Birthday and right from the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff member, Sheena, would go the extra mile to make our stay comfortable especially as we had an infant. We were in an Deluxe room which was located on the 1st floor, upon request we were moved to a ground floor beachside room as accessibility is easier. One had direct views of the ocean from the room, hear the calming waves of the Indian Ocean and the beach, deckchairs were on its doorsteps!

Our child was registered for the Kempenski Kids club and were encouraged to use the facility so that she gets to interact with other kids too. The Kids Club staff members Angela, Shelly, Pepe, you were amazing!

Shame I don't remember names of other staff members, but we had all positive experiences with all the staff members we interacted with at the front desk, restaurants, activity centre, Spa, housekeeping. Staff really cared for us.

Food - we are vegetarains and the food was excellent especially the breakfast. Indo Chine restaurant has good variety to cater to the vegetarian palate. The bar in the main building has live music every evening

Activities - if one would like to keep active, there were lots of events on a daily basis ranging from water sports, cultural trips, local experiences, snooker, reading room, casino etc

An outstanding place for a relaxing vacation!

You've given us such precious memories, that it will last a life time. Thank you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Kamandalan,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your daughter 1st birthday and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us, at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Our devoutness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations. It is an honor for us to read that you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer in our restaurant and our resort facilities which is one of our most important attributes.

As for our Team Members, you have mentioned in your review, I have surely pass on your kind comments to all of them personally, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your family stay unforgettable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your family back, especially your daughter in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Two weeks as couple in an environment where everything's been done so that we had been able to perfectly relax and enjoy our stay. A wonderful location (although not exactly with the same charme as Banyan Tree or Four Seasons) with long-stretched beach of white sand and crystal clear water, a resort that offers all you need from comfortable pool space over gym and spa to high quality, diverse food & drinks carried from all over the world as the Seychelles do not produce a lot of own food & drinks. Well equipped and spacious guest room, in particular the very comfortable and large bed. Very friendly and efficiently working staff, with personal attention (try the fruit bat curry). Each day a lot of organized activities like yoga on the hill, aqua dancing or kajak fishing. And if you fancy to feed some big turtles, that's possible, too...

María José and Dirk

Room Tip: There are sea view and hill view rooms. The hill view isn't that bad but, of course, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Maria Jose and Dirk,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful notes about your experience, in regards your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Our Resort is totally committed to exceed the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet and environmental location.

When it comes to dining, one of our goals is to provide our guests with an abundance of variety and quality and it appears from your review that you enjoyed many of the selections that we offer.

We hope that you find the time to revisit us in the future, so that you can once again relax in luxurious style.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed two nights on return from Denis Island, beautiful hotel, great location, but so expensive. We were booked in Bed and breakfast, our choice, but did not realise how they charged . Buffet dinner, over £100, wine £8 per glass,a G&T £9, simple lunch no drink, over £40.
Seems place set up for half board only, as noticed guests removing vast quantitie of food, when leaving after breakfast

Room Tip: Don't go B&B , too expensive. We had a beach facing room, worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your recent stay on Mahe after your return from Denis Island.

We have read your comments about our Resort and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them on Tripadvisor as our guest’s satisfaction is our main priority.
Your comment about the price of our F&B service has been noted and pleased be inform that price are well in line with the current market trend in other 5 star Resort in the country . Thus, we hope the explanation clarifies you concern and seek your understanding in this regards.

Thank you again and, we will be waiting for you on your next stay.

Warmest Regards,
Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Finally got round to doing my review of Kempinski from our Wedding in August this year.
We live in Seychelles, on Mahe, and had been to this resort a few times before during the day. We ended up choosing this venue to get married after another hotel majorly let us down three weeks before the wedding, by upping all the prices at the last minute.
We e-mailed Kempinski and they were able to give us an amazing, cost effective and detailed quote straight away, which was within our budget and also we could see that compared to the other hotel, they weren't making extra money off us for things like the registrar and certificates, photographer and hairdresser.
We met with Anna Pothin, one of the Sales Managers, who was amazing, answering all our questions, especially all my typical bridezilla nagging! They really put our minds at ease and were very friendly and professional. The package that we decided on was good value for money, and they were very good at sorting things out for us that we weren't sure about, for example booking the band and hairdresser.
The actual wedding day we had an amazing time, and everything went absolutely perfectly. It is a truly amazing setting, and we felt it was very private even though it was near the pool, we had our own little section. The food was amazing, the chef came and chatted to us and made sure that our guests with allergies were catered for and pointed out to them exactly what they could eat. The children were also well catered for. The hairdresser, flowers, band and photographer were all great, just what we had asked for. All the staff were so lovely and friendly, collecting us from the room in the golf cart and even helping me hide when my family wouldn't get out of the bar!
The rooms were amazing, really high quality and they have really thought about the space and how to make the most of it. Massive selection of toiletries, separate bath and shower, free beers and soft drinks in the mini bar, and the comfiest bed ever. The maid had come in while we were away and cleaned up all the 'getting ready' mess and laid slippers out. We were treated to wine, biscuits and a lovely floral arrangement on the bed when we arrived.
The next day we had a lovely breakfast, loads of choice and very courteous and friendly service. I can not recommend this venue anymore if you want a wedding in paradise in a high quality but unpretentious hotel. Feel free to contact me if you have any other questions!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Pee Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Reading your review, it was a delight as offering a warm and attentive service is in the core of our values. We are pleased to read that our Team Members especially Anna Pothin, had helped to create a celebration that you will never forget. Please rest assured that I have personally, shared your wonderful review with them.
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all of our dining options, your room facilities and our quality of service, which had surpassed your expectation.

We thank you for your loyalty and your high recommendation of our resort and we looking forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at Kempinski along with my wife for the honeymoon. Excellent property, with both sea view & hill view rooms. I had stayed in a hill view room. Though I couldn't enjoy the beach view, the hill view is equally good. Rooms are excellently maintained. The housekeeping staff were helpful, with no sign of annoyance. The beach facing the resort is good - long enough to have a good morning/evening walk with your partner. Even if the beach can't be compared with the awesome blue beaches in this island nation, it's still a good one. Besides these natural assets, Kempinski offers a short paid helicopter trip around the area - atleast when I was staying there. For snorkeling lovers, the resort offers snorkel, fins (shoes) etc. for free usage - not just within the resort beach, but also allows you to take them with you when you go around the island. The hotel staff definitely needs a special mention. They guided us with all local information that you need - like good restaurants etc. Also, they helped in planning our day tours, provided us with all that needed for the tour (like towels, snorkel etc.). Not to mention, the breakfast in the resort was awesome for us to start the day. Besides, the resort has the standard stuff - like Spa etc., which I didn't use though. Overall, it was an awesome time in the resort for us. Thumbs up to Kempinski!

Room Tip: The property is vast. So if you are a beach lover and want to be in the beach most of the time, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmalJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Amal Joe,

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted about our Resort. It is a real pleasure to read that your stay with us was delightful.

The Team Members and I are delighted to know that you have carried back fond memories of your stay. We are particularly pleased to note that you have enjoyed the various aspect of the resort. Your positive feedback will further motivate us to ensure that we continue our efforts to meet and exceeded the expatiation that our guest rightfully wait from us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our resort in the near future.

With warmest regards from the Sunny Seychelles,
Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with awesome rooms and views. What made our stay even better was the staff and their willingness to go the extra mile for the guests. And that was right through from housekeeping to the front desk, IT, waiters etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Nadia,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles. It was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay.

We appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all our Team Members. Our Guest’s comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with highest standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you to South Africa, so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.7 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#5 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be blissed in style! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort - Baie Lazare is the ideal location for those seeking an intimate getaway or an island adventure. Baie Lazare offers an intimate and exotic tropical paradise surrounded by untouched natural beauty. It is a tidal beach protected by a reef around 200 meters out. The Resort is tucked only half hours' drive from the International Airport and only 40 minutes away from the capital, Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing