We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“African paradise”
Review of Tama Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tama Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Mbour
Certificate of Excellence
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“African paradise”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Its hard too find word for this experience but:
Beautiful location
Lodging was excellent and the whole place was a piece of art. Every detail seemed to be thought of-zen feeling. The staff and the management was fantastic. The beach was great and a gave a good opportunity to be part of the local beach life. All the people we met were extremely nice and helpful and interested to talk to you, even if we didnt speak french.
We have been traveling a lot in Africa and this is a place we will return to.
Perfect end of our fantastic trip in Senegal. Highly reccomended, go and see yourself!
Reidar and Anita from Norway

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReidarandAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. The beach huts are lovely, the food wonderful, the staff helpful and attentive to detail and the location stunning. We also got help with the planning of trips and the guides whom the lodge is working with are very professional. Also happy to say that the excursions were fairly priced which is otherwise often not the case. I would be happy to go back any time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I selected this small, boutique beach hotel because of the interesting West African sculptural art collection the owner had put together but I was astonished at how interesting it was and how beautiful and delightful the hotel itself is. Comprised of four African chief huts, a large and exquisite round house, some garden rooms and a a beautiful art filled pent house set in a Malian style 'palace' the hotel offers good food and excellent service in a magical setting. Mbour Eco beach is zen calm by day and excitingly lively from five in the evening with would be wrestlers, footballers and fitness freaks, excited children playing water games, horses and even the odd goat. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms are simple but perfect and all you need. The beauty is outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I hovered between 4 and 5 stars on my rating - a couple of niggles on service brought it down but it could almost claim the top rating.

We had a "casa plage" - which is quite set back from the beach which is probably a good thing in light of the busy beach. Very nicely deocrated, comfortable bed and good hot water bathroom. The toilet is a bit "open" if you like your privacy! And then in front of our little house a little table and chairs a hammock and a couple of transits. And then the beach. Lovely. Daily cleaning. Aircon if you have to - we used the ceiling fan which was fine. Mosquito net - use it!

The food was really good. Choices for starters, mains and deserts. All good - take the half board option. You can add oysters or lobster for a supplement. Marvellous. Staff were really friendly and sweet, but they seemed incapable of coping if there were more than two tables to serve - breakfast on one morning was torturously slow.

The beach is wonderful, a real West African Atlantic ocean beach. The locals use it as a place to play, sit about, play football and do their workouts (loads of guys hopping, stretching, push ups, situps - an impressive display of muscle for the ladies!). There are also dogs, goats and horses. The sand is lovely, although there is rubbish when you move away from the hotel front (as is the case EVERYWHERE in Senegal) which the hotel clears, there are waves (this is the ocean) and also seaweed which they are no longer clearing as it protects the beach from erosion. You get some hassle from the local hawkers - selling their wares or trips into Mbour - you either go with it and haggle with them, or tell them politely no and they go away. The hotel has a security guy to help if ever they are too persistant although we never found this to be necessary.

We spent four nights here, very happy with our choice compared to some of the more seemingly soulless options in Saly which we walked past on our afternoon promenades. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We live in Dakar and it was our 2nd time at the lodge in a beach bungalow. We're still as happy as the first time for the following reasons: 1) clean, practical bungalows, air conditioning for those who need it, wi fi available at the reception area 2) despite the fact that the beach is public, it's a very nice location. Public just entails that you will probably be disturbed by the numerous vendors, but this I guess is included in the Senegalese package. This is still a quiet and relaxing place ! 3) Service is excellent and professional, food is very good (restaurant is now only open to lodge residents). As other reviewers mention it, it is a bit expensive but I don't think that you can find anything similar in the area for less and I really don't recommend touristy Saly. So for a week-end away from Dakar, I think it's worth it. If I had one remark it would be regarding diner: it is served, candle-lit, in the beach open space which is actually romantic except that you quickly get assailed by bugs. This also comes with dining outside in Senegal, but I'm sure there must be a natural way to repel those cute bugs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

One of my college roommates and I both happened to be in West Africa for work and chose Tama Lodge to meet for a girls weekend. It was the perfect choice. Tama is just outside of Saly in Mbour, so has a much more "authentic" feel. We walked down to Saly one afternoon and were very glad we weren't in the more "touristy" area of Saly. Tama sits literally on the beach, separated from the public beach by a small hedgerow. We didn't wear our shoes all weekend! The beach huts are very nice, air conditioned and comfortable. Only downside is the 'open' bathroom - so for 2 friends staying together - not ideal - but we had a nice sitting area outside to give the other privacy. The food was fantastic, and the service very good. We ate dinner in Saly one night, but this is definitely the kind of place that you could stay all weekend long without leaving and get great food, lots of sun and relaxation. Highly recommend. I'll be bringing my husband back next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bec-n-rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Tama lodge is probably the prettiest of the petite cote hotels, but it's small, sits on a public beach and is very expensive for what you get. Think $300 a night expensive. So I have mixed feelings about the place. Downsides: dogs barking at night interrupting your sleep, public busy beach full of people really to jump out of the bushes to sell you something, food gets a bit repetitive. Upsides: beautiful decor, good service, great seafood and meat dishes. My suggestion is to stay in one of the garden rooms and then do demi-pension. That should bring down the costs a bit.

Tama Lodge est évidemment la plus jolie des hôtels sur la petite cote, mais elle est trop chère, et située sur une plage publique avec tout le monde partout. Bon, a mon avis, prenez une chambre de jardin et le demi- pension pour bien réduire les couts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Royam Hotel
Royam Hotel
#5 of 24 in Mbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#2 of 24 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Saly Hotel
Le Saly Hotel
#9 of 24 in Mbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Au Petit Jura
Au Petit Jura
#12 of 24 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Royal Horizon Baobab
Royal Horizon Baobab
#1 of 24 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tama Lodge

Property: Tama Lodge
Address: Avenue de la mer | Plage des cocotiers - BP 1524, Mbour BP 1524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mbour
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tama Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart on Senegal’s “Petite Cote” (the Small Coast), between Mbour’s fishing port and the seaside resort of Saly, the Tama Lodge preserves authenticity. The cabins are made of local materials, built on the sand of one of most beautiful beaches in the country, in a nest of greenery. In every one of the nine rooms, inspired from colours of Africa, with simplicity and elegance, you will find pieces of traditional handcraft : Kuba fabric from Congo, bed covers made of Mali’s bogolan, Touareg tent stakes, mortars and pestles… The whole lodge is full of charms of Africa, and offers, in its original setting, an exotic, mild and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tama Lodge Senegal/Mbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing