We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Villas de Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas de Jardin
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our stay here was better than one would expect for any kind of accommodation. A very true personal service starting from the office staff to those at the property. Everyone involved really went out of their way to make this special. The property is amazing! Really... the pictures I had seen before making the reservation do not do it justice. The location needs a bit of a walk to a very nice beach & a restaurant but If you are renting a car or want total peace it's simply excellent. Well done all. Ulrike, the person managing it is fantastic and a big part of why I would definitely recommend this over & over!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMM7919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdeJardin, Director of Sales at Villas de Jardin, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear PMM7919,

Thank you very much for your review. We are always so happy to hear possitive feedbacks from our clients.

We hope to welcome you as well as many other satisfied guests in Villas de Jardin soon!

Best regards from Port Glaud,
Aneta Stropova
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
125
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Villas de Jardin is an excellent self-catering accommodation, with high quality facilities and beautiful views of the beach at Port Glaud on the West coast of Mahe Island. It is an hour from the airport. Staff here emailed me in advance with a map and driving instructions. They offered to send a taxi to the airport for me as I was arriving very late in the day, and the driver was waiting for me at the arrivals. They also arranged a hire car for me while I was staying there. The price of the hire car was OK, but you can definitely get a better rate online if you book in advance and collect from the airport. However, you should be sure you can drive in these mountainous Seychelles roads, otherwise you should use a taxi. Alternatively, get a sat-navigation and hire a 4x4 mini-SUV.

Villas de Jardin is very close to the Port Glaud Police Station and next to the President's Village Children's Home. Taxi drivers should be able to take you there pretty easily if you tell them this. The entrance is right on the Western coastal road. However, that is just where the reception is based. The Villas themselves are high up on the mountain. It is a VERY steep climb to get to the villas and even if you have a car it is can be a struggle. There is parking up by the villas. The scary part comes when you have to drive back *down* the mountain. Make sure you are in first gear all the way!

Your reward for being so high up is a stunning view of the Indian Ocean and a view of Theresa Island. I have never seen a view from a villa quite like this, and you can see this view from every room including the bathroom. Every morning I would have breakfast on the terrace, which is very big and very professionally built. In fact, the whole complex is very well built and there is a communal swimming pool too. This is 5* hotel standard. You get a large kitchen-living room. It has everything you need including cooker, microwave, fridge, lots of pots, pans, cutlery and even salt and pepper shakers.

The bedroom was nice and large and you could see the Indian Ocean from it every morning when you wake up. No television sadly, but this view was better than television. Even so I did miss my news channels. Also, no phone but there is a socket for a phone so maybe this will be added soon. The bedroom had lots of wardrobe space, two bedside lamps and there was a safe that worked very well. Only thing missing is iron and ironing board, but you could go down the mountain to the reception and do your ironing there.

Bathroom was very big too, with WC and bidet and a very large shower cubicle. Toiletries supplied were shampoo, hard soap and body lotion. No conditioner or shower gel so you should bring your own. There was also an outside shower. I didn't use it as I felt a bit exposed if I showered outside. In fact, I felt a little bit exposed showering inside too as the doors and windows are full glass and not frosted.

Room servicing was good and the place was kept very very clean. No mosquitos or other insects could be seen. I used my own anti-mosquito facilities plus there is a some supplied too. Air conditioning is only in the bedroom, but if you open the bedroom doors then the airconditioning can be felt throughout the villa because it is quite strong. Villas de Jardin does have wifi, which is just fine for surfing but don't expect to be able to Skype or use YouTube.

My villa was not too high up on the mountain, which was good as it meant there was less distance to get to the beach. The beach here is just across the road. Beautiful white sand, but also some stones and shells, so make sure you have sandals. There is a another beach about 100-200 metres to the north and that is much better so you could even walk there.

About 100 metres to the south is a mini-supermarket where you can pick up essentials. The staff speak English and you can even pick up cakes, samosas and other cooked food. Not sure how fresh it is, but I didn't feel any ill effects from it. Further in that direction, about half a mile, is the "Island Cafe" which sells a variety of food (including pizza!) but it closes before 6pm so you can't have an evening meal there. The other food option close by is to drive about a mile north to the Constance Ephelia Resort. This resort is split in two (north and south complexes) and each has different restaurants. They aren't cheap though. Expect to pay 1000+ rupees per person just for a meal. WARNING The reception staff here might try and tell you the restaurants are "fully booked" if you tell them you are not a resident. Ignore that and just head straight to the restaurant and ask if you can have a table. I never had any trouble.

Finally, I would like to thank the staff here for making this such a wonderful stay. Especially Ulrike the resort manager who is always friendly and helpful. She even showed me the four giant tortoises they keep here which are amazing creatures. And when the airline cancelled my flight home she did everything she could to help me get a different flight arranged. She was even kind enough to print the flight receipt emails. Thank you Ulrike.

Room Tip: All the villas are good, but the ones very high up could be a problem if you don't have a car to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zillimeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdeJardin, Director of Sales at Villas de Jardin, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Ballencrieff,

Thank you for your nice feedback, sharing all the important information and taking time to post your comments.
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

My best regards,

Aneta Štropová
Sales & Marketing Manager
Villas de Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you translate the words “Villas de Jardin”, they translate to The Garden City. It is truly amazing what they are trying to achieve out there in Port Glaud. At the moment there are 7 villas, all of which are fully furnished and fully equipped. The bedrooms are decent Deluxe 5 Star calibre size, and the open plan living room kitchen is good too. However the balcony and the bathroom, just take your breath away. Firstly the bathroom is humongous (possibly bigger than the bedroom), there is an indoor and outdoor shower, and the fixtures and fittings are stylish and I think Modern European in decor. And the balcony is amazing with a view of the Indian Ocean, it is spectacular.

Ulrike the resort Manager was very helpful. She had not only organised a car for us for 3 days of our 5 night stay, but also arranged a restaurant booking at one of the premier restaurants on the Island for our Anniversary dinner. Ulrike makes sure that everything is perfect for her guests in the Resort, she knows the meaning of customer service and practices it to perfection, she is a huge part of the resort and many 5-star and/or 6-star resorts can learn from her example and expertise. She even informed me, where to park the car in Victoria, and she woke up for our 5:30 am departure. Furthermore, we paid for a 1-bedroom Villa, however we got to stay in a 2-bedroom Villa. We didn't need the extra bedroom, nor the extra humungous bathroom, but the additional section of the balcony was a site and a treasure to behold.

Due to the location being in Port Glaud, which is on the south side of the island, it is a necessity to have a car for the length of you stay in the Villas. I do believe that this resort is of a 5 star calibre; however there are a few things which can take Villas de Jardin 'up a notch'. We have noticed that there are Television Aerial sockets and telephone sockets in the bedrooms, but no devices, once the devices are arranged to be installed the bedrooms will be complete, and we also believe a tower fan is of a necessity in the living room, and it is quite dark in the evenings, perhaps some extra lighting would be helpful.

The site will definitely benefit with a restaurant, because of the lack of availability of top quality restaurants in Port Glaud and Port Lornay, an onsite restaurant will not only benefit the guests of the Villas, but will offer a decent income for the Resort. The Resort has already got 7 Villas in operation, two 2-bedroom Villas and five 1-bedroom Villas, plus we have also seen that there is a Studio Villa available there, and there is on-going construction of another 1-bedroom Villa. The gardens in the resort are absolutely majestic and cannot be faulted, and the swimming pool is a decent size for a couple.

If I had to reorganise my holiday to the Seychelles, I would forget about going to stay on Praslin and La Digue (and only go to them on excursions) and just stay on Mahe, and stay at Villas de Jardin for an entire week. My fellow travellers it is my recommendation that you should stay at Villas de Jardin a true “Garden City”, it has only opened earlier this year, and currently the introductory price is too good to pass up. I have recommended this resort to all of my family members (both in India and UK) and work colleagues. We were initially going to stay at Le Meridian just up the road on Barbarons Beach, which would have cost us GBP 990 for 5 days, our 5 day stay at the Beautiful Garden of Eden cost us GBP 665. We did go and explore Le Meridian, and it is a decent 4-star hotel, and I wouldn’t have been disappointed if I had to stay there, however Villas de Jardin was cheaper and far superior quality in accommodation.

Ulrike and Aneta, keep up the good work. Thanks for making our Anniversary stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the Villas look over the Ocean, Mountains and Gardens, If you can stay in the 1-bedroom Villa, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellbuzz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdeJardin, Director of Sales at Villas de Jardin, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear travellbuzz_11,

Thank you very much for your review. We are always more than happy to hear possitive feedbacks from our clients. We hope to welcome you as well as many other satisfied guests in Villas de Jardin soon!

Best regards from Port Glaud,
Aneta Stropova
Sales & Marketing Manager
Villas de Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was 3 days in Villas de Jardin, and I love the place, its quiet, grat view, very clean and comfortable acomodations.
And the pool is very nice in the afternoon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The villas are well built and maintained by the local staff. Views from our verandah were magnificient without forgetting the time spent on the swimming pool.
Special thanks to Ulrike for her proffesionalism firstly on dealing with our booking and secondly for making our stay in the villa very comfortable. Imane & Adil

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a 3 day stay.
Everything was great, and the location has a magnificent view.
Good also the value, the price was worthy the place.
Thanks a lot Aneta and Ulrike!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdeJardin, Director of Sales at Villas de Jardin, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Scuba70,

Thank you for your nice feedback and taking time to post your comments.
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

My best regards,

Aneta Štropová
Sales & Marketing Manager
Villas de Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

What a nicely build and decorated house, with very helpful staff members and a manager who nows that service and politeness are the key elements for a vacationist.
I will not tell you more, because I am afraid that these remote and lovely situated island of 7 villas will be booked out for the time being, if I write my real feelings down.
So try it and love it.
Not recommendable for people with difficulties to walk many stairs or steep roads. But if you have a car, no problem at all and in this case the management will help to find the right car rental as well

Room Tip: any of the villas are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdeJardin, Director of Sales at Villas de Jardin, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Hg K,

Thank you for the possitive review of our resort. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at Villas de Jardin, we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Seychelles.

Sincerely yours,

Aneta Štropová
Sales & Marketing Manager
Villas de Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Glaud
5.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
0.8 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Jardin

Property: Villas de Jardin
Address: Port Glaud, Port Glaud, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Port Glaud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Port Glaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas de Jardin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas de Jardin is a small, self-catering resort comprising of 5 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom villas. The general concept of the villas is modern design, simplicity and luxury. This stunning property is located on the picturesque hillsides of Port Glaud overlooking the northwestern coast of Mahe island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villas de Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Jardin Seychelles/Mahe Island - Port Glaud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing