We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous three nights in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous three nights in paradise”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm not sure how anyone could rate this place as poor or terrible! Food was priced as we expected it to be being that this is a Kempinski Resort. The hotel is about half an hour from the airport and they do provide a shuttle(125 Euros for 4 people) or you can get a taxi. We opted for the latter because we like to see the places that we travel through the eyes of a local. They speak Creole in the Seychelles and our taxi driver gave us a guided tour on the way to the hotel, it was awesome :)
The hotel itself was clean, the check in was easy and informative. We were upgraded to a beach view room without asking and then taken by golf cart to our room. We had our four year old daughter with us and they made the couch into a bed for her which was perfect. We walked out our back door, across the grass and then emerged through the bushes and *aaahhhhhhhh paradise found!!* The beach and the bay are beautiful with a reef which we did some snorkelling on. When the tide is high there isn't much beach to be had but there is an olympic length salt water pool at the main building. Snorkelling equipment is on hand at the hotel and so are kayaks. The beach was clean and well looked after and we had a blast!
The food was quite fabulous. We ate at the buffet and the pool bar and enjoyed our meals at both. I personally didn't have one thing that wasn't delicious the entire weekend. The breakfast buffet was one of the nicer ones I've ever encountered and our waiter Dipresh went out of his way to make us feel welcomed and cared for.
Our daughter developed a nasty ear infection and fever on the last night and the hotel was great in helping us get medication, a trip to the nurse and then they called ahead to the medical clinic to tell them we were coming. Check out was just as easy as check in, room service was prompt, friendly and tasty and housekeeping did an amazing job of clearing out the sand we tried really hard NOT to track in.
All in all, it was a lovely long weekend in the Seychelles and I would highly recommend the Kempinski Resort if you want relaxation, chilled out atmosphere and great service.
Also, if you go to Mahe, make sure to check out Victoria. It is a very laid back town with a chilled out vibe (think Sayalita in Mexico if you know where that is!!)

Room Tip: Beach view is pretty awesome :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBurwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear REBurwell,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort .

We were pleased to have you in our good care and are happy that we have exceeded your expectations. Your positive comments on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in delivering the best quality of service. We are very delighted; that you have enjoyed our overall facilities and that we were able to tickle your taste buds with our extensive menu. On the other hand, we do hope that your daughter has fully recovered since you have been here.

We should be pleased to welcome you and your family back to another relaxing weekend in the resort.

With sunny regards from the Seychelles.

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    353
    127
    47
    22
See reviews for
278
756
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Kempinski for 5 nights and have to admit that it was a really fantastic hotel. The location is beautiful on a nice stretch of beach, but make sure to bring shoes for the water because there is a lot of coral/rocks. The beachfront rooms are quite spacious and with a sunken lounge area created a nice sense of space. You need to rent a car to be able to get around the island and it is not the type of place you want to be stuck. We were a bit put off by the price of the buffet dinner (65 Euros p.p.) and didn't realise until later that you could have a la carte by the pool until 7pm.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CollinsClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Collin Class,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your October stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort Baie Lazare.

We are pleased to have you in our care; we are happy that you had a fantastic vacation and are grateful for the compliments on our beachside rooms.
However, we are sorry to hear that you found the prices of our food expensive , this is since almost all of the items have been imported and flown into the country that prices are a bit high not for us but everywhere in the country.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the resort.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a nice Hotel, great atmosphere, Wonderful Services.. but far away from everywhere!! Very far! Transportation in Seychelles is very Expensive..mainly Taxis..and I do think that it does not worthy that much, and looks like that they are transforming Seychelles in a "Rich Paradise" and there is no notion of money.
Kempinski is nice, but food is Extremely expensive..Breakfast buffet is EUR65 ( euros), one burger + a soft dring in the bar cost USD50.. I have never paid USD50 in a burger and Soft Drink..It is a kind of insane!! I did not enjoy much Seychelles..If you want a great vacation I strong suggest you to Go to Thailand...It will be cheaper and you have much more to do, and food are good and cheaper in any 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: Lake view is good.. better than hills view.. Ocean View.. Nothing special..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcilio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yambol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is more than great. Rooms, bed, service, cleanliness, food, absolutely everything.
A highly recommend it and while you are there definitely try the fresh orange juice, nothing like you've ever tasted before. Don't forget to bring water shoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My Husband and I went to the Seychelles for our honeymoon and Kempinski was the first of 5 hotels we stayed at whilst in the Seychelles.

We were given a warm welcome but the check in did seem very slow. We arrived at the hotel about 7.30am and we were told it would only be about an hour until we could check into our room. Over 6 hours later we finally got to check in! If they told us when we arrived that our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm we would have been happy with that - but as they told us it would only be an hour we decided to just chill in reception......so we 'chilled' in reception for 6+ hours......we were not happy and not a great start to our honeymoon.

Room....amazing. Really clean, and loved the 'honey pot' in the bath! Bed was extremely comfortable and the lounge area was lovely. The choice of movies was great - the best 'in room' TV we have ever come accross!

Food......5 star! Absolutely delicious! Despite the EUR 75 for the buffet dinner, the food was fabulous and couldn't fault it. Breakfast was great too!

Staff.......room for improvemement. It seemed that each person had their specific job to do - so if you asked one member of staff a question, they very rarely knew the answer. You were always passed from one person to another until you got an answer. Very annoying!

Honeymoon package - as part of the honeymoon package you were given a 'basket' of fruit, a bottle of wine, a cake and a 30 minute spa treatment. The cake took 3 days to arrive....having chased for it twice! The wine was lovely. But the 'basket of fruit' contained 1 apple, 1 plum and 1 banana........3 bits of fruit was not my definition of a 'basket' of fruit!

Despite my negative comments this truely is a lovely hotel.......and I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Crispy79

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We are pleased to have you in our care and have taken note of your observation; please be assured that necessary measure will be implemented to improve concerned areas. It is always through your constructive feedbacks that we can serve our guests better and make your next visit with us a more enjoyable one.

We are delighted to read your compliments regarding the room and that you have enjoyed your dining experience at the Café Lazare.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the resort for your first wedding anniversary.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from 7 nights at the Kempinski Resort. We we were well overdue of a real break which was which we were able to do in the Keminski. Our flight on the wonderful new Air Seychelles Boing777 arrived at 05:40am and we reached the hotel at 08:00am but the Reception staff kindly let us use the excellent Spa shower facilities at 10:00am when they opened as the room only comes available at 14:00. We were really appreciative of this as the over night flights left us a tired and sticky still dressed coming from a much cooler climate. The Middle East airlines also all arrived after 07:00am so with the long wait till we could get a room the shower was really appreciated.
The arrival was well orchestrated by efficient and well trained staff. As we also like to get to meet locals and sample local cuisine in local restaurants we did not take the half board option. This proved to be wise as food and beverages generally in the Seychelles are very expensive in comparison to South African restaurants. The average price was the same as we experienced in Switzerland or Norway which is about 4 or 5 times what we would pay for comparison food and ambiance in Cape Town. When we did use the hotel restaurants for lunch or dinner on a number of occasions, we enjoyed our food and were very happy with the quality, ambiance and service by well trained waiters in the Kempinski. Breakfast was a treat with an extensive buffet. Sitting on the patio enjoying a good read and a lazy start to the day was wonderful. Room service was also efficient and tasty. The a la carte is very good. The waiters were confident in their product and obviously again, well trained and chatty. I would suggest that for some not wanting to pay quite as much for food that you hire a car, go on excursions and visit the local restaurants and enjoy the local people and good food at about half the price.
The rooms were excellent, thoughtfully equipped, spacious and well serviced by friendly and efficient staff. We took an upgrade to a beach view room so it was a short stroll across the lawns to the beach. This is worth it as the lagoon view rooms seemed a bit far off. We were spoilt by chalets right in the beach at Labriz in the previous visit to the Seychelles.
In spite of local laws opening all beaches to all people, local private owners dont like you walking on the beach in front of their residence and security guards posted there actively 'encourage' you to turn around cutting short the walk along the beautiful beach that Kempinski is on. The staff assured us they had complained to the local tourist authorities.
Hiring a car in Seychelles has some interesting challenges if you regularly hire and know what is the norm. The process is less than transparent and the consequence of a damaged or stolen vehicle onerous. There are numerous suppliers so to be fair all I am siting is Comet organized by Creole and suggest you shop around. Sixt is the resident car hire and might offer a better option. Comet car Hire and Creole Travel Service found it very difficult to supply proper information on what was on offer and the terms of hire. When I received the terms and conditions after booking and paying, there were extra charges for licensing @ Euros10 per day. The Hire Agreement included a clause of Rupee50,000 for the theft of the vehicle if parked in a public place, a Euro2000 excess, extended hire charges for as long as the vehicle was in repair charged to the hirer and recovery for any devaluation of the vehicle due to accident damage. These are all impossible to quantify and the hirer is open to abuse unless they are prepared to fly back and contest in a local court! Bottom line in the agreement: it seems like they do not insure their vehicles and you will be charged for any loss or damage. Suggest you look at additional cover through your credit or preferred travel insurance. The rates are also roughly a B class vehicle at a J class price. The vehicle was new cleaned and well maintained. You can cover the whole island in 3 days and visit absolutely stunning beaches. This is worth while and we thoroughly enjoyed this very beautiful island in spite of the dodgy car hire agreement.
We have no hesitation to recommend the Kempinski Resort and well done to staff and management.

Room Tip: We had beach view ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allangt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Allan Thomson ,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort Baie Lazare.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have met and exceeded your expectations. We are really glad that you have chosen the resort for your overdue break, as the team always strives hard to make each and every guest’s stay a comfortable and memorable one.
Your positive comments on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

On behalf of the team – we again thank you for recommending the resort and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back at the Kempinski Seychelles.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Kempinski Seychelles Resort is a peaceful retreat that has everything you desire from a 5 Star Hotel, including-

>> amazing settings with great food and excellent service.
>> Buffet breakfast served up-to 11am, which I find ideal during my Holidays.
>> Buffet Dinners which have a different theme daily but are quite expensive @ Euros 75 each, unless you are on Half-Board basis.The Hotel has 2 Restaurants but no coffee-shop where you can enjoy a light Dinner, especially when you have had a heavy Breakfast and also Lunch during the Day's Excursion. (We had hired a car to go round the island for three days and visited many nice reasonable priced restaurants/Pizzerias).
>> Large Rooms with a super-King size bed, i Pod docking station, huge Sony flat-screen with a choice of about 100 free movies, balcony, sofas and a fridge filled with complimentary drinks.
>> Delightful modern bathroom with a luxury ceiling rain-shower head.
>> Normal Checkout at 12 noon ( surely extendable and ideal for later flights)

The Beach at Kempinksi is not great and the sea has risky currents. Furthermore, this area is far from the beautiful beach of Mahe- Beau Valon (1 hour by car), but we had decided to stay at the Kempinski and drive less than one Km to spend a whole day on the best beach in MAHE, which is at the nearby Four Seasons. TRIPADVISOR Ranks Kempinski as no.2 of the hotels in Baie Lazare after the Four Seasons Resort, which is much more expensive.
The Four seasons Hotel welcomes Tourists from other Hotels, which is surely a good marketing idea and as we had told the Reception that we wanted to see the Resort, we were given a cold drink and refreshing face towels. After that we were driven around by the bellboy in his buggy and finally dropped at the beach, where we were offered beach towels and sun beds free of cost to spend the whole day. We also enjoyed the casual indoor-outdoor setting of the Kannel Bar which makes it the perfect spot to relax and enjoy light snacks, lunch and refreshing fruit drinks and cocktails, This is located next to the pool and close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles.it was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay .

We appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all Team Members. Our guest's comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest's expectation . Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with high standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
960 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
8.5 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 36 in Mahe Island
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing