We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerf Island Marine Park?”
Review of Cerf Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cerf Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed only for 3 nights but we had a good time, very beautiful villa with a nice view, very quiet location and a good "walk" work-out to go to the villa....the food was not every evening very good.. they have to work on preparing Duck!! But a very nice staff!! The Marine Park is a water bike ride away and if you want to go there with a boat from the resort it cost you 25 euro pp for a 10min boat trip, would be nice if they would organize this for less money...internet/wifi is available but very slow! Overall a very nice place for celebrating our 30 year wedding anniversary!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear sas63 ,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay at the resort during your recent visit in the Seychelles.
Your comments have been noted and where passed to the relevant departments.
We take this opportunity to thank you for your honest feedback and we wish many more happy holidays in the future.

Sincerely
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 331 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked this resort for our honeymoon. From start to finish it was amazing! A private boat transfer was arranged by the resort making arrival stress-free. We were very warmly welcomed by Julie who then took us to our villa which was perfectly positioned overlooking the bay yet partially in a forest at the same time. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us and the bed was artistically decorated with hibiscus flowers!
The island itself was beautiful. Perfect beaches. Often we were the only people on a beach. Wonderful palm trees and turquoise waters - bliss!
The resort itself was also very quiet and peaceful. You could easily have a pool to yourselves every day (there are two of them).
We booked half hoard. The breakfasts were bountiful and very tasty. Each morning we were greeted by a warm friendly smile by each and every member of staff.
Evening meals were of four courses, with a lot of variety each night. One night, we had a creole night, with creole food and entertainment.
It's very ease to take excursions to Mahe - 10 minutes on a boat.
Everyone from staff to management are very welcoming, smiley and cheerful, with amazing service.
We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a perfect honeymoon setting!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear DVZM,
We are delight you have taken the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor travelers.
I am pleased to see that we fulfilled your expectations, your positive comments have been shared with the rest of the team, we are sure you will remember your honeymoon in the Seychelles for the rest of your life.
It is always a pleasure receiving positive reviews, our guest feedback is very valuable and an essential tool in order to continuously improve our services and provide the best possible experience to everybody.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon and in the meantime we wish you a wonderful life together and many more happy holidays.

Best Regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Pick up from airport ok although car had to have luggage on seat as not big enough. followed by wait at dock for staff. Even though paid for private transfers. Just what you need after 20hours travelling in 31c heat.
Room fine though view was of what looked like staff outdoor area with green tarpaulin type structures to one side.as well as trees and the windfarm and docks. We stayed in the passion fruit lodge. which a honeymoon couple reviewed last week with no mention of this view. Perhaps the rose-coloured spectacles where on.
for 5 days no visibility underwater as currents whisked up the sand and weed. The beach either side of restaurant is postage stamp and small in size. There is lots of fauna (SEAWEED) of many varieties. We did eventually get some better days though rarely clear like the Maldives. If you have never snorkelled then you might like it as a first look at the marine life. On a clear day.
The food was very hit and miss. The standard and quality varied from day to day started well and seemed to decline. Last lunch for calamari took 40 mins and was so overcooked like leather. couldn't eat it. (they did take it off bill) . We were the only couple dining at the time as well? On previous occasion had discussion with chef about the lobster after lunch for that evening. Only to be advised that the chef hadn't relayed it too the evening staff. Communication seemed to be an issue in many areas!
The staff whilst pleasant do not always take notice of your order. So expect to be given things you requested not to eat.
There was one woman who was really good but turned out she was just helping whilst someone was on holiday. Training of staff would help also if attention to detail and guests would go a long way. Can order same cocktail and be given a different version each day. Same with the omelettes. In the end we didn't know what to expect the menu one night said Duck as the special only to be given beef casserole. (a chef that cant tell the difference between meat and poultry) was a first for me! They did change to something else but no duck to be found!
Perhaps being in our 50s and having travelled fair bit this sort of thing is not to be expected, but for so many to spend so much money to get mediocre is unfair.
If you want a very quite spot with only one restaurant and no distractions then this may suit. The beds have a plastic sheet on mattress with very thin layer of towelling. On repeated nights when aircon tripped out awoke soaking in a damp sheet not very nice experience. Plastic sheet was tacky I thought never ever had that on a hotel bed before!!!!
The days of disappointment having spent so much and knowing this is it make the best of it as we all know it takes a long time to save for a special holiday to be greeted to average at best. By the way the steep hills and steps are hard work in the heat luckily there are golf buggies to help getting up and down for anyone in training this may be good for you. Every time tried to add photos unable to load will try so you can see for yourselves

Room Tip: Friya passion was quiet even if below helipad and tennis court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMWITHEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear LMWHITEY,
It is with great disappointment that we read not only your previous review but another one on the same issues.
We have already replied to most of your queries on the previous respond so there is no need for a repeat, I will focus on different issues in my hopefully shot reply
We have already reply about the transfer and the villa allocation, the “green tarpaulin type Structure” you can see from you villas it is actually our own vegetable garden, we are trying to be self sufficient as far as possible in a country where even tomatoes and potatoes are imported. Some of the guests are not bothered by the windmills view which is part of the Seychelles country plan to go green.
Being in the marine park we have a lot of restriction in terms of cutting vegetation and plants most of which are protected species as well as removing flora as seaweeds (not fauna which refer to animals) from the beaches. Seaweeds are eaten by small animals and insect which are part of the basic diet of crabs, which are part of diets of birds and fishes and so on so we are not allowed to remove as much as we would like to. We do clean seaweeds from the beach according to the sea tides at least once a day, seaweed are used afterward as compost.
We have already spoke about the water clearance and presence of marine life on the previous reply, I have been working in the Maldives for 4 years and let me assure you that even there you have days where the visibility is worse than here as this is a natural phenomenon and cloudiness is created either by moving sand or plankton (literally microscopic marine life at the bottom of the sea food chain) fluctuating in the water.
All our dishes are prepared fresh therefore on some occasions waiting time can be longer than expected, we always try and select the best product available on the market, sometime supplies are not as expected, the calamari you mention for example have been sent back to the supplier.
We mention already about staff issues and let me assure you that we are working hard on a daily basis in order to improve our staff service skills.
No need to go into the duck dish once again.
In this very own web site you can find over 100 pictures both in daylight and at night time, posted by other guests where Mahe and the wind mills are clearly visible so nothing to hide on that side.
Overall once again all the above could have been easily solved while at the resort if only you concerns were brought to our attention.
We will continue to work hard in order to improve our product and we will definitely take your comments on board and turn it into a positive resolution for the future to come.

Sincerely
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Firstly, allow me to qualify my title above by saying that if I had read a review like this I would definitely not have booked this resort. All of the recent reviews I read on this site were positive without exception which contributed largely to the booking of this location.

I have used Trip Advisor for many years when looking for suitable resorts / holidays and although I've been disappointed a few times have never yet been moved to write a review...until now.

We booked our holiday through Voyage Prive and would like to put on record that from start to finish their service, once they had our money, was virtually non existent. In our frustration we ended up corresponding directly with the resort regarding issues that needed clarification prior to our arrival.

This is where our story begins, as having informed the resort that my wife had recently had a hip replacement, and requesting a Villa not too far from the reception and dining area, we were given the Villa at the very top of the resort just below the Helipad.

To be fair the resort were very good ferrying us about with Buggies but the need to do this for every trip to anywhere in the resort was frustrating to say the least and with a little forethought and planning could easily have been avoided, especially as we subsequently learned that the resort was half empty during the whole of our stay, although it was apparent that some of the Villas were under renovation, (not mentioned by VP or the resort prior to arrival). Younger people arriving after us were put in Villas much closer to the main areas.

Having had very poor service from Emirates (unusual) on the outward journey, we arrived for our "Private Transfer" to the Island which was actually the morning staff boat.

The check in was smooth and friendly enough and after unpacking etc we began exploring our surroundings and were very surprised to find that the resort's beach was about as big as a decent size back garden and was virtually unusable at some times of day due to high tide which brought in all sorts of weed and debris which nobody was in any hurry to clear up.

We subsequently found out that there was a decent beach about a 30 minute Kayak ride away but with no facilities at all and of course trips were available at extra cost to neighbouring Islands, not exactly what we had in mind so we resigned ourselves to a holiday by the pool which is not exactly what we were expecting, all very disappointing. I would never travel 21 hours to sit by a pool, I can do that anywhere.

Generally speaking the clarity of the water around the Island was again disappointingly cloudy, although we did get a couple of clearer days towards the end of our stay which softened the blow a little. There is very little coral and a lot of fauna, if you like that sort of thing.

We were also a bit surprised that none of the other reviews mentioned the fact that this Island is directly opposite the wind farm on Mahe Island, which is basically what your view is on a day to day basis. Didn't see any photos of that.

Shall we move on to food?

We were on the half board package, which was all that was offered, although we subsequently found out that full board was an option depending on who you booked through. Breakfast was fresh fruits, Bakers basket and a choice of eggs with the usual bits to go with, I'm not a big breakfast eater so there was plenty but the quality of the food was a bit inconsistent, depending on which chef was on duty.

Lunch was available at extra cost (not cheap) with one blackboard special which was never priced.

Dinner was always started with soup, a small second course followed by a choice of either some sort of local fish with rice or something else. One evening we ordered the Duck with red wine sauce and were served...Beef! Nobody was able to explain how this happened and our waitress explained that she thought it was duck but had never tasted it so she couldn't be sure. It was served in chunks a la Beef Casserole, something you could not possibly do with Duck unless you reformed it. Anyway they took it away and alternatives were offered, with rice of course.

There is a Lobster option on the menu at a supplemented price but 24 hours notice is required, and a minimum order of 500g per Lobster, and upon enquiring we were told that they could only get 100g lobsters so we gave it a try on a couple of occasions and they were small but very nice.

On our last night we were informed that they did in fact have some 500g Lobsters so being our last night we ordered, and yes, you guessed it, they were smaller that the 100g ones we had been given on previous occasions. Oh dear.

One other frustrating thing about dinner was the fact that you could never get any information on the evening's menu to help you make a decision about whether to have another option, which required notice. It was like the evening menu was the Island's best kept secret.

Overall the food was very disappointing at this resort, House Wine is £15 a bottle with anything a bit better £20 and more. Beer is £8 a pint for local bottled.

Staff wise although pleasant enough many of them appeared under trained and indifferent and there was a distinct lack of leadership and management about the place. We certainly never, to our knowledge, saw or met the General Manager, but we did get a letter from him on departure thanking us for spending our honeymoon at the resort...we have been married for 28 years. Enough said.

Wi Fi is available free in the main reception area but is very slow, and in your room at £25 per day!! If like us you need to keep in touch with business etc this is prohibitive to say the least.

On the positive side the weather was generally good, the resort is quiet(?), and the Villas are nice, although the Air Conditioning kept tripping out in ours.

Anyway, I think I have gone on long enough, I think you get the general idea and I've got a few things off my chest, if you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask.

Room Tip: Fri La Pasyon was a good Villa but at the top of the very steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverfox055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Silverfox055
It is with great surprise and disappointment that we acknowledge your review, especially considering that all points raised by you in your review were never mentioned to the resort during your stay. I trust that they could have been easily solved at that time but I will try shortly to reply to all your queries.
When you inquired directly with the resort about your wife walking difficulties you were informed that the resort was built on a hill and that it was therefore not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties and we were ready to cancel your booking without any extra charges.
Being built on a hill, even the lowest rooms nearby the restaurant, reception and beaches, require the use of steps or short uphill/downhill walks and therefore not suitable for anybody with walking difficulties. After you contacted the hotel, Villa Fri Lapasyon was especially blocked and allocated to you because as it is one of the few villas that has a flat entrance with no steps and the buggy can stop right in front of it and we truly believed it was the best solution to your wife’s condition as all the other villas require stiff walking, or steps to access them. We apologies if this was not considered at the ideal villa allocation, but at no time at check in or during your stay you have asked for a villa change which was very possible considering that the resort was not fully booked.
There is no villa under construction at the moment, the hotel carries out however regular routine and preventive maintenance throughout the resort as the wooden flooring and walls require constant attention.
The private transfers you have booked with your holiday refer to the transfer between the airport and the hotel which I believe it has been honored. All the hotel boat transfers are schedule as per the hotel activities and guest’s flights which means that most of the time they are shared. Your arrival trip was combined to the staff transfer as it was close to your landing time so you do not have to wait at the marina unnecessarily which is not ideal after a long flight.
There is not much to be said about the location of the resort and the view, some guests like it and are not bothered other does not. There are endless possibilities to discover the surroundings of the resort and the Saint Anne Marine Park, both by walking, from the main beach there is a 30-45 minutes beach walk to the south side of the island and by sea, on the north part there are plenty of snorkelling points and deserted beaches easily reachable by canoes and pedal boat which is why many of our guest have enjoyed their stay at the resort. The fact that every day, you can discover a new spot makes the adventure exciting. The marine park itself if full of marine life with plenty of tropical fishes, sea and land turtles, sting rays and eagle rays which often are visible from the resort jetty, it is not an aquarium so you need to go and find them. At times the clarity of the water is not perfect but this is due to the wind and waves that move the sand around the island which is changing shape at any other season.
Shall we move to the Food?
Our package start from half board which includes the accommodation, breakfast and dinner, upgrade on full board (lunch) or all-inclusive are available either through the tour operators or directly at the resort at the guest discretion.
For lunch we offer the dish of the day or our guests can choose from the a la carte menu, dinner is Table D’hote with a soup of the day, followed by a 2 choices of starter, a main dish to be chosen between fish or meat and the pastry chef’s dessert. We are fully capable of catering for special diets and offer vegetarian options as well.
We are constantly receiving positive comments about the food we serve at the resort, obviously the food cannot be to everyone’s taste and this is why we are always eager to cater for special needs or taste once we are aware of it off course.
The duck dish you have mentioned it is actually a Duck Civet which is a typical French dish prepared with duck braised in red wine with vegetables; the way our Chef cooked it on that night was with the duck breast diced in pieces but can also been done with duck legs or other parts. I can assure you that at no time you have been served beef, as I have personally had the same dish on that night. I am sorry that it was not of your taste and am glad that an alternative was offered to you, with rice of course, which is, as well as in other countries, the basic accompaniment for many dishes in Seychelles but we also had a potato and a vegetable side dish to choose from, like every night.
As per the lobster I believe there was a huge misunderstanding. Lobster are sold by weight and the price you see on the menu it is for every 100 grams. We suggest to order at least 500gr because smaller than that there is no much meat. Size and weight of the lobster may vary according to the market availability and we try to match our guests’ requests by giving either 1 big lobster or more small lobster according to the quantity they ordered. I am pleased to see that, although small, they were of your taste.
Dinner menus are ready by lunch time they are not a secret and they are available at any time for review. Very few times guests have inquired at lunch about the dinner menu and where promptly informed by our F&B Team.
Prices for beverages at the resort are very competitive for Seychelles and much lower than many other hotel and restaurant in Mahe or in other islands. I believe 15£ for a bottle of a good Chilean wine is a good and affordable price compare to the UK prices, local beers are £4 and imported beers are £5.
Staff training is our main concern and it is an ongoing priority for us but with a high level of turnover and low skilled personnel at times it prove to be difficult. Management presence is always there, you had conversation on a daily basis with Julie, the front office supervisor as well as Sandrine our front of house manager . We also actually met and we had a short conversation where I personally made you taste some of the local liquor we sell at the bar. We always try to personally meet and farewell all our guests, at times it is just not possible. I also personally write and personalize all the welcome and thank you letters, unfortunately I was not physically fit the day your letter was prepared and it was done by somebody else. I can assure you that this episode will not reoccur in the future.
The internet connection in the Seychelles is via satellite and it is a service which is contracted. The rate is standard for all hotels in Seychelles and at a huge cost. We are happy that our guests can enjoy free internet in our reception area however.
You will be pleased to know that the problem with the air condition in your villa has been identified; spares have been ordered and will be shipped soon from abroad.
Overall we are disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay at the resort, the positive reviews you have seen before are genuine and are the reflection of the positive journey some of our guests have experienced. We have received many positive review meaning we are moving toward the right direction, we are seriously taking in consideration also those negatives in order to work harder in the future to rectify any service which is not up to our guests expectations. As previously mentioned, all the above could have easily been sorted during your stay if you had “got it out of your chest” while at the resort. Unfortunately no complaint whatsoever was raised by you and we could not be possibly be aware of it.
I hope this few lines have clarify some of your queries and please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you require any further clarification.
Sincerely
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed our honeymoon on this lovely resort. The staff are great and the service levels and response to any issue outstanding! We stayed in Friya Passon. Passion Flower the highest Villa next to the Helli Pad and when we were first taken up to it thought there is no way we can walk this day in day out!. Down was fine but up... we did it once...But the golf buggies are available anytime and we were taken up to our villa each time without a problem and got taken down when my wife wanted to wear heals for dinner! The Villa is beautiful and massive and the spa bath amazing and outdoor shower such a treat shower in the rain unique!
The resort is beautiful the view from our villa outstading and it was quite private and much better than having a villa with a garden (no point) the restaurant and food is of excellent quality and varied. Chef is superb. We put on 10lbs in a week! Service sometimes a little slow but that does not matter as no rush. But not when Jessy or Jullieta are on they were absolutely first class and attentive and so socialible and sometimes too quick!!
Julie is also a star and sorted a few issues we had very professionally and effectively. Management team we couldnt speak more highly of and big thank you to Giorgio to
Trips to Moyenne and Mahe worthwhile, Take a pedallo out and explore the island lovely little beaches. Hire a car on the mainland (50 euro per day) via creolle travel and explore its a gem of an island so much to see take a whole day and tour. West coast particularly and the drive, views and beaches totally breathtaking. Only 8 - 10 people at the resort when we were there so more staff than residents so very quiet and ideal for us and honeymooning, Snorkelling a little dissapointing expected it to be clearer and more colourful but sun was not out properly and cloudy on a number of days, best fish and baby squid seen by the jetty. Overhaul you pay a lot to be here but you do get a wonderful resort and are very well looked after, great location, top quality food and service. Many thanks - If only we could do it all again tomorrow!!

Room Tip: Have a balcony room and not a garden room and the higher the better if you have a hillside villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Rob 1832,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday in the Seychelles and your stay at Cerf Island Resort.
You positive comments have been shared with the rest of the Team and everybody is happy that they had the change to contribute in making your holiday unforgettable.
We wish you many more happy holiday and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely

Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort
Seychelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner, our eight year old son and I stayed at Cerf for 5 nights in July. We had a truly amazing stay. Our villa was Bwa Nwanr, the Tortoise villa, which composed of two rooms with a bathroom in each, one of them had a jacuzzi in it. All the rooms and bathrooms were tastefully decorated.
The hotel itself had all you could wish for - two swimming pools, a beautiful beach, a restaurant and a bar area by reception which was our favourite area to sit and enjoy a drink after dinner. The food in the restaurant was fantastic.
The hotel is very secluded being on a separate island but at the same time it is only a 10 minute boat ride from Mahe so if you wanted you can explore Mahe and what it's got to offer. There are some very beautiful beaches on Mahe. The new shopping centre on Eden Island was our favourite.
Everyone at the resort was extremely helpful. Special thanks to Sandrine from us who made our stay as smooth as it was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nad2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Nad2202,
On behalf of all the Cerf Island Team I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your positive experience with the rest of the world.
We are very glad you and your family have enjoyed your holiday in Seychelles, your review has been shared with the rest of team and everybody is very grateful, we are very passionate about hospitality and your positive comments are very rewarding.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in the meantime we wish you many more happy holidays.
Best regards

Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived in the Seychelles first, our luggage some hours later. This had nothing to do with the resort, this was due to our transfer. However the staff at the resort were second to none in keeping us updated, and when our luggage did arrive, it was greeted by staff and 2 grateful guests with near celebrations. The pick up from the airport upon arrival was efficient, the boat ride from Mahe to the Cerf Islands was a great experience, 2 young man ensured safe boarding and disembarking! Once at the resort the staff had already been advised our luggage had been delayed. Sandria escorted us to the reception area that overlooks the Indian Ocean, there she explained the layout of the Resort, times breakfast, lunch, dinner etc. We had the option to be driven by Club Car to the helipad, which we did. I would recommend as you will see a panoramic view of the beautiful picturesque Seychelles. Then we went to our Villa. 4 poster queen size bed. Which looks out on to a veranda, which views the Ocean, and the trees. The bathroom consists of a huge bath, shower and toilet, the bathroom is roofless. There is plenty of clothing space in the big wardrobes and there is a safe, TV, DVD player. There is a small library to borrow DVDs. Voltage is 220v. On the resort is the reception, dinning, 2 pools, beautiful sandy beach. The Villas are placed up the hill. You would need to be fairly fit to walk up, but you can ask for the Club car to take you up and down from your Villa. There are trips you can take to other islands we did the Moyenne Island visit, a British report brought this Island and brought in the giant tortoise which inhabit the Island. Well worth a visit, but you will need to be fit to trek, it's very hilly. Also a boat will take you to the Island there is no dock you have to get off into the Ocean and obviously the same going back, be warned if you have a camera or valuables you won't want to lose them! Food is fabulous, al a carte. My favorite waitress is Juliette, she makes you feel special, shows an interest in how you are enjoying your stay. Beware of the birds, who will want to join you for breakfast! During dinner there is a reprieve (they're asleep!). Due to the Cerf being an island there is a constant breeze which is lovely. Oh the spa massage, wonderful this was complimentary! I personally highly recommend this tranquil and peaceful place to come and recharge, relax and have fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
Thank dwbeulah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
There is nothing worse than arrive at your holiday destination without your beloved luggage, luckily on this occasion the retrieve was quiet fast and you had plenty of time to enjoy your well deserved holiday.
We are glad you have enjoyed your time at the resort as well as your accommodation, your dining experience and all our services and facilities.
Is good you mention the possibility to visit the nearby islands, many visitors prefer to visit only the most famous islands of Praslin and La Digue, which undoubtedly are indeed amazing, but the marine park of St. Anne, with the island of Moyenne and the wonderful lagoon, are capable to offer amazing views and unforgettable emotions.
The hilly resort is the perfect occasion to get fit, after the abundant meals we offer, as well as the canoes and pedal boats, but as you said golf cars are available through out the day, at the end our guest are on holiday and we want them to relax as much as they can.
Overall we are very thank full that you had a good time with us, your positive comments about out resort and Staff have been shared with the rest of the team and everybody is very pleased. We hope we will have the change to welcoming back again soon.

Sincerely
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerf Island
5.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
174 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,368 reviews
6.4 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerf Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerf Island Resort

Address: PO Box 1071, Mahe, Cerf Island, Seychelles (Formerly Cerf Island Marine Park Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Cerf Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Price Range: $380 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerf Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the Sainte Anne National Marine Park, The Cerf Island Resort offers 24 intimate and luxurious villas, within a naturally elegant settings which is exclusive to this boutique hotel resort.. The resort boasts of fine dining restaurant, two infinity swimming pools, pool bars and beach side dining, secluded full service beach, relaxing lounges,Tennis court, helipad and luxurious nature spa - thus offering a truly authentic and sumptuous Creole experience. The alluring emptiness of the white sand beaches offer a personal oasis in nature's tropical playground. Relax and listen to the sound of the breeze in the trees and the gentle waves on the beach as you sip cocktails at the Bar. The infinity edge Pool and Lounge, offer the perfect relaxation. The marine park waters around the Island are a diving dreamland of abundant tropical sea-life. Watersports provide the intrepid with the ideal way to explore the island. Stroll amongst tropical vegetation to the marine reserve viewpoint to experience the benign mix of flora and fauna. Cerf Island Resort is the location for a truly memorable holiday in one of the most pristine natural environments on the planet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerf Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerf Island Hotel Cerf Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing