We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, very different, great for kids.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria's Rock Cafe

Maria's Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, very different, great for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Basically this is a hot plate restaurant. They bring you out a hot plate for you to cook your own food on. It was very tasty, and I enjoyed my crepe too. There is a large pirate ship which my nephews would love, so I asked about booking in for 20 people and the waitress said we could book the whole restaurant! Also was very good about allergies. Will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peejay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    189
    48
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun and unique experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Maria's was a welcome change from the horrible food at Kempinski. Hot plate beef, chicken, fish all cooked by yourself at the table. It was a fun experience for my partner and myself. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Just a short walk uphill from the Kempiniski.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic local creole food, especially the hot plate fish fillets which you cook yourself! Amazing flavours and you are given a stand and a hot plate which is heated by a large candle underneath. The fish is served raw and you place the fish and trimmings on the hot plate to cook. The best meal I have ever tasted!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

it is an amazing place not only to eat but also to expore the arts and sculptures of Senior Antonio who is staying next to this place and get inspired by his work and life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank yana_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting and uniqe place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch at Maria's Rock Cafe. The stuff was very friendly. We cooked our own seafood and had a nice coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiroslavaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Rock Cafe also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
 
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Maria's Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing