We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for 5 days in the resort, the staff & service is superb. From our welcome on our day 1 to our last day we were just overwhelmed by the hospitality we experienced. One thing that I'd really like to appreciate is that they arrange buffet breakfast for travelers as early as 5 a.m. The private beach is very serene, quite & good for snorkeling. We even took spa which was too relaxing!!! Highly recommended for family as well as couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room, the convenience to access the beach is better as you can just walk out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IshiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear IshiG,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We were thrilled to have your whole family in our care for the 5 days and are pleased to have exceeded your expectation. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed our facilities and had a relaxing time out that Spa.Your high recommendation means a lot to us, as this will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best quality of service , with a smile.

On behalf of the Management and Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort we wish you and your family a prosperous New Year 2013, and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our resort.

With sunshine regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We are a couple with two little kids we were staying at the knpinsky's 8 days. It was wonderful! The resort is well located, the staff welcomed us and was really service oriented - as should be in 5 stars. Each one of of the staff can solve any problem even though not in his direct responsability.
House keeping - the room is always clean and well organized.
The food is the best - we tried various restaurants around the island, but we always came back. Best value.
Special thanks to: the kitchen chef - mr. Christian. Dining room staf : mr. Govind and Dipesh. Reception: sheena and Valerie. Mary Christmas guys!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Tayk,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We were thrilled to have your whole family in our care for the 8 days for your December break and are pleased to have exceeded your expectation. Your positive comments on our dedicated Team Members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best quality of service, with a smile. We are delighted that we were able to tickle your taste with our extensive offer.

On behalf of the Management and Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort,we wish you and your family a prosperous New Year 2013, and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our pristine resort.

With sunshine regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is amazing. It had the best bed that I have ever experienced in a hotel. The service was excellent. The view and location are amazing. I did miss not having a bathtub (don't worry there is a shower). It is slighty far from attractions so I recommend getting a rental car. The island is small so you can drive all over it. Such a lovely place. I hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear MyNazzal,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the kempinski Seychelles Resort.

we were pleased to have you in our care and are extremely happy to have exceeded your expectation. We are very grateful for the compliments, about our view and location of our resort.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the coziness of our bed, which is often commented by our customers.

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you back at the resort again.

With sunny regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I got married on the Seychelles on the beautiful beach of Baie Lazare in the Kempinski Resort on November 24th. We invited family and some friends and were a group of 25 adults and 5 children. We offered our guests a three night stay. Overall we had a fantastic experience. A bit tricky which venue to choose if you have never been to the Seychelles before. So after mailing various resorts and asking quotes I felt straight away that I was being approached personally here and that I had a straightforward answer to all my queries and concerns.
The place itself is magnificent. As the wedding couple we had been upgraded a Sea View room. Most of our guests stayed at the Hill view rooms and they seem to be all pretty similar. Read : fantastic. Spacious, big wardrobe, tastefully decorated, nice bathroom, endless choice of films free of charge and above all the bed was excellent (I travel a lot for my job and except for the Marriot I hadn't slept in such a nice bed).
We were a bit concerned initially that a 100+ rooms resort could feel anonymous and crowdy. But even though they were at the time at around 80% occupancy it never felt busy or crowded. (except maybe at breakfast sometimes).
The breakfast was very varied and the staff quite friendly, I read some negative comments on this site on this topic but we had absolutely no issue with that.
At night we ate at the buffet, and one other night we were offered a table to our group at the restaurant l'Indochine at no extra charge. We could even choose anything as a starter and main. The wedding ceremony was a setup at the beach with a priest from the local parish and the people assisting us with the setup went all the way to make it such as we wanted. Reception on the beach followed by pictures, then the dinner in the main room normally used for conferences. Initially we feared that the room would be too big and somewhat cool, but then again George and his team seem to be experienced in making things turn such that it all turns out nicely. I think by then they found out we are not a noisy bunch so we had a very flexible ending hour and could dance into the night.
There are quite some facilities to use complimentary such as snorkling, volleyball, pool table etc. the swimming pool is spacious the beach long enough to find your privacy.
Renting a car could be advisable should you wish to explore a bit of the area, which has some of the most remote beaches of the island.
Maybe a small drawback would have been the check-in and reservations. They are friendky but didn't always seem up to the same high standard as all the rest.
Maybe one last word to anyone interested in getting married with a small group at this resort. Bear in mind that it won't be cheap (the rooms are only a small portion of the total bill). But for us the most important point was that if you plan to spend money on getting married on the Seychelles (which you will do anyway) then it is paramount that you feel truly welcome and at ease so that you can fully enjoy the time with your loved one and your family and friends. Never did we feel that anything asked for was too much. And when offered a solution is was a real and efficient one. That is why we could focus on our actual wedding ceremony, and combined with this stunning scenery this resulted in every single one of us remaining with a fantastic memory of our wedding.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, particularly important for the Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear LNSB,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comment in Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort in November.

We were pleased to have you,your Family and Friends in our care, to make your celebration as memorable as it can be. We are thrilled that we have exceed your expectation ad your positive comments on our Team Members, especially George and his team will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving always the best quality of service.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our overall facilities and that we were able to tickle your taste bud whit our extensive menu. Your end comments on having a Fantastic memory does comfort us that, with a consistent focus and dedication , we will be able to satisfy our valuable customers.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our resort for your anniversary or earlier.

With sunshine regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort exceeded all our expectations. We really felt like in a paradise from the first day until the last moment.
As we booked the stay individually, the hotel offered us the airport transfer. Cold water and fresh cold towels were nice refreshment immediately after getting into the car. Within 30 minutes we arrived to the Resort. We were very warmly welcomed at the reception and the check in process was accomplished in an efficient and very welcoming way. Afterwards one receptionist walked us though the resort and introduced all facilities. Then he escorted us to the room where he offered the orientation in the room. Immediately the luggage was delivered. After 10 hours flight - a bit tired - we were just very positively pleased how things were arranged smoothly and friendly.
The room was amazing! We had a room with a great sea view directly from the bed! The first night we almost overslept the breakfast which was served until 11 am:-) Afterwards we just opened the curtains at night and every morning when we woke up the first thing what we saw was the beautiful scenery of the sea and surrounding nature.
The rooms were spacious, well maintained and kept very clean. The beds are incredible, equipped with very good mattresses and excellent linen. There is an additional big sofa and balcony or terrace, depending if you are located on the ground or the first floor. Our maid, Cecille, did a perfect job. The room was made up very efficiently and sometimes coming back already after a short time to the room we were just wondering how she managed to do so. On the second day we realised that the door closer is not adjusted properly and the door sometimes did not close automatically. We informed the reception and it was fixed immediately.
We enjoyed our time at the beach. The guys in the beach centre were very friendly and helpful, chatted with guests and always ready to give helpful advice or tips. They offered kayaks, snorkels and other sporting equipment. We recommend to bring with you water shoes (some are available in the beach centre) as the corals were everywhere and can be sharp.
The staff at the hotel was very nice and they really cared that guests were feeling well and left with nice memories. Lady in Red was not only available at the reception but she also walked around the pool and beach and talked to guests how they were, if there was something she could do for them or just explained about the local life and what was worth to see and visit around.
The hotel works closely with the Leo Diving Centre. We had few dives with them and definitely can recommend them. Everything was well organised: pick up, diving equipment, boat transfer, and all charged to our room account - no need to care about money for each and every dive. We heard that the Diving Centre would be shortly placed directly in the resort which would make the diving experience for Kempinski guests even more comfortable. Our last dive was organised directly from the resort - we were picked up by the boat at the hotel beach and after 5 minutes trip we just jumped under the water and for 50 minutes experienced another world.
We also recommend a nature walk with Achille around the resort up to the rock opposite the hotel. At the top of the mountain you have an incredible view and you can take amazing pictures.
Regarding the food and service we can´t say anything negative. Even though it must be really difficult to get all the ingredients to this remote island, we never experienced any negative answer when we asked for something special out of the menu card. Everything was possible and just so tasteful and delicious. Starting with the breakfast and amazing omelettes station where you can order out of the egg card whatever you like, through the beach bar grill station which offered during the lunch time a wide selection of meat or fish accomplished by fresh or grilled vegetables and other side dishes to the nice offer during the dinner. You can either opt for a thematic buffet style (curry night on Friday and local Creolean night on Sunday were our favourite ones) or you select the L´Indochine - an a la carte restaurant where you can go through an amazing journey along the India-Asia-China coast and compose the dishes from different regions and just taste the flavour - you will fall in love. Chef Christian made a very interesting presentation with explanation of the specific regions. Govind did also an excellent job. We were just wondering to see him still there - in the morning during breakfast, in the evening during dinner - still smiling and welcoming all the guests and handling his team in the restaurant in a very efficient way.
We usually finished the day in the Lobby Bar where Nishantha was taking care of us so nicely and we were really very pleased to spend the rest of the day there.
For an outside the hotel experience we recommend to visit the Maria Rock Cafe where you can grill the food on the hot stone directly at the table. A visit of the house of Maria´s spouse Antonio makes it so special and if you have the possibility for this excursion a lot of fun is guaranteed. All in one - a very nice local experience.
The island is beautiful. The beaches are great and everything around is so colourful and green. We were very positively surprised that the island was not overloaded with hotels and resorts. We really had the feeling to be at the very unique place of the world with all the beauties of nature. Kempinski just made our wish come true - we arrived home fully relaxed with pleasant memories and nice suntan. And at the end a special big thanks from us goes to Mr. Gaetano.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Silvia,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles resort.

We were pleased to have you in our care and are very happy that we have exceeded your expectation. it was lovely learning that you had a fantastic vacation and are very grateful for the compliments.

We were very delighted that you have enjoyed the overall facilities.The positive praises on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration and motivation to keep us on the right track in giving the best quality service. I am also glad to read that you have enjoyed our wide selection of food.

We do hope we can have the pleasure to host you at the resort in the near future.

With sunny regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my first stay at a Kempinski Resort, and based on my experience here, it won't be my last. This hotel is beautiful and quite spread out. We didn't even get a chance to explore all of the property. The infinity pool overlooks the ocean. What more could you ask for? We'd go back and forth between the two every day. There was always plenty of chairs available for use.

The hotel offers use of snorkel and kayaking equipment for no cost. They don't have many available, so you may find yourself waiting to use them. The beach is gorgeous, but the ocean isn't the best for playing in because there's a lot of coral, and if you don't have those water shoes, it can hurt walking around in the water.

The staff is SO wonderful. Everyone went above and beyond expectations as far as hospitality is concerned. We actually got married here and the manager was so helpful in planning our wedding day.

My only complaint about this place is the food. We got the daily breakfast buffet. They had a large selection, but nothing was amazing as far as taste goes. We had dinner once at the restaurant there. Incredibly expensive, and not impressive. If I were to have had that meal at any place in LA (we've got food for every palate), I would not have returned to that restaurant. And for the price, I was expecting much better. In fact, based on our first dinner, we decided that the nightly dinner buffet, at approximately $100/person, wasn't going to be worth it, so we ate elsewhere. Maybe I'm just a food snob. Again, being from LA, one gets spoiled with the variety of amazing food at their front door, so maybe I'm being too harsh. There's a restaurant called Maria Rock, which is about a 7-10 min walk away. Food is good and easier on your pocket.

The Four Seasons is about a 15-20 minute walk from the property. Definitely worth the trip. It, too, is a beautiful resort and the beach (Petite Anse) there is great. Much better for swimming. Four Seasons does allow Kempinski guests to use the beach, but you do need to bring your own towels. I guess this is something they used to provide, but no longer. Four Seasons will also give you some other choices for mealtime.

Kempinski is so easily a 5 star in my book, but because I'm rating the hotel based on all that I experienced there, I have to say it's a 4 because of the food. For the prices they charge, I expect my mouth to be satisfied. But service, property, cleanliness, sleep quality, just about everything else... a definite 5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianadepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking time in posting your valuable comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort lately.

We were pleased to have you in our care and are happy to have exceeded your expectation.We want to thank you for choosing our resort for your wedding day. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and we are very grateful for the compliments of our staff. We have taken good note of your observation in regards to our food and beverage. Rest assured that we have shared these with the concerned department heads in order to improve the overall service.

Your end comments for rating our resort a 5 start does comfort us that ,with a consistent focus and dedication,we will be able to satisfy our valuable customer.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our resort for your anniversary or earlier.

With sunshine regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This Hotel,had everything that we could ask for in terms of personal space, amenities, food selection, selection of restaurants and only a 30 minute drive from the Mahe Airport, and about 45 minutes from the Capital of the Seychelles , Victoria. The rooms were spacious , well maintained....should be its only about 12 months old, and service was very efficient. Just be mindful that it is the Seychelles and not cheap.....and isolated , so much so that you are like a captive audience , with your own pool (olympic size) and private beach....oh yes you can only walk so far up the beach before you hit the other, private keep off our beach guy. You can hire cars, taxi's , mini coaches for sight seeing, and you can also utilise the hotel shuttle into Victoria for a bit of sight seeing. Shop hours are very civilised over there, 0800 hrs to 1600 hrs, with a half day on Saturday. They trade in Euros, rupee, and US dollars, and the cost of a 4-5 hr drive around the island averages out at about $90 euros. A real treat for foodies is that the fruit is fresh as is the fish, wonderful servings of Snapper and Tuna, fillets the size of dinner plates....Are we going back....Yes, this time for an extended time period.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Chris R,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

we were pleased to have you in our care and are extremely happy to have exceeded your exception.It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic vacation and are very grateful for the compliments. I am glad yo read that you have enjoyed the island's fresh local fruit and fish as well as the beautiful nature the Seychelles has to offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming both of you back at the resort and host you for another adventure .

With Sunny regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range: $296 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing