We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a wonderful villa overlooking the most beautiful beach you can imagine..the housekeeping, the buggy drivers, the beach staff were all wonderful. The food was wonderful but the service was horrible. At dinner we sat for twenty minutes before we had to flag down a waiter to serve our drinks and take our dinner order. We then had to flag him down again and again to refresh our drinks, etc. The next day we ate at the beach bar...same thing...I spent most of the meal flagging down the servers even tho they were gathered at the end of the bar chatting. We are not the type of guests that are demanding, but the service did not match up to our $2000 a night room rate. Besides this bit of aggravation it was a delightful and beautiful place to vacation. There is a new manager so hopefully the restaurant servers will step it up a bit! Again, our villa was the most exquisite room and by far exceeded all our expectations!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Skd829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobsuri, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review of Four Seasons Resort Seychelles on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you thought so highly of our villas, housekeeping, buggy drivers, beach staff and food, but we were very sorry to hear of the problems you experienced with the service in our restaurants and bars.

We really appreciate your feedback, as we are continually striving to improve our guests' experience. If you were able to find the time to email us your details, we would love to get in touch with you to try and resolve the issues you found during your stay.

With warm regards,
Bob Suri
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Perfect Spot for our honeymoon! Really beautiful rooms, with beautiful views over the bay! The bay at the resort is beautiful - the most turqoise water we saw in the seychelles! The rooms have a beautiful infinity pool with overview of the bay! We got a beautiful little welcome gift - which was a small chocolate cake saying happy honeymoon and a lovely bottle of veuve cliquot! Perfect stay - amazing hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobsuri, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear traveler2226,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on your Honeymoon last year. We hope to welcome you again soon - perhaps to celebrate your anniversary next time!

With warm regards,
Bob Suri
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Seychelles for Americans is a very distant destination and also a very expensive alternative especially due to the unfavorable dollar/euro exchange rate. We were apprehensive about booking our Mahe stay at resort chain since chains are just that chains, and usually sterile and not reflective of the local flavor. The Four Seasons in Mahe was everything that you would expect form a Four Seasons hotel in terms of quality service, plus they truly reflect the local fabric of Seychelles.
The hotel was extremely clean and well kept under the watchfull eye of the MD, Mr. Suri. The food was amazing also.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Villas are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobsuri, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear Mr Ali,

I am so pleased that you found the Resort reflected both the service you would expect of Four Seasons and the richness of culture we have in the Seychelles.

It was lovely to meet you during your stay. I know it's a long trip from the States, but we all hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards,
Bob Suri
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It was too short a vacation (in July 2009) when the resort had just about opened.
We arrived at about 8:30 in the morning but were checked in - whats more, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a hill top villa with an amazing view.
The staff all address you by your names and we even got a bottle of champagne when we let slip that it was a delayed honeymoon.
The beach is probably one of the best in Seychelles and the service is impeccable (as is expected of a Four Seasons resort). The only complaint we had was the price of tea - yes, I know it is a five star resort, and I did pay 75++ euro per person for a buffet and had no regrets or complaints. However, when the tea in a restaurant was 10++ and it was the same FREE tea bag as in the villa it was a bit disappointing.
However, I will definitely come back once I manage to collect enough of a bank balance again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobsuri, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear rsinner,

We are all so please that you find enjoyed your time at the Resort, and that you enjoyed the service. We're glad you were able to spend your delayed honeymoon here, and hope the little extra touches made it magical for you.

We're sorry to here you weren't pleased with the pricing of the tea in the restaurant. We'll look into this for the future. Hopefully everything else made up for this.

I hope you will be back to see us in Seychelles in the future.

With warm regards,
Bob Suri
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I won't bore with the usual praises for Four Seasons -- the Seychelles is their usual great standard. On our last night, we have just returned from the Steak Shack restaurant, which is so new that it is not mentioned in any of the brochures. Great, unpretentious steaks and salads, served on metal plates at picnic tables. The complimentary rum was an excellent finishing touch. If you tire of the fine dining, and yearn for an beachside barbecue, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our trip started off on the right foot as we had made arrangements through the resort for a taxi and it was a seamless arrival. We arrived at the resort at 8:30 am, but were still given access to our room. This was better than we could have hoped for as we were dead tired after traveling from San Diego. The spa was great, as was the villa. We had a hillside villa and it was quite nice. The only drawback was that the trees had grown, obscuring our view of the bay. The resort is isolated so if you are spending a prolonged time there, you may wish to have access to a car. All in all, we had a great time before starting our expedition on The World.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomlotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Looking for peace, silence, a good rest this is the right choice. All tones of lush green and white sandy beach next to wonderful Indian Ocean full of colourful fish. Rooms are perfect. I can say the best hotel room I have seen so far, among 53 countries I had visited.

Room Tip: Queen villa was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.1 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range: $1,030 - $3,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing