We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil gem of a find”
Review of Cerf Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cerf Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A tranquil gem of a find”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What can I say, we dropped on this holiday through Voyage Prive, it is the most peaceful, tranquil, island, just off the main island of Mahe, so with the choice of quiet life on Cerf Island, or more activity on the main island of Mahe, what a fantastic choice, a very short boat ride to this exclusive island, with friendly staff, wonderful food, glorious accommodation, what more can you want out of a relaxing holiday. Scuba diving was sorted for us, through the hotel, and staff knew of this when we arrived, couldn't help us enough, snorkelling and kayaking (free of charge) was fabulous, worth checking out on Internet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAnnek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear CaroleAnnek57,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and we are happy you have shared your positive experience with the rest of the travelers.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome here again soon in the meantime we wish many more happy holiday in the future.

Kind regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    78
    26
    26
    19
See reviews for
31
248
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

From start to finish our holiday was special. Got out of the airport were met by taxi and boat and since we arrive early morning, we were prepared to wait on the beach for our villa to be ready, however due to there being only 6 other guests our villa was prepared early. The villa itself was beautiful (we stayed in the hillside Fler Payanke this is the closest villa to the facilities and perfect if you were like me - pregnant and out of breath the whole time!). The half open bathroom was such a novelty and we had a wonderful view of the sea from our veranda where we lounged, read books and had our tea!
The staff were always happy, proactive and ready to help. We stayed half board so had breakfast and dinner included. Unlike a lot of resorts we've been to, all meals are a la carte but this was perfect as you really could not eat more than the 4 courses at dinner and the ample breakfast of your choice. We had light lunch a couple of times but mainly enjoyed the local fruit platters.
At one point we were the only couple left but the resort pace kept going and the staff made sure we had a romantic dinner by the beach at one point and the other times, the chef came out personally at breakfast to check what food we would like for dinner. All food the chef cooked was brilliantly executed. The best dishes were of course Creole and we asked for the seafood and fish options when possible.
The half board doesn't include drinks, but we found it was hot and humid, so mainly drank water. The water at the hotel is bottled and sold, but prices are not too bad. Generally you will find that the whole of the Seychelles treats water as a precious resource so even in supermarkets, be prepared to pay a couple of pounds for a 1 ltr bottle.
We split the time between staying on the beach, at the infinity pool (either of the two is wonderful), kayaking around the island (this is great for all ages as the waters around the Marine Park are all shallow), did some snorkelling and took the resort transfer across to the Mahe island a few days in a row. We hired a small car and literally criss-crossed the island seeing a bit each day. If you get itchy feet like us, doing this is a great option.
The managers were fab also. They came and talked to us and basically treated us like one of the family, gave advice and generally were on hand if we had questions. They even wrote a lovely personalised letter at the end to thank us for our stay and saw us off all the way to our return boat at the jetty.
No kids under 7 allowed, so it was a beautiful place to roam around, be surrounded by nature and the odd tropical rain storm, get to know your friendly resident gekko and generally breathe in fresh air!

Room Tip: If your fitness levels are low, then request for a lower villa as the ones towards the top require w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear sabsUK,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Cerf Island Resort, your compliments have been shared with the rest of the Team, it has been a pleasure having you with us during your holiday in the Seychelles.
We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Piergiorgio & Sandrine
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We found a good value holiday to Cerf Island and thought we would give it a try. We flew with Qatar airways, pretty good, on time, no real stop over time, less than one hour. Our package was to include a taxi transfer and boat transfer supplied by the hotel, unfortunately ater travelling for 20 hours the taxi was nowhere to be found. So a rep from Creole Travel pursuaded one of their taxi drivers to take us the 10 minutes journey to Eden Marina. He was not best pleased, and drove like a maniac, which was not a great start to holidaying in Seychelles. The boat transfer was painless, on a 9 metre boat for 10 minutes. The greeting was a little subdued, and the check in took 35 minutes which was ridiculous as we were the only people checking in and they knew we were coming!
The resort is very peaceful, no cars but golf carts to transport you about if required. It is a very steep resort, so you would need to be mobile.
The villa of which there are 24, was large and airy with a 30 ft balcony - this was fantastic. We were in a hillside and a perfect position. You could see the sea through the trees, no one over looked us,(which can't be said for them all.) an oudoor shower, hich was wonderful and as the resort was extremely quiet the whole 11 days we were there, just perfect for relaxing.
The food was not as good as we had expected (see previous reviews on TA) which considering the largest number of people in the resort at any time was 12, really should have been much better. The chefs occasionally came out to talk to you and on the last 2 mornings (there were 4 guests) we could almost choose our menu, which was good.
The sea is shallow for quite a distance from the larger of the two beaches and we saw eagle rays every day. They enjoy leaping out of the water, which was fantastic to see. The two infinity pools were nice but very small, so no serious swimming there.
The staff are what make this establishment - they are pleasant, helpful and almost without exception smiling.
The mossies on the beach late afternoon, and on the balcony were a pest, the hotel supplied citronella candles but this didn't really deter them. The bed has a mosquito net but this does have holes to thread over the posts of the bed, so not really too effective.
The newish managers (a couple we think) are very good, approachable and friendly. They really could do with using this quiet time to train their staff a little more and also apply a little TLC to some of the areas around the lobby etc. Staff were sanding down and re-staining the decking around the larger of the two pools on our last two days, which was needed, but was a little noisy.
We popped into Mahe using the hotel boat - (there is a charge if you use it when the staff do or on your own, except for 830am and 430pm) one day, it was very hot, noisy and worth a couple of hours visit but really no longer. The market is an eye opener, UK environmental health officers would have a fit!
Part of our package was an evening on the beach with dinner - this was delayed a number of nights due to the weather, but was worth the wait. Delightful, the stars were out, the beach had been cleared and set up with candles, citronellas, a fire was lit and the table laid - lovely!
After contacting our travel agent, the return trip was faultless, even if it was 5.30am!
The weather was lovely, some rain, usually over night, a little cloudy but when the sun was out it was very hot, so be warned.
Wifi would be appreciated, free of charge in the rooms, not just in reception - a number of guests complained about this.
There was a very young russian couple, who married on the larger beach. The detail that went into this ceremony was lovely, if a little sad that they were on their own, no family or friends. They invited us down to the beach to share in the cake, which was a lovely touch. They looked extremely pleased with how it all went.
We have returned to chilly, snowy UK but have overall enjoyed our first visit to Seychelles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear cftjw,

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share your positive experience with the other travellers.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your time at the resort and we hope you will have good memories of the Seychelles for many years to come.
We have well noted your comments and let me assure you that we are constantly working in order to improve our services and facilities, all our guests comments are very valuable and useful for us and your suggestion have already been taken on board.
If I may, I would like to clarify a couple of points you mentioned on your post.
The land airport transfer to the jetty was not organized simply because, unlike the boat transfer which is compulsory, it needs to be requested at the time of booking, and this was not done by your travel agent.
Check in time is 2pm and the procedure itself takes no more than 10 minutes, we are happy we have managed to provide you with a free early check in only 35 minutes after you reached the hotel.
We take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing to spend your holiday at Cerf Island and we hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was gifted 3 days honeymoon at cerf after 3 days on silhouette. I am myself a local. Cerf Resort was a quiet place, excellent if you are after a stress free holiday. The staff mostly seychellois were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our villa was clean and lovely, food was quite delicious. Their common pool was clean, beach area also clean i believe daily. They offer free snorkelling equipments and kayak...We particularly enjoyed the jacuzzi in the bathroom after a day in the sun. Two ladies at the spa did a lovely massage for us. we took the honeymoon package. next day we went for a 30 mins neck/shoulder and back massage. unfortunately couldnt do it at same time cause it seemed they had only one therapist from then on. that will be a disadvantage if couple wants to take massage together...but from a business point of view i understand why...but nevertheless after leaving that 30 min massage we both felt really rejuvenated and stress free.good spa therapist!

only sad thing for me, was i lost my watch gifted to me by my husband. I remember leaving removing and left it in the room on the first day, and didnt touch it after...but we changed room due to aircon issues, and completely forgot about it till 2 days later..sadly it wasnt found.. But i wont go around blaming, i should have been more careful...

BUT WE LOVED CERF AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IT. WE WILL DEFINITELY GO THERE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjour2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear bonjour2004,
We thank you for your kind review and we are very happy you have enjoyed your gifted 3 days honeymoon at Cerf Island Resort.
I am sure that your arrival at the resort by helicopter added a special touch to your stay as well as the private romantic sunset cruise and the dinner on the beach.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cerf Island resort is on an island close to Mahe, the main Island of Seychelles. It takes about 10 minutes on a speed boat, service provided by the resort. The room is beautifully decorated with natural wooden and cane furniture. They are large and airy. The island is a conserved area and there are no commercial outlets on it. The morning is ushered by the chirping of birds, which goes on till the evening. The views are awesome...just breath taking and beautiful. Staff is helpful and service is very good. The cuisine is limited but the surroundings and the vista makes up for it. It is an excellent place for a relaxing holiday for couple and families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreyosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Shreyosi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the other travellers.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Cerf Island Resort and we hope we will have the chance to host you again soon.

Kind Regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days in this resort. The rooms are extraordinarily large, airy and clean. The views from the rooms and the restaurants are awesome.....a pleasure for tired and stressed out eyes! One can spend the entire day sitting on the lounge chairs in the balcony gazing at the vista around the villas and dozing off alternately,only to be woken up by the loud chattering of birds. The natural beauty of the island has been preserved so well that there are no commercial outlets of any sort. The staff is friendly and the service is very good. It was an excellent relaxing holiday for and we would definitely like to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose the villas closer to the pool if you do not like to climb up and down the hill for all meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subrata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Subrata K,
Thank you for your positive review.
We are extremely happy you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and we are glad you appreciate the efforts we have made in order to keep the resort as much as possible in armony with the surrounding nature. I am glad you mention the presence of birds in the island and especially at the resort, you will be happy to know that in this days, during the Northwest monsoon, we are experiencing an extraordinary presence of birds on in general that chose cerf island as their mating ground. One of them the Madagascar Fody, with their bright red color plumage and loud chirruping during the mating season are a joy to wacht. We also have spotted a female Seychelles Kestrel a type of falcon, which is quiet rare nowadays in the country, we will post the pictures soon in our facebook page.
We hope we will have the chance to host again soon.

Kind Regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent six days on the island for our Honeymoon. Let me just say that we had the most relaxing time ever! I would recommend this resort for couples who are not too discerning, who don't mind a little informality but who also want to relax and feel pampered. But working in a 5 star hotel, I have definitely become a customer-focused freak of sorts and a perfectionist and could definitely spot areas that the hotel could improve on.

The pre-arrival experience was great: the guest relations agents were really efficient, and replied to emails very promptly. I even requested a surprise birthday cake for my husband and a romantic bath, which we found awaiting us in the villa upon our arrival.However, in the correspondence we were told that we would be upgraded to a hideaway villa, but weren't upon arrival. I suppose they meant this would be given upon availability, but wasn't properly communicated to us. Never mind, we were on our honeymoon and our villa was amazing so nothing would break our stride!

The front office staff are great, really helpful and friendly! Hubert and Myriam were our favorite who went out of their way to help us.

The arrival experience itself is great, with fresh citronella ice tea, cold towels and explanations of the hotel facilities. The villas are nothing less than stunning; large bedroom together with a living room, plasma tv, mini bar etc...The open bathroom was our favorite...large jacuzzi bath for two, large double sink vanities, mirrors and an outdoor shower. Showering under steaming hot water while having cold raindrops falling around you has to be the best feeling in the world! The hotel is really conscious about water use which is also really great. The large closet area was really nice although we found it so frustrating that the rooms did not have an iron and board, and that you would be charged for pressing!!

The villas are cleaned really nicely, and the housekeeping staff are nice. However, simple things such as replenishing body wash, conditioner, creamer etc had to be asked for. Its the little things that make a big difference.

The food is really good here...meal types are set menus or buffets depending on occupancy. We had set menus most of the time, and really couldn't complain. You get to choose between two soups, then starters, main course and dessert. We thought that the chef coming out to speak to each couple was a great personal touch. Most of the F&B staff were really friendly and our favorite was Manda who would always have little conversations with us. I think that others could really use some training in customer service, e.g. smiling, greeting guests when walking by, speaking softly to other co-workers around guests etc. Its so cliche, but in the end its really the little things that make the experience. Also, with a resort this small, I think using the guest name rather than sir/madam would really make a huge difference. On another note, you MUST order the 'Coconana' mocktail. It is the BEST drink in the world!! I think the bar's revenue shot up that week because of us!

There's loads to keep busy at the resort and on the island. During the day, you can carry snorkelling equipment onto a kayak or pedallo, and go all around the island. We fell upon this great sand bank between cerf and ile cache, and discovered amazing sealife!! However, a word of caution..if you do get stuck on a sand bank on low tide, tend to stay in the kayak! some shells can be very sharp! We also enjoyed the two swimming pools, watching movies from the dvd collection at the lobby, walking along the large stretch of beach etc. A must-do is to grab a beer, climb up to the heli-pad and enjoy an almost-360 view of the neighbouring islands and a warm sunset! The Latanier Spa is also great, and the masseuse (Beryl i think) was sooo friendly!

We also had a lovely candlelight dinner on the beach with a bonfire, candles and lanterns. So romantic!

Without a doubt, we will return to this place. As I said, if what you're looking for is 5 star customer service, then maybe staying at a Hilton or Four Seasons is the way to go. But if like us, you just need to get away from noise, cars and every day life and just relax, then visit Cerf!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the Housekeeping/Maintenance block as changing shifts/canteen hours can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoseinSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Genevieve P,
Thank very much you for your positive review and constructive feedback.
We are very happy you enjoyed your time at the Resort and we are glad we managed to make your stay special and something to remember.
Be reassure that your comments have been noted and all the relative departments have been brief accordinghly. We are trying hard everyday to provide the best service possible, a 5 star service as you call it, and I believe so far we managed to do so even if we are only a 4 star Resort.
We are looking forward to host you once again soon and I am positive that, on your next visit, we wil not disappoint you.
Wishing you all the best for your future married life together.

Best Regards

Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerf Island
5.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,269 reviews
6.4 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,487 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerf Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerf Island Resort

Property: Cerf Island Resort
Address: PO Box 1071, Mahe, Cerf Island, Seychelles (Formerly Cerf Island Marine Park Resort)
Location: Seychelles > Cerf Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerf Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the Sainte Anne National Marine Park, The Cerf Island Resort offers 24 intimate and luxurious villas, within a naturally elegant settings which is exclusive to this boutique hotel resort.. The resort boasts of fine dining restaurant, two infinity swimming pools, pool bars and beach side dining, secluded full service beach, relaxing lounges,Tennis court, helipad and luxurious nature spa - thus offering a truly authentic and sumptuous Creole experience. The alluring emptiness of the white sand beaches offer a personal oasis in nature's tropical playground. Relax and listen to the sound of the breeze in the trees and the gentle waves on the beach as you sip cocktails at the Bar. The infinity edge Pool and Lounge, offer the perfect relaxation. The marine park waters around the Island are a diving dreamland of abundant tropical sea-life. Watersports provide the intrepid with the ideal way to explore the island. Stroll amongst tropical vegetation to the marine reserve viewpoint to experience the benign mix of flora and fauna. Cerf Island Resort is the location for a truly memorable holiday in one of the most pristine natural environments on the planet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerf Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerf Island Hotel Cerf Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing