We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from 7 nights at the Kempinski Resort. We we were well overdue of a real break which was which we were able to do in the Keminski. Our flight on the wonderful new Air Seychelles Boing777 arrived at 05:40am and we reached the hotel at 08:00am but the Reception staff kindly let us use the excellent Spa shower facilities at 10:00am when they opened as the room only comes available at 14:00. We were really appreciative of this as the over night flights left us a tired and sticky still dressed coming from a much cooler climate. The Middle East airlines also all arrived after 07:00am so with the long wait till we could get a room the shower was really appreciated.
The arrival was well orchestrated by efficient and well trained staff. As we also like to get to meet locals and sample local cuisine in local restaurants we did not take the half board option. This proved to be wise as food and beverages generally in the Seychelles are very expensive in comparison to South African restaurants. The average price was the same as we experienced in Switzerland or Norway which is about 4 or 5 times what we would pay for comparison food and ambiance in Cape Town. When we did use the hotel restaurants for lunch or dinner on a number of occasions, we enjoyed our food and were very happy with the quality, ambiance and service by well trained waiters in the Kempinski. Breakfast was a treat with an extensive buffet. Sitting on the patio enjoying a good read and a lazy start to the day was wonderful. Room service was also efficient and tasty. The a la carte is very good. The waiters were confident in their product and obviously again, well trained and chatty. I would suggest that for some not wanting to pay quite as much for food that you hire a car, go on excursions and visit the local restaurants and enjoy the local people and good food at about half the price.
The rooms were excellent, thoughtfully equipped, spacious and well serviced by friendly and efficient staff. We took an upgrade to a beach view room so it was a short stroll across the lawns to the beach. This is worth it as the lagoon view rooms seemed a bit far off. We were spoilt by chalets right in the beach at Labriz in the previous visit to the Seychelles.
In spite of local laws opening all beaches to all people, local private owners dont like you walking on the beach in front of their residence and security guards posted there actively 'encourage' you to turn around cutting short the walk along the beautiful beach that Kempinski is on. The staff assured us they had complained to the local tourist authorities.
Hiring a car in Seychelles has some interesting challenges if you regularly hire and know what is the norm. The process is less than transparent and the consequence of a damaged or stolen vehicle onerous. There are numerous suppliers so to be fair all I am siting is Comet organized by Creole and suggest you shop around. Sixt is the resident car hire and might offer a better option. Comet car Hire and Creole Travel Service found it very difficult to supply proper information on what was on offer and the terms of hire. When I received the terms and conditions after booking and paying, there were extra charges for licensing @ Euros10 per day. The Hire Agreement included a clause of Rupee50,000 for the theft of the vehicle if parked in a public place, a Euro2000 excess, extended hire charges for as long as the vehicle was in repair charged to the hirer and recovery for any devaluation of the vehicle due to accident damage. These are all impossible to quantify and the hirer is open to abuse unless they are prepared to fly back and contest in a local court! Bottom line in the agreement: it seems like they do not insure their vehicles and you will be charged for any loss or damage. Suggest you look at additional cover through your credit or preferred travel insurance. The rates are also roughly a B class vehicle at a J class price. The vehicle was new cleaned and well maintained. You can cover the whole island in 3 days and visit absolutely stunning beaches. This is worth while and we thoroughly enjoyed this very beautiful island in spite of the dodgy car hire agreement.
We have no hesitation to recommend the Kempinski Resort and well done to staff and management.

Room Tip: We had beach view ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allangt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Allan Thomson ,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort Baie Lazare.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have met and exceeded your expectations. We are really glad that you have chosen the resort for your overdue break, as the team always strives hard to make each and every guest’s stay a comfortable and memorable one.
Your positive comments on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

On behalf of the team – we again thank you for recommending the resort and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back at the Kempinski Seychelles.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    388
    141
    53
    25
See reviews for
321
832
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Kempinski Seychelles Resort is a peaceful retreat that has everything you desire from a 5 Star Hotel, including-

>> amazing settings with great food and excellent service.
>> Buffet breakfast served up-to 11am, which I find ideal during my Holidays.
>> Buffet Dinners which have a different theme daily but are quite expensive @ Euros 75 each, unless you are on Half-Board basis.The Hotel has 2 Restaurants but no coffee-shop where you can enjoy a light Dinner, especially when you have had a heavy Breakfast and also Lunch during the Day's Excursion. (We had hired a car to go round the island for three days and visited many nice reasonable priced restaurants/Pizzerias).
>> Large Rooms with a super-King size bed, i Pod docking station, huge Sony flat-screen with a choice of about 100 free movies, balcony, sofas and a fridge filled with complimentary drinks.
>> Delightful modern bathroom with a luxury ceiling rain-shower head.
>> Normal Checkout at 12 noon ( surely extendable and ideal for later flights)

The Beach at Kempinksi is not great and the sea has risky currents. Furthermore, this area is far from the beautiful beach of Mahe- Beau Valon (1 hour by car), but we had decided to stay at the Kempinski and drive less than one Km to spend a whole day on the best beach in MAHE, which is at the nearby Four Seasons. TRIPADVISOR Ranks Kempinski as no.2 of the hotels in Baie Lazare after the Four Seasons Resort, which is much more expensive.
The Four seasons Hotel welcomes Tourists from other Hotels, which is surely a good marketing idea and as we had told the Reception that we wanted to see the Resort, we were given a cold drink and refreshing face towels. After that we were driven around by the bellboy in his buggy and finally dropped at the beach, where we were offered beach towels and sun beds free of cost to spend the whole day. We also enjoyed the casual indoor-outdoor setting of the Kannel Bar which makes it the perfect spot to relax and enjoy light snacks, lunch and refreshing fruit drinks and cocktails, This is located next to the pool and close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles.it was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay .

We appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all Team Members. Our guest's comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest's expectation . Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with high standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon to the Seychelles. The Kempinski hotel really was outstanding. Beautiful setting and wonderful service. The hotel has been designed in keeping with the surroundings but all the 5 star luxuries are there. We were upgraded on arrival to a sea-view room which had a 4 poster super-king size bed, champagne, heart shaped cake and fruit, iPod docking station, huge Sony flat-screen with a choice of 90 free movies, balcony, sofas and huge waterfall shower.

We stayed half-board and I would recommend this as even Mahe, the main island, is not that big, but there aren't a vast array of restaurants about, except for other hotels. Besides which, the buffet meal was always extremely good with the most exceptional freshly squeezed orange juice. Many thanks to Saw and Elna, 2 waiters at the Cafe Lazare who were consistently so welcoming, remembered who we were and chatted to us - really, really good!

There is a nice little gym, 50m pool and lovely loungers, snooker table and board games. Great things about the Kempinski it's worth knowing: a) you get all the drinks provided initally in the mini bar for free (top ups are paid for later) which is a nice touch b) you get water every evening with bed turn down c) there are 3 computers for free internet access (not that fast broadband but it's there, wireless is chargeable throughout the hotel) d) the hotel provides snorkels, jelly shoes and kyaks for free e) there are giant tortoises to look at and stroke at the hotel and they are truly incredible - we visited them nearly every day! f) the orange juice at breakfast is incredible!

However, it's also worth noting that drinks are incredibly pricey - a glass of orange juice is about £6 and a Diet Coke can £4 - and you pay for drinks on half-board! The pool is lovely and not-heated, which isn't a problem on hot days but was a bit too chilly to lounge in on cloud covered days.

We hired a car to go round the island for a day and visit the 'capital' (it's quite small) which was completely worth it. Slightly dodgy roads but everyone goes slowly and the scenery is breathtaking. Also did a day trip to Praslin and La Digue with Creole Travel which was brilliant as you got to take in all the other amazing beaches.

Bear in mind that the weather in the Seychelles is variable and unpredictable. For sure, it is a tropical paradise and it's always warm to hot but in 8 days there we had only 1 day of solid sunshine (which was glorious) - plus one day of solid downpour rain. They don't seem to be able to predict the weather accurately and every resident of the islands we spoke to all disagreed about whether September was a good month or not. Overall though, it didn't ruin our stay because the islands are still fairly undeveloped, apart from the hotels and the people are extremely friendly - probably because they're quite geared up for tourists.

Can't recommend the hotel highly enough though

The staff are all really friendly and welcoming and the islands are superb.

Room Tip: All the rooms would seem to have an excellent position. If you want more sun, I heard reports that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenMintola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles.it was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay .

we appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all Team Members. Our guest's comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest's expectation . Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with high standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel during the first days of our vacation in Seychelles.
The hotel Is pretty excellent, comfortable, pleasant and beautiful.
It is a very good choice if you have a car.
Rooms are big, luxury, the most comfortable bed ever!!
Breakfast is varied and also very good.
A few shortcomings:
1. It is far from the most beautiful beach in Mahe- beau valon (1 hour by car). I would suggest take a bit less luxury hotel but in beau valon area.
2. Dinner in the hotel is too expensive: 75 euros per person for a buffet dinner
3. This just my point of view. I didn't like the fact that they require a dress code for breakfast
4. A bit moldy smell in the rooms- you get over it after a while though

Having said all that, we really enjoyed this hotel and had a food time

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan_Poller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles.it was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay .

we appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all Team Members. Our guest's comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest's expectation . Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with high standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at Seychelles right after our wedding with a connecting flight so we were very tired. We arrived early morning and we were given our room right away after breakfast. The room was very nice also decorated for as because we are honeymoon couple. We were also presented with fruit, sparkling wine and a cute cake. The bad thing about room was the smell of humidity which was all over the place, even on the sheets. The service was very high quality every breakfast was an hour of pure attention for us. The sea is horrible for my taste. Full of dead corals. Dinners were also very pleasing. Everything closes down so early and you need a car to get around so be careful if you want to eat outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Kayapar ,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles.

We are pleased to have you in our care and have taken note of your observation; rest assured that we have discussed it with the concerned team members in order to make your next visit with us a more enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the resort.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in a Junior Suite for five days of business meetings and relaxation in between... The suite was amazingly spacious, comfortable and wonderful, including two large lounge areas and respective terrace. The bathroom was delightful and very well equipped. The suite was exquisite and perfect. My only regret was that I could not share this 'home' with my better half during my stay - This is obviously and most definitely the ideal destination for couples!
The restaurants and bars are located near the central area of the hotel and the reception. Delicious and varied buffet style breakfasts are served at the Café Lazare, and different themed buffets are served for suppers. The restaurant L'Indochine offers a culinary discovery with different menus that take you on a delicious journey around the Indian Ocean.
The staff of the hotel and restaurants were always extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful - a feature that in itself deserves an extra star to the hotel.
The wonderful beach stretches all along the bay and is a great place for a stroll or for a swim. Some good snorkelling off the beach. The hotel is barely visible from the beach, hidden behind and among the lush vegetation. The long swimming pool is a great place to relax.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to my friends and family...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelScholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Scholl,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort Baie Lazare.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have met your expectations. Your positive comments on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon together with your better half in the resort.

Very best regards,
Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morez, France
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

a wanderful experience at kempinski seychelles...we were welcomed with refeshements and wet scented towels by the wanderful hostess... all is natural..materials, colours, food... a rsort very well integrated into the nature of seychelles and bay lazare
we had a very good news upon arrival: we have booked hillview room and we have been upgraded to beach view room with direct acces to the beach.
the suites are very big with a beautiful romantic bed: all is very warm and comfy and the bed is the most comfortable i have slept in:
we had only breakfast at the resort but is was very good and a large choice of food. the waters and all the employees are so so so nice
the beach is very beautiful and wild with so many birds singing all day long.
i would recommend to lend a car like we did in order to explore everyday the island and its other wanderful beaches: my favorite is anse louis.
if you want to dine outside the resort you will certanly need a car since is night at 6 a clock and the roads are not lightened so all the people that were hiking had flashlights.
as for the cleaning of the room it is made twice a day! and the night service give you the weathercast for the next day and makes your bed so you just have to jump inside and sleep. our housekeeper Andre was really nice.
in the bathroom they provide all cosmetic products you need and very good quality, comfy sleepers and bathrobes.the minibar is at first full and offered by the resort you should pay if you want it refilled. we have had once room service wich was expensive 2000 roupies for 2 koft burgers and 2 cheese cakes but good.
they have a very good kids club and they have a lot of activities, they have a small pool for the kids inside.
at our departure since it was early in the morning they offered us to wake us up and to set up 2 breakfast boxes to go.....that was very surprising..
keep up the good work....hope to come see you again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yanutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Yanutu,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort Baie Lazare.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have exceeded your expectations. The wonderful experience that you had and your positive comments on our dedicated team members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort.

Very best regards,
Jean-Marc Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing